We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little pub!”
Review of The Spotted Dog

The Spotted Dog
Ranked #53 of 274 Restaurants in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: We're a family friendly country pub, focusing on fresh local food. Located in the quaint village of High Coniscliffe, on the A67, we're just a short drive from Darlington. The Spotted Dog is the perfect place to relax, catch up with friends and family in comfort and enjoy fine, home cooked and local cuisine. We have a friendly bar perfect for a quiet pint by our open fire. Our restaurant has a private dining area for groups of up to 12, perfect for family gatherings and dining with friends. We also have a large beer garden and ample parking. We welcome families and have a children's menu of popular kids choices. As well as lovely food we have pool, darts and dominoes making The Spotted Dog a firm favourite with locals and visitors alike. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely little pub!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We eat here quite regularly...the service from staff is always excellent, the food is always cooked to the highest of standards...and the waiting time is never too long. As soon as you arrive you are shown to a table and drinks order taken. All
In all an excellent little pub to eat or just visit for a quiet drink, love this place and the staff/owners are always friendly and welcoming :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolvilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    31
    23
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average...”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had a chicken special & it was very average. We dine out very regularly & everywhere so know good food when we taste it. We have also dined at this establishment frequently over 30+ years & have to say it hasn't been one of the areas greatest dining experiences in recent years. The main complaint I/we have about The Spotted Dog is the manager, even though my partner said the food was 'OK' his response was not very professional as he stormed off in a strop. When my partner tried to explain the reason she thought the meal was just 'OK', he didn't really want to know. Ironically, there was a table next to us with four businessmen visiting from the south who ordered steak & they were not very impressed either; but they did not complain. Finally, all six of us had a small issue & a laugh at the young waiter who was very professional apart from him frequently saying 'no problem' after ordering food & drinks. We tried to explain this to the manager, but due to the language barrier I did not think he understood the English sense of humour & the real reason what both tables were laughing about.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good meal”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Four of us have just been to the Spotted Dog for an evening meal and we were very pleasantly surprised. Two of us had battered cod, which they enjoyed, my husband had the rump steak which he said was excellent and I had the steak and ale pie - lots of meat and lovely fresh vegetables. The lemon meringue pie was very good, and there was a good selection of beers. The bill, including drinks, came to £63. Despite there being a large party ahead of us the service was good, and the staff were very pleasant. Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 76PeterS190728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“quick meal stop”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We called today for a meal with two of our grandchildren-------the staff were polite and friendly
We had not eaten here for about 18 months so we called in:--My wife and I ordered the burger with salad-------the chidren had chicken strips and chips
The burgers came on two lumps of what looked like old wood and my wife asked for a plate,I put mine on a side plate(its taken hundreds years to become civilised and use nice clean looking pottery)
I have to say that the burger was nice,the chips very good but the burger was spoilt by some sort of red sauce on the top which meant we did not eat the top half of the bun.
The whole bill including a small drink each came to £33.05.
I complained about the meal but to no avail and have to say that even though we ate the best bits it was not value for money and could be a while before we visit again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious food with attention to detail.”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The food was amazing. We were a large group for lunch (14 people) and we were all very happy with our meals. My only complaint was that the food arrived with long delays between serving. Three or four meals would arrive and then there would be a 10 minute delay before the next could come. However, the taste, presentation and portion size more than made up for this. The staff was friendly and attentive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizMacOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spotted Dog also viewed

Darlington, Durham
Ingleton, Darlington
 
Darlington, Durham
 
Darlington, Durham
Darlington, Durham
 

Been to The Spotted Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing