We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stylish boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Houndgate Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Houndgate Townhouse
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic stylish boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Houndgate last weekend. We were seriously impressed with the design style and cleanliness. The staff should also be commended especially the girl who served our breakfast everything was perfect and we would definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello Suzanne,
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review and great five star rating. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our Super Deluxe Room Two at the weekend and that you were impressed with our design and cleanliness. I will pass on your kind comments to Becca who served your breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    36
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
87
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jarrow, Tyneside
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Me and my husband often visit nearby Darlington for a night out (we love Foffano 's Italian restaurant in the town). First time at the Houndgate and would definitely go back. Great quality for reasonable price. Lovely decor, comfy beds (we stayed in a standard room which was great), fab breakfast with lovely touches like bottled water, nice toiletries and toothbrushes. Only negative was the noise from nearby nightclub especially at chuck-out time at 4.00am... However, I did notice that when I booked there was a "quiet room" option - so now I know why! Ask for room at the front rather than the back. Staff very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front rather than back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello Stephanie, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. It is great to read that you intend to return and found us to be a quality establishment with lovely decor and comfy beds - our Sealy mattresses are thicker than the standard ones and we think our down bedding and comfy mattress topper make it feel as though we're sleeping on a cloud! We're also pleased you enjoyed your breakfast, the manner of our staff and our attention to detail in our rooms - complimentary still and sparkling water, Miller Harris toiletries and most extras you may need when away from home - spare toothbrush, razor, etc. Apologies for the noise disturbance during the night - we work closely with the local Council in monitoring appropriate noise levels so will pass on the information you have left here. Due to our listed building status we are unable to fit new sound-proofed windows. Many thanks for your custom and review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a fabulous stay here this weekend. The food was of an excellent standard, quality wise and quantity wise. The afternoon tea was more than ample. The staff are friendly, approachable and manage to be just on the right side of attentive to not be intrusive. The setting is lovely, the rooms tastefully decorated and the little touches such as toothbrushes and mini toothpaste, still and sparkling water in the room, really make you feel you want for nothing. We had a glance in the room with the four poster bed and freestanding bath which matches anything other top hotels offer. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 2 and 7 have the four poster and bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pi-maker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello there and thank you for taking the time to leave us some great feedback on your recent visit. We are glad you enjoyed the food, staff, setting and our extra attention to detail during your stay - we aim to create a home away from home so try and ensure our guests have everything they could possibly need, where possible. Rooms two and six each have a four-poster bed and freestanding bath in the room - perhaps a possibility for another stopover...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We travel to Darlington at least 2 or 3 times per year to visit family, normally staying at Bannatynes which does not dissapoint. I found Houndgate Townhouse on Secret Escapes and booked for a Saturday night and what a superb find. Located in the centre of town the hotel is a revelation, fantastic modern contemporary rooms, great bar area and good restaurant. Staff are excellent and this is one place we will certainly return to. One tip for a fantastic Sunday lunch try The Brownlow Arms located in the small village of Caldwell about a 20 minute drive out of town.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a very high standard with quality furnishings, basic rooms maybe a little on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi Steven, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. Since opening last August we have been trying to let people know we are here and so Secret Escapes was a great way to let potential customers know where we are and what we do. We are glad you liked all we have to offer - the rooms, bar, restaurant and the service you received and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Old house converted to a townhouse hotel - all light wood flooring or mushroom colour carpets, , tasteful pastel paintwork and well modernised rooms. Comfortable bed and well fitted out bathroom (shower over bath rather than full shower cubicle)

Excellent location 15 mins from railway station and 5 minutes from town center.

Also excellent meal in restaurant with imaginative menu and attentive staff

Room Tip: Rooms at the back a bit quieter - colleague had room at the front and was wolen by garbage collectio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hello Ian. Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay with us.

It is lovely to see you write of our relaxing, modernised interiors - it was a lot of work transforming the building from it's most recent life as local council offices! It's also great to read you enjoyed the comfortable Sealy mattresses we use and also the shower over the bath - you must have been in room one or five?! We do also offer standalone showers in all other rooms and rooms two and six also boast a standalone bathtub too.

Thank you for noting our convenient location for Darlington train station and the town center.

We are pleased you found our staff attentive and food delicious and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The hotel is just over a 15 min walk from the railway station but the taxis are cheap,
Reception was friendly and helpful (I wanted to know where the nearest ATM was).
My room (No. 6) was on the top floor at the front. The one way road was not very bust and there was a small garden opposite so the lack of double glazing was not serious.
I eat in the hotel restaurant and found the service both quick and pleasant. The food was good.
I should have enjoyed a good nights sleep but the bed had a douvet, not sheet and blankets, so I kept waking either too hot or cold.
Breakfast was good although the selection was poor by continental standards. It is served from 07:30, not the normal 07:00 which meant that I had to re-arrange my train times.
For all the little things I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: I would think that rooms on the top(second) floor would be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hello Roger. Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay in room six.

Due to being housed in a Grade II listed building regulations state we cannot install double-glazing, however, all windows were replaced during our set-up and, as you state, the external noise is not too loud.

We are glad you found our location convenient for Darlington railway station, our staff helpful and the food good.

We shall make a note of your comment about providing a top sheet as well as the duvet and blanket we currently offer, and also about the possibility of starting breakfast at 7am.

We aim to provide an a la carte breakfast, included in the room rate, so if there was anything in particular you were wanting from a traditional continental style buffet, we would try our best to fulfill your request.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with ourselves at Houndgate Townhouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and myself stayed at the Houndgate last week in room 2 which is superb. The guest is greeted by a huge four poster bed and in the middle of the bedroom is a very large roll top bath which is perfect for soaking away stresses.
The whole build quality and décor in the hotel is first class with intriguing artwork everywhere.Obviously no expense has been spared on this hotel; it makes for a memorable stay.
The food in the restaurant is also excellent. We ate dinner which was beautifully cooked and presented.Breakfast was also great , not just the usual English breakfast choice.
We will be returning , a great place to indulge yourself! Many thanks to all the staff who ensured that we were looked after from the moment we booked in.

Room Tip: Room 2 has the bath in the bedroom but I think that the other rooms are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveo127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your stay in room two. We are happy you enjoyed the super-king four-poster bed in the room, and also the roll top bath. We are pleased you note that you like our decor (especially the artwork), service and food offer - we do aim to offer something a bit different in Darlington and from your comments it seems well received which is very encouraging.

Although room two is our biggest room, all of our eight bedrooms have the same finishing touches (Miller Harris toiletries and so on) and a different (yet calming) colour scheme.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darlington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel and Spa - Darlington
0.2 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
0.9 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
2.8 mi away
Clow Beck House
Clow Beck House
#4 of 21 in Darlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houndgate Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houndgate Townhouse

Property: Houndgate Townhouse
Address: 11 Houndgate, Darlington DL1 5RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Houndgate Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eight-bedroom design hotel, restaurant and bar in the heart of Darlington. This Grade II-listed Georgian Townhouse has been sympathetically restored to its former glory. All eight rooms have en-suite bathrooms, HD TV's and Miller Harris toiletries. Eat at the restaurant, 'eleven', enjoy a cocktail or glass of wine in the hound bar & lounge or simply choose to relax in the comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Houndgate Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houndgate Townhouse Darlington, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing