We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value.”
Review of The Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Spa Hotel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
KENT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good value.”
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We booked a one night stay at the Spa Hotel for a friends birthday. After a long drive from Kent we where pleasntly surprised at the hotels rooms. the staff are very friendly and very helpful. the owner went out of her way to put us up for another night. overall we found the hotel to very good value for money We are going up to see our friends again and soon and will be staying at the SPA HOTEL again/.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLIVEKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    38
    19
    10
    8
See reviews for
31
26
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Like many other reviews here I was worried when arriving as it is in the middle of an industrial estate and a pretty run down one at that. However, the hotel is pleasant enough, clean and tidy and the staff are friendly and the food not too bad!
One or two small issues though, firstly Hot Water, where is it????, both nights of our stay both in the evening and early morning no hot water, none what so ever, not nice taking a cold shower! secondly the owers have a lovely dog that just wonders around and doesnt bother anyone but please please get rid of that old sagging dog mat you have lying around in the bar/ Restaurant, god know how many times people just about broke their neck tripping over the thing.
All in all a good, clean, friendly and cheap hotel that perfect for a night before your flight etc.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghDuffus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

hi, can i just say what lovely food the spa hotel does at the sunday carvery. however can i just add that the person who serves behind the bar and takes your order has to be the most miserable unwelcoming stony faced individual i have ever been served by and i think that they should seriously think about putting her in the kitchen where she doesnt come into contact with the customers!! i have been patronising this business for years and has this person ever even once smiled at me and said hello, no. the foods lovely though!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy-68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2010

When we got there I was a bit worried as we were in the middle of an industrial estate just by the side of the airport, but once we got around the front it was fine. Room was small but v clean and the bathroom of an excellent standard. I would say it was basic, like a travelodge with bed, tv and tea making facilities(no hairdryer tho) so perfect for a brief stop over, considering breakfast was included it was cheaper than all of the travelodges I'd looked at. Menu seemed decent with choice of bar snacks or proper evening meals.It was easy access to main road etc and the staff were nice and friendly, just seemed like a 1 or 2 manband so had to wait for someone to come to reception or see us at breakfast. Walls very thin; we heard a guy snoring all night.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C4TMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

i was disappointed that the room was so cold for me and my children we woke in the night. we were lead to believe breakfast was all included but it wasn't for cooked breakfast you had to pay. There was no hair dryer to be seen or phone or wi fi in rooms over all it was clean and friendly but not child friendly very disapointed visit

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennskyety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darlington hotels

darlington
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2009

had a great time bedrooms could do with more up to date furnishings but realy fresh and clean staff very friendly would not hesitate to book again

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlygirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

As the other reviews suggested, the approach to the hotel leads you to think "OMG where hve I brought us!" But as soon as we entered the reception area we were welcomed warmly. the rooms were beautiful, big, light and really nicely furnished. The restaurant was excellent, with good food and the staff were so friendly. I would go again, just for a cheap night out and a good nights sleep (only one flight and you had to strain your ears to hear it!)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank thornbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darlington hotels
5.5 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#9 of 21 in Darlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
9.2 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
#12 of 21 in Darlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
6.6 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Property: The Spa Hotel
Address: Durham Tees Valley International Airport | Middleton St. George, Darlington DL2 1PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Darlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Darlington
The Spa Hotel Darlington, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing