We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Houndgate Townhouse
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for my partners birthday. The room we stayed in was lovely. It had a roll top bath and the comfiest bed. We went down for our evening meal and had a cocktail at the bar. The cocktails tasted amazing. The two staff who served us Lisa and Jake, were great. The bar was busy and they were answering the phone, serving in the restaurant and making cocktails! The meal was good. Jake was really knowledgable and recommended a good bar for us to go to. Overall a lovely evening!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Redwine1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback from your recent stay with us at Houndgate Townhouse to celebrate your partner's birthday. We're glad you enjoyed our roll top bath - they are a feature in room numbers two and six and prove very popular. Thanks for your
great comments about the comfortable bed and "amazing" cocktails - I shall pass on your kind comments to Lisa and Jake and the rest of our hard-working staff. It's great to read that you enjoyed your celebratory stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    37
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
89
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Got a deal through secret escapes, fantastic value afternoon tea plus a glass of champagne followed by 3 course meal and bed and breakfast. Not sure what to expect! We dined like kings, food was fantastic and served by really attentive staff who checked that things were ok, and not in an over bearing way either. Bedroom fantastic, clean and fresh. Only negative was the noise outside in the early hours ( not hotels fault) and guess what they had even provided ear plugs :)
And thanks to night porter who made sure our car had a paid ticket the following morning meaning we could stay in bed - service couldn't have been better, thank you

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lou65a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hello Lou. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Houndgate Townhouse.

We signed up to the Secret Escapes offer to spread the word that we are open, and have had a great response so far.

We are glad to read that you dined like kings, found our Champagne Afternoon Tea and Dinner offer to be fantastic and thought our staff were attentive.

We work with the local authorities regarding noise pollution so I will pass on your feedback.

We hope to see you back at Houndgate Townhouse again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We got a fantastic deal at the hotel in "Darlington" ( not the most exciting place for a romantic weekend away, but we did find some little gems). Lovely garden area, magnificent bedrooms / bathrooms.
The hotel has been decorated to the top specifications with no expense spared. Food was fabulous dinner especially ( deconstructed key lime pie a revelation thanks Jake).Afternoon tea wonderful. Staff were so helpful, especially Emma and Jake they made our stay very pleasant. All the staff we came into contact with could not have been nicer and any more helpful. Loved every minute.
Only slight disappointment was no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms and cheap sliced bread for toast for an other amazing breakfast ( Eggs benedict was brilliant).
We are planning to come back with friends for New Year.

Room Tip: We were in room 2 which was lovely, nice and quiet at the back. Room 2 4 poster bed. All depend on p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spondersuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello Suzi. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. We agree that Darlington and the surrounding areas have some hidden gems and our members of staff are more than happy to point you in the direction of their local favourites. We are glad the weather was good so you could enjoy our courtyard and that you found your room and bathroom "magnificent". You also mention your positive feelings about the decoration, food and staff, which is great to read. Although we do not provide tea and coffee facilities in the room, these can be easily ordered via our room service option, with one per person per day being included in the price of your stay. We normally make most of our breads in house, so I shall look into why you were served cheap sliced bread for breakfast and improve on this for next time you come to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loxwood
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We went for a short break to Darlington - not the first holiday destination that comes to mind, but convenient for walking in the Dales, Durham and lots of countryside!

The hotel has only been open a year in a beautifully converted town house - still brand spanking new - spotlessly clean and very elegant and luxurious. The food was beautiful too and we certainly have to start the diets now we are back home.

The bar staff were all friendly, efficient and very professional - great cocktails girls! - especially the Cosmopolitans. They were very knowledgeable about the area and gave us some great tips for places to visit.

The only very small niggle was the lack of hanging space for my dresses - unlockable hangers would be great so that I could hang them over the back of the door - still only a tiny moan.

A lovely relaxing break with a touch of luxury.- see you all again I hope.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoxwoodLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello Liz. Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us at Houndgate Townhouse. We agree that our location is handy for the North Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors and also only twenty minutes on the train from Durham. We are glad you found the building and its interiors clean, elegant and luxurious and the food good too. It's great that you mention our helpful and efficient staff and delicious Cosmopolitan cocktails too. Thanks for your feedback on the hanging space issue your encountered - we will look into providing a hook and hanger elsewhere in the room as you suggest. We hope to welcome you back for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at Houndgate Townhouse for three nights, while visiting the area for the Tour de France in Yorkshire, nearby. Arriving with bikes in tow, and keen to know lots of information about the tour, we were welcomed and given all the information we needed.

Cocktails in the bar... great! Dinner in the restaurant... Ace! And the bedroom we had was spectacular. The bed was super luxurious, and just the rest we needed after a long day cycling. All of the food was locally sourced, including small details like the milk at breakfast coming from a local farm, and it tasted amazing!

Thanks so much to the wonderful staff. The only reason we wouldn't recommend this great hotel is that we hope its not booked up when we want to return!

Room Tip: Quiet, relaxing, and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EwanCrallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello Ewan. Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay. It's great to read that you took advantage of our location being so close to the North Yorkshire border and the great biking routes that exist there. We are happy your experience with us was enjoyable - that you found the cocktails to be great, the dinner in our "eleven" restaurant to be ace and the bed to be very comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Darlington in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
308 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My Partner treated me to a weekend break at this lovely boutique hotel. Located in the centre of Darlington in a beautiful townhouse. It looked very newly renovated. There is no parking, but there are large council car parks very close by.

We were in Room 8 on the top floor. Not a large room, but very clean and very stylishly decorated and furnished. There's the usual TV and safe, no tea or coffee making facilities but otherwise no complaints. We did find the room very warm and slept with the window open, but it's an old period property so you don't really expect air con.

Bathroom had a great walk in shower and nice toiletries, bathrobes and slippers.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the service was very good.

Breakfast was served in the large dining room at the back and was excellent. We both had the full English which really set you up for the day.

We were also given complimentary vouchers to use the leisure centre over the road which was
a nice bonus and we had an early morning swim before breakfast which started at 9am on a Sunday. All in all a very good stay and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larnerdarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello Darren. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. It's great to read you had a lovely time during you visit.

You are right in thinking we are newly renovated - we opened our door on the first of August 2013.

I'm sure prospective customers will find your details about the car parking and room eight useful, especially the photos. Although room eight is the smallest of our rooms, it does have an original fireplace within the bedroom, as well as some very old wallpaper (around 90 years old) in the bathroom, which can be seen on one of your photos.

We currently offer either a complimentary tea or coffee per person per night, brought up to the room, as we thought there is not ample space for a tray of tea and coffee making facilities.

Due to the lovely hot weather this summer we are looking into providing fans for the bedrooms, on request.

It is great that our attention to detail in terms of toiletries were noted, along with our staff, breakfast and the complimentary use of the nearby swimming pool.

We hope you come back to stay soon and are able to add some more photos to your collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Got a great deal through Secret Escapes so thought we would have a weekend away. Deal was for 3 course dinner, dinner bed & breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay,impressed with the room and the food and surprised by the complimentray welcome cocktails.
The only small gripe is that the hanging space in the 'wardrobe' is half size being over the drawers and is nowhere near long enough to hang up a dress.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfgdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houndgate T, Owner at Houndgate Townhouse, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hello there. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the food, drink and room during your stay. The Superior room you stayed as part of your Secret Escapes offer does only accommodate a small wardrobe with shallow hanging space, but we will look to providing additional space for longer items. Our Luxury, Deluxe and Super Deluxe rooms all boast more space in the room and a standard depth of wardrobe. We have just launched our own Dinner, Bed and Breakfast Rates for all of our eight rooms, which may be of interest and we hope you will come back and stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darlington hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
0.9 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
788 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3.1 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,446 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houndgate Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houndgate Townhouse

Property: Houndgate Townhouse
Address: 11 Houndgate, Darlington DL1 5RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Houndgate Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eight-bedroom design hotel, restaurant and bar in the heart of Darlington. This Grade II-listed Georgian Townhouse has been sympathetically restored to its former glory. All eight rooms have en-suite bathrooms, HD TV's and Temple Spa toiletries. Eat at the restaurant, 'eleven', enjoy a cocktail or glass of wine in the hound bar & lounge or simply choose to relax in the comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Houndgate Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houndgate Townhouse Darlington, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing