We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage and views”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Darlington, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Esther B
1 review
“Beautiful cottage and views”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our short stay at the cottage was just perfect. We found all furnishings and decor to be very tasteful and of the highest quality. The fire was so cozy on the first night after a long day of travelling. Outside was a beautiful English country garden, tended with the utmost care. The welcome package was perfect for our first breakfast. Every detail was covered and we appreciated all of the information provided about the surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it was so typically English
Liked least: Leaving such an idyllic setting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consort
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Idyllic Rural Repeat”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This lovely cottage provides an idyllic rural retreat. How refreshing for townies to waken to the sounds of cocks crowing, lambs bleating and a variety of birdsong. Within the nicely furnished cottage is everything you need to make a home from home. And outside is a beautiful garden with sitting space. The hosts are very accommodating and the generous welcome pack was a bonus. All around is excellent walking territory, especially riverside walks on the Teesdale Way with easy returns on the Teesdale Railway Walk. Not sure we'd return to Bolam's village pub but the Fox Hole in nearby Piercebridge is highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constance...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in stunning garden!”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this cottage at short notice because we loved the photos on the website. We weren't disappointed, the cottage was cosy and beautifully appointed and clean, the welcome pack was over and above anything we could have dreamt of and the Bramble Brandy - well, I'm just waiting until it goes on general sale in Tesco!! The gardens are immaculate and there is a table (placed in the sun) for sitting out and enjoying a drink, most welcome after a long walk and there is plenty of excellent walking from the doorstep.

The owners are very helpful but discreet and welcome any suggestions you may have to make your stay more enjoyable (believe me, our stay was perfect, we couldn't think of anything).

All in all our weekend at Vicarage Cottage far exceeded our expectations and, once we've researched more walks, we will definitely go back and hopefully for longer than a Bank Holiday weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The solitude of the garden and the cosiness of the cottage.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesgm2015
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning cottage,well appointed,perfect hosts ,excellent*****”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Set in a beautiful village,this recently constructed cottage has everything you could need for a comfortable,restful,holiday.It has been designed to the highest standards and the fittings,linen,and facilities are top class.Even though it was February in Durham the cottage was wonderfully warm and welcoming after visiting the many interesting places nearby which are comprehensively described in provided guide. On arrival after a long journey the northern welcome and the extensive welcome pack were first rate. It was a great venue and we were disappointed to leave. I would certainly return here without hesitation. ps Lovely village pub a short walk away what more could you want?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcoming hosts and perfect cottage in beautiful setting
Liked least: Leaving to go back to reality!!!!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cosy cottage in lovely scenery”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is a cosy cottage in a peaceful village set in lovely scenery.
It is warm and well equipped.
The owners live on site - the cottage is in their garden - and they made us most welcome.
The provision of a "welcome pack" was a really nice touch, and a wealth of local information was provided.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
209trip
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A touch of class”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

A beautiful, charming cottage with friendly owners who left a great welcome pack!
Tip: make sure you don't need to iron or wash anything as no facilities. But apart from that there is everything you need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coziness and charm of cottage
Liked least: No washing machine or ironing facilities
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing