We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel in central Darlington retaining character.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Houndgate Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Houndgate Townhouse
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A hotel in central Darlington retaining character.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The hotel is just over a 15 min walk from the railway station but the taxis are cheap,
Reception was friendly and helpful (I wanted to know where the nearest ATM was).
My room (No. 6) was on the top floor at the front. The one way road was not very bust and there was a small garden opposite so the lack of double glazing was not serious.
I eat in the hotel restaurant and found the service both quick and pleasant. The food was good.
I should have enjoyed a good nights sleep but the bed had a douvet, not sheet and blankets, so I kept waking either too hot or cold.
Breakfast was good although the selection was poor by continental standards. It is served from 07:30, not the normal 07:00 which meant that I had to re-arrange my train times.
For all the little things I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: I would think that rooms on the top(second) floor would be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hello Roger. Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay in room six.

Due to being housed in a Grade II listed building regulations state we cannot install double-glazing, however, all windows were replaced during our set-up and, as you state, the external noise is not too loud.

We are glad you found our location convenient for Darlington railway station, our staff helpful and the food good.

We shall make a note of your comment about providing a top sheet as well as the duvet and blanket we currently offer, and also about the possibility of starting breakfast at 7am.

We aim to provide an a la carte breakfast, included in the room rate, so if there was anything in particular you were wanting from a traditional continental style buffet, we would try our best to fulfill your request.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with ourselves at Houndgate Townhouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    36
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
87
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and myself stayed at the Houndgate last week in room 2 which is superb. The guest is greeted by a huge four poster bed and in the middle of the bedroom is a very large roll top bath which is perfect for soaking away stresses.
The whole build quality and décor in the hotel is first class with intriguing artwork everywhere.Obviously no expense has been spared on this hotel; it makes for a memorable stay.
The food in the restaurant is also excellent. We ate dinner which was beautifully cooked and presented.Breakfast was also great , not just the usual English breakfast choice.
We will be returning , a great place to indulge yourself! Many thanks to all the staff who ensured that we were looked after from the moment we booked in.

Room Tip: Room 2 has the bath in the bedroom but I think that the other rooms are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveo127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your stay in room two. We are happy you enjoyed the super-king four-poster bed in the room, and also the roll top bath. We are pleased you note that you like our decor (especially the artwork), service and food offer - we do aim to offer something a bit different in Darlington and from your comments it seems well received which is very encouraging.

Although room two is our biggest room, all of our eight bedrooms have the same finishing touches (Miller Harris toiletries and so on) and a different (yet calming) colour scheme.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I am delighted that we enjoyed our stay at the Houndsgate Townhouse because my husband and I often visit family in Darlington and we now have a lovely hotel to stay in. The deco of the whole hotel is really stylish and traditional modern and it felt like a real treat. The staff were really friendly and the breakfast was good. The location in the centre of town is convenient and close to the local authority pool which is useful.

The only downside to that, especially if staying at weekends, is that it was very noisy especially due to the lack of double glazing (original sash windows). And there isn't any free parking although the public car park is just behind the hotel and is £1 per hour until 6pm and £1 all day on Sunday (I think).

For the beautiful room and little touches like shampoo, slippers, bathrobes the price was good value. The bar was also a nice place to have a pre-dinner drink and the lunch was delicious too. All in all it is a great hotel and a welcome addition to the town.

Note: for some guests it will be handy to know that they are well catered for wheelchair access.

Room Tip: We liked the yellow and grey room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misspeppichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your stay. We are happy you enjoyed our decor, service and food and drink offer - we do aim to offer something a bit different in Darlington. We also now offer our overnight residents complimentary passes to the mentioned local authority pool and also the adjoining gym should you wish to use these during your next visit.

Since we are housed in a lovely Grade II listed building we are unfortunately unable to install double glazing to drown out external noise. Due to our town centre location and because there is no access to the back of our property (now a south-facing courtyard area) we are unfortunately unable to offer private customer parking, however, as you mention the nearest public car park is just behind the hotel.

We are pleased our finishing touches, like our Miller Harris toiletries, are well received and that you enjoyed your stay in room six, which is suitable for wheelchair access.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co.durham
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

You were all welcoming to us , disappointed about our room without the roll top bath,,, send our regards to Jonathan, tell Chloe she is a lovely breath of fresh air ,,, and tell Clair , Vera Johnstone, my mother in law was godmother to all of Bernie's grandchildren. Tell Sean to stress less xx

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. I shall pass on your kind wishes and messages to the members of staff you mention that you met during your stay. If you wish to book a room with us in future do call us first and we'll try our very best to guarantee you a room with a stand-alone roll top bath - rooms two and six are very popular due to this reason!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

What a beautiful hotel!
Upon arrival we were efficiently greeted by a very helpful member of staff, who showed us to our room and made us feel very welcome and comfortable. We stayed in room 2 and I would highly recommend this room, however given the quality of the rooms furnishings, I would expect the same standard in all 8 of the hotels rooms. The room was perfectly clean and the bed really comfortable, which made for a great nights sleep. Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our decor and found our staff to be welcoming and helpful and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Exceptionally comfortable place to stay after a day on the Road.
Attention to detail is evident and staff are keen to ensure your stay is hassle free.
Decor is of the Highest Quality throughout and i do hope this is maintained
Ate a frugal Breakfast as dined well (and late) previous evening but this well well cooked and presented by very cheerful waitress.
A couple of tiny points(but not enough to make me complain)
1, Surprisingly, no draught beers on offer(as a real ale fan i know there are several breweries locally)but maybe this is a strategic decision on behalf of the Management/Owners
2, No Tea/Cofffee facilities in rooms,,again no real issue bit personally i enjoy a cuppa 1st thing !!

Just a note re parking, (hotel has no parking facilities)Sat Nav had me going round incircles trying to finf the Townhouse, i would suggest using Beaumont St Car Park(very resonable) anfd from there a two minute walk to Hotel

Room Tip: Room 8 very comfortable but the veiw of the Public Car Park is perhaps better with Blinds down!!(as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorM434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased our efforts are apparent and that you had a comfortable stay. We are looking into putting a local lager on draught but do stick some great local real ales and lagers by the bottle. Due to the size of the smaller rooms we felt tea and coffee facilities would be cramped on the desk area but we do offer tea, coffee and other drinks via 24-hour room service. Thank you also for the handy tip for future residents using Sat Nav - directions to Beaumont St Car Park will get residents to within a two minute walk of the hotel - in fact you can see the south side of our lovely grade II listed Georgian building from the car park. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Can't praise the place, the staff, the attention to detail, the location, the quirkiness and the quality of experience at Houndgate enough. Really good townhouse-hotel and really well run with a great team who really care about what they do.

Arrived early but were checked in with no fuss or undue delay; dinner for 6 in the evening was very good with beautifully constructed plates and really well cooked courses as a real feature. Price-wise the whole package - room, service, food and beverages were all spot on and great value in my opinion. It's a real asset to have somewhere like this in any town and Darlington is lucky to have Houndgate. Perhaps a bigger wine list would be more fun - but what's on offer and the experience of staying there makes this a great place to spend some time.

The enormous bath in our room (along with a separate and well appointed shower-room) was a great touch and added to the sense of being somewhere really quite special. I hope its well supported and thrives as its now my de facto hotel for the region.

Room Tip: Room 2 - huge bath in the room - massive double bed - beautifully decorated - absolute winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you appreciate the effort we've gone to with the decor, staff and food and beverage offer and that you enjoyed your stay in room two. We are in the process of expanding out wine list so hopefully next time you visit there will be a greater selection on offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darlington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel and Spa - Darlington
0.2 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
0.9 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
2.8 mi away
Clow Beck House
Clow Beck House
#4 of 21 in Darlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houndgate Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houndgate Townhouse

Property: Houndgate Townhouse
Address: 11 Houndgate, Darlington DL1 5RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Houndgate Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eight-bedroom design hotel, restaurant and bar in the heart of Darlington. This Grade II-listed Georgian Townhouse has been sympathetically restored to its former glory. All eight rooms have en-suite bathrooms, HD TV's and Miller Harris toiletries. Eat at the restaurant, 'eleven', enjoy a cocktail or glass of wine in the hound bar & lounge or simply choose to relax in the comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Houndgate Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houndgate Townhouse Darlington, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing