We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fox and Hounds

Fox and Hounds
Ranked #51 of 403 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$40
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Lovely pub, nice staff, we had the hoisin duck wrap and it was very tasty. We sat outside on the decked area in the sunshine which was beautiful. A very enjoyable day off from our own pub!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaz5156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Well what can I say - always so good when you get a great review from one of our fellow 'publicans'!!
I say this because we will be more critical generally speaking than the public so we really appreciate your feedback. let us know where you are - it'd be good to come and sample your hospitality too.
Hope to see you again soon - best wishes from Jackie, Mandy, Nick & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    95
    36
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Pint - Great Burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Popped in today for lunch. Warm welcome from behind the bar and a cracking pint of Timothy Taylor Landlord. Burger was spot on. The missus had sausage and mash and that was lovely.
Only gripe was being able to hear the chefs talking in the kitchen. Decent value for clearly freshly prepared food.

Helpful?
Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hi and thank you for your review of our Restaurant and Bar in Newmillerdam. We always appreciate it when people take the time to write and submit a review and we share all the plus and maybe the odd negative one with them too!!
Glad you enjoyed the Timmy Taylors, we've had it for over 6 years now and it's still one of the best quality beers around- takes a little more keeping than some of the modern cask ales but it's worth it!
I know what you're referring to with the 'noisy' chefs we have, and I've mentioned this to them before - they don't realise how easy it is to hear them so thank you for letting me know - It helps me with my discussions!!
Look forward to seeing you again soon - best wishes Mandy, Nick, Jackie & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“really good food, beer and staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

as the title, don't change a thing. reasonable costs for food and very good vfm. menu for food from 5pm - 7pm has value menu included and its near perfect for the cost of the dishes. good selection of drinks and dog friendly bar for those visiting the dam near by.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkymarky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thanks very much for your review, it means lot to the whole team here at the Fox & Hounds. It's always good to read and share a great review and we always aim to learn from all the reviews we receive, after all you've bothered to take the time to write it and post it, so the least we can do is read it, and try to continually improve every aspect of our food and drink offer.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes, Jackie, Mandy, Nick & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The fox wins again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

2nd visit, and again ths restaurant gets top marks for service and quality.
Having booked a table for 6.30 M1traffic had unfortunately delayed us to the point that I didn't get a chance to check if Nick had got any quality bottled cider in yet.
We went straight through to the conservatory for dinner.
Two waitresses were both polite, attentive, and efficient.
Our party of five all agreed that each of the 3 courses were faultless, main courses enjoyed included Beer battered haddock, T-bone steak, and chicken caesar salad.
Will definitely visit again.
Nick, you did ask me following our first visit, to recommend a bottled cider, so here are a few that would get my vote, Gwatkins Yarlington Mill, Westons special reserve, or Gwynt y Ddraig Black dragon. I'll set off earlier next time to check out the bar.

.

.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Hahaha..... what a great review, love it when someone adds a 'dash' of humour too!
Really glad you enjoyed yourselves again at The Fox and that the food was up to your standards too....... obviously I need to have a review of the bottled ciders!!... Cider has become far more popular in the summer, and in the main we've noticed the 'younger' end targeted ciders such as Koppaberg, Bulmers flavoured etc., are selling more than we used to. I suspect (and will look them up) that the ones you've listed are more traditional and potentially 'real' ciders rather than our main offer. I'll do my best and see what we can get in for you.... really only heard of the Westons brand .....
Look forward to welcoming you back to The Fox.
Best wishes, Mandy, Jackie, Nick & The Fox Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pub meal.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We tried this pub for an evening meal. It was average, a bit on the pricey side but ok. It was a very busy pub with a good atmosphere and very busy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your very brief review of the Fox & Hounds Restaurant and Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fox and Hounds also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing