We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples meal”
Review of Cafe Spice

Cafe Spice
Ranked #74 of 274 Restaurants in Darlington
Price range: US$20 - US$33
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Winner Of Best Caterer/Restaurant of the Year 2014, Award by the BCA - Bangladeshi Caterers Association which was established in 1960. Cafe Spice also first Indian restaurant to be awarded 5 star in health and hygiene by the darlington council. The premier indian restaurant to visit in darlington.
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Couples meal”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Third visit here tried something different was absolutely beautiful as usual couldn't fault anything whatsoever about the entire evening. Had chicken shishlak this time absolutely beautiful. Also house rose wine is gorgeous.

Helpful?
Thank GMR41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    37
    13
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
darlington
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Indian in town”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Came here endless times but yet never reviewed. Most recent visit 3rd April 4 of us were seated staff always pleasant and professional. I had chicken jalfrezi mushroom rice and shared garlic cheese naan all gorgeous 4 of us total about 80 with a coupl of lagers each so fairly reasonable never left unhappy but it that way. Definatly best Indian in Darlington Iv visited them all

Helpful?
Thank crystal h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Midweek treat”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Went Tuesday night - suprised how busy the restaurant was, but still very efficient, friendly service. Food was very good - Shatghora Gosht (pardon the spelling) especially worth a mention. Always found a consistent quality to Cafe Spice, whereas other indians in the town can be hit or miss at times.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QuakerA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best waiters ever”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Came in on Saturday evening just after 6pm with my friend and we where served quickly and waiters so polite and smart but then 3 big guys came in and sat near our table, now these guys where big and a little bit drunk and very rude to us and kept on swearing and you could see the staff getting on edge as we were, moments later these guys were getting out of hand when another customer then approached the waiter at the bar an the waiter decided to refuse these guys and send them out to which these guys started to argue, I was very surprised the waiter was very calm but very strong and agressive with his words and manner and told them I leave, but as they left another waiter was assaulted in the door way as they left which resulted in a big scuffle and fight which involved police and 2 of the guys leaving with a lot of injury, in all this was a great scene and goes to show cafe spice takes pride in good customers and doesn't welcome riff raffs and the waiters stand their ground! We felt very protected and re assured and would definatly come back again and recommend this place,

Thank guys keep up your work and keep strong

We are Willing to co operate with police for you at all times

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette_1975_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Most Indians, unless you live in Manchester or Birmingham are just variations on the same sauce.
I've just had the best takeaway I've ever had from here. The balti is sublime, sag paneer to die for and the greatest tarka dhal of all time.
Everything has it's own taste and is definitely not just a different variation on a big pot of generic curry.
I've always enjoyed food from here, in or out but tonight's takeaway was absolutely sublime!
Oh, and the staff were lovely and more than willing to make tweaks to our selections.

Thank you thank you thank you!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmyp385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Spice also viewed

 
Darlington, Durham
Darlington, Durham
 

Been to Cafe Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing