We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Houndgate Townhouse Darlington.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Houndgate Townhouse
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We travel to Darlington at least 2 or 3 times per year to visit family, normally staying at Bannatynes which does not dissapoint. I found Houndgate Townhouse on Secret Escapes and booked for a Saturday night and what a superb find. Located in the centre of town the hotel is a revelation, fantastic modern contemporary rooms, great bar area and good restaurant. Staff are excellent and this is one place we will certainly return to. One tip for a fantastic Sunday lunch try The Brownlow Arms located in the small village of Caldwell about a 20 minute drive out of town.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a very high standard with quality furnishings, basic rooms maybe a little on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hi Steven, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. Since opening last August we have been trying to let people know we are here and so Secret Escapes was a great way to let potential customers know where we are and what we do. We are glad you liked all we have to offer - the rooms, bar, restaurant and the service you received and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Old house converted to a townhouse hotel - all light wood flooring or mushroom colour carpets, , tasteful pastel paintwork and well modernised rooms. Comfortable bed and well fitted out bathroom (shower over bath rather than full shower cubicle)

Excellent location 15 mins from railway station and 5 minutes from town center.

Also excellent meal in restaurant with imaginative menu and attentive staff

Room Tip: Rooms at the back a bit quieter - colleague had room at the front and was wolen by garbage collectio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hello Ian. Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay with us.

It is lovely to see you write of our relaxing, modernised interiors - it was a lot of work transforming the building from it's most recent life as local council offices! It's also great to read you enjoyed the comfortable Sealy mattresses we use and also the shower over the bath - you must have been in room one or five?! We do also offer standalone showers in all other rooms and rooms two and six also boast a standalone bathtub too.

Thank you for noting our convenient location for Darlington train station and the town center.

We are pleased you found our staff attentive and food delicious and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The hotel is just over a 15 min walk from the railway station but the taxis are cheap,
Reception was friendly and helpful (I wanted to know where the nearest ATM was).
My room (No. 6) was on the top floor at the front. The one way road was not very bust and there was a small garden opposite so the lack of double glazing was not serious.
I eat in the hotel restaurant and found the service both quick and pleasant. The food was good.
I should have enjoyed a good nights sleep but the bed had a douvet, not sheet and blankets, so I kept waking either too hot or cold.
Breakfast was good although the selection was poor by continental standards. It is served from 07:30, not the normal 07:00 which meant that I had to re-arrange my train times.
For all the little things I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: I would think that rooms on the top(second) floor would be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hello Roger. Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay in room six.

Due to being housed in a Grade II listed building regulations state we cannot install double-glazing, however, all windows were replaced during our set-up and, as you state, the external noise is not too loud.

We are glad you found our location convenient for Darlington railway station, our staff helpful and the food good.

We shall make a note of your comment about providing a top sheet as well as the duvet and blanket we currently offer, and also about the possibility of starting breakfast at 7am.

We aim to provide an a la carte breakfast, included in the room rate, so if there was anything in particular you were wanting from a traditional continental style buffet, we would try our best to fulfill your request.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with ourselves at Houndgate Townhouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and myself stayed at the Houndgate last week in room 2 which is superb. The guest is greeted by a huge four poster bed and in the middle of the bedroom is a very large roll top bath which is perfect for soaking away stresses.
The whole build quality and décor in the hotel is first class with intriguing artwork everywhere.Obviously no expense has been spared on this hotel; it makes for a memorable stay.
The food in the restaurant is also excellent. We ate dinner which was beautifully cooked and presented.Breakfast was also great , not just the usual English breakfast choice.
We will be returning , a great place to indulge yourself! Many thanks to all the staff who ensured that we were looked after from the moment we booked in.

Room Tip: Room 2 has the bath in the bedroom but I think that the other rooms are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveo127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your stay in room two. We are happy you enjoyed the super-king four-poster bed in the room, and also the roll top bath. We are pleased you note that you like our decor (especially the artwork), service and food offer - we do aim to offer something a bit different in Darlington and from your comments it seems well received which is very encouraging.

Although room two is our biggest room, all of our eight bedrooms have the same finishing touches (Miller Harris toiletries and so on) and a different (yet calming) colour scheme.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I am delighted that we enjoyed our stay at the Houndsgate Townhouse because my husband and I often visit family in Darlington and we now have a lovely hotel to stay in. The deco of the whole hotel is really stylish and traditional modern and it felt like a real treat. The staff were really friendly and the breakfast was good. The location in the centre of town is convenient and close to the local authority pool which is useful.

The only downside to that, especially if staying at weekends, is that it was very noisy especially due to the lack of double glazing (original sash windows). And there isn't any free parking although the public car park is just behind the hotel and is £1 per hour until 6pm and £1 all day on Sunday (I think).

For the beautiful room and little touches like shampoo, slippers, bathrobes the price was good value. The bar was also a nice place to have a pre-dinner drink and the lunch was delicious too. All in all it is a great hotel and a welcome addition to the town.

Note: for some guests it will be handy to know that they are well catered for wheelchair access.

Room Tip: We liked the yellow and grey room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misspeppichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your stay. We are happy you enjoyed our decor, service and food and drink offer - we do aim to offer something a bit different in Darlington. We also now offer our overnight residents complimentary passes to the mentioned local authority pool and also the adjoining gym should you wish to use these during your next visit.

Since we are housed in a lovely Grade II listed building we are unfortunately unable to install double glazing to drown out external noise. Due to our town centre location and because there is no access to the back of our property (now a south-facing courtyard area) we are unfortunately unable to offer private customer parking, however, as you mention the nearest public car park is just behind the hotel.

We are pleased our finishing touches, like our Miller Harris toiletries, are well received and that you enjoyed your stay in room six, which is suitable for wheelchair access.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

You were all welcoming to us , disappointed about our room without the roll top bath,,, send our regards to Jonathan, tell Chloe she is a lovely breath of fresh air ,,, and tell Clair , Vera Johnstone, my mother in law was godmother to all of Bernie's grandchildren. Tell Sean to stress less xx

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Elizabeth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. I shall pass on your kind wishes and messages to the members of staff you mention that you met during your stay. If you wish to book a room with us in future do call us first and we'll try our very best to guarantee you a room with a stand-alone roll top bath - rooms two and six are very popular due to this reason!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

What a beautiful hotel!
Upon arrival we were efficiently greeted by a very helpful member of staff, who showed us to our room and made us feel very welcome and comfortable. We stayed in room 2 and I would highly recommend this room, however given the quality of the rooms furnishings, I would expect the same standard in all 8 of the hotels rooms. The room was perfectly clean and the bed really comfortable, which made for a great nights sleep. Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our decor and found our staff to be welcoming and helpful and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darlington
0.2 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
4.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
881 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
817 reviews
6.3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houndgate Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houndgate Townhouse

Address: 11 Houndgate, Darlington DL1 5RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range: £88 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Houndgate Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eight-bedroom design hotel, restaurant and bar in the heart of Darlington. This Grade II-listed Georgian Townhouse has been sympathetically restored to its former glory. All eight rooms have en-suite bathrooms, HD TV's and Temple Spa toiletries. Eat at the restaurant, 'eleven', enjoy a cocktail or glass of wine in the hound bar & lounge or simply choose to relax in the comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Houndgate Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houndgate Townhouse Darlington, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing