We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous home-cooked food in a beautiful setting!”
Review of Fox and Hounds

Fox and Hounds
Ranked #55 of 405 Restaurants in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$40
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Gorgeous home-cooked food in a beautiful setting!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Visited here midweek and took advantage of the 2 courses for £10.95 option. We both had steak pie and have to say it is the tastiest steak pie I've ever eaten! The meat was tender and the sauce was just delicious. The homemade chips were cooked perfectly. For afters we both had sticky toffee pudding - again, absolutely superb! Only small niggle is that I asked for vegetables instead of mushy peas with my pie and they obliged but then found they'd charged me an extra £1 on the bill at the end. Common courtesy would have been to let me know. It didn't spoil it though and we will be back. The sun terrace is excellent too!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sibby_leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for your review. We're always trying to improve in every area, so your feedback is important and will be shared with our Team. We're glad you enjoyed your experience at The Fox & Hounds and look forward to seeing you again.
Just a quick plug for our sister Restaurant/Bar The Horse & Groom at Horse Race End, Heath, Wakefield - great food too..... WF1 5SG - 01924 373377
Best wishes
Jackie, Mandy, Nick & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    96
    37
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“An OK breakfast”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

It is not well - publicised but breakfast is available at the Fox and Hounds. It seemed a great idea for a sunny Summer morning. Dodging the wasps we sat inside. It was an OK cooked breakfast, which cost £6.95. I would have to say better breakfasts are available for about the same price or less. This is still a lovely establishment and the 4 stars reflect that and the excellent service at both bar and restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnScarr70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hi there,
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. All reviews help us to continually improve our offer, whether it's our food and drink products, the service, entertainment we provide, and of course the surroundings whether its in one of our hospitality rooms or outside on the decking and garden areas.
We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to you returning.
Have you tried our sister restaurant the Horse & Groom at Heat Common yet? It's really nice and the food is great-
Horse & Groom, Horse Race End, Heath - Wakefield WF1 5SG - 01924 373377
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Brilliant lunchtime fare.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I decided to pop in for lunch on a warm Wednesday in mid-July. I hadn’t set foot in the place for over 20 years, but we’d heard good reports from friends so thought we’d give it a try. Having spent a pleasant hour walking round Newmillerdam we were ready for a light meal.
As we entered the pub, initial impressions were good. The main room was clean and well-furnished. There was no noisy music blaring out and the place had a pleasant ambience. The young lady behind the bar welcomed us with a cheery smile.
We asked about food, and were given the choice of eating in the pub itself, or the adjoining restaurant area. We plumped for the latter, where we were greeted by a friendly waitress. She led us through to the conservatory, where we were seated. The area was extremely clean and tidy, with plenty of natural light. There was also a nice view of the walled garden outside, where one or two people had elected to have their lunch.
There was plenty of choice on the menu, with either main courses (including starters and desserts) or bar meals available. I opted for the jacket potato with prawns in a Marie Rose sauce, while my wife chose the tuna crunch wrap. Our waitress was extremely polite and helpful, even offering to get a dextrose tablet for my wife (who is diabetic) when her sugar levels appeared to be low.
The food did not take long to arrive, and proved to be delicious. My potato literally melted in my mouth, as opposed to the hard, lumpy fare that can often be served in pub-restaurants. The prawns were succulent, and the side salad was fresh and tasty. My wife said that her wrap (which also had a salad accompanying it) was extremely nice. Both dishes were priced very reasonably, at £5-6.
We finished off our meal with a cappuccino each, and were amused to find that the person making them had added a smiling face to the top of the coffee. It was a lovely little touch.
Although it was a weekday, there were plenty of diners in the restaurant area. Several of them appeared to be local, which is always a good sign.
All in all, our experience of the Fox and Hounds was extremely positive. My only minor quibble was the poor spelling (‘mediteranean’, ‘ceasar salad’) on the Specials Board above the bar. The mere fact that this was the only thing that was in any way amateurish proves what an excellent job the owners are doing. I would certainly recommend the Fox and Hounds for a lunchtime visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waketrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hello!
Well what a finely structured, informative review you've submitted. Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. It's always very rewarding when someone really has looked in to many of the areas of our offer and reviews the surroundings, as well as the staff and of course the edible part of our product too.
I completely agree with the spelling errors and I'll have a quiet word with our Team to ensure that such basic errors are removed, must say I hadn't noticed them myself, as that's something I'm very keen on.
We always share feedback with our team and would thank you for your kind positive comments. Hopefully we'll see you again soon, and you won't leave it that long again before coming back!!
Also, have you tried our sister Restaurant/Bar The Horse & Groom at Heath, Wakefield WF1 5SG? - There's a pleasant walk around Heath and the Common that you may like too.
Best wishes
Jackie, Mandy, Nick & The Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food in great location”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Great home cooked food, proper chips, at great prices..early bird very good value in a great location with very friendly staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fox & Hounds. Also, if convenient for you try our sister restaurant The Horse & Groom at Heath, Wakefield WF1 5SG.

Best wishes
Jackie, Mandy, Nick & the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good pub food and nice staff”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Went here on a busy Friday night and ate in the restaurant. The food was home cooked and all of us (we were 7 in total) all enjoyed our food, especially the chips! The food is good quality pub food at good prices and freshly cooked. The waitress were all very polite and helpful. Only slight niggle was getting drinks, either had to go the bar ourselves or wait longer for them to be delivered to the table.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank s30wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Restaurant/Bar in Newmillerdam. We always take genuine reviews seriously and it's even better of course when they're a good one. Yours also helps us improve our Restaurant service as you have commented regarding time to get drinks served. We'll discuss this with the Waiting On Team and look at ways of improving this aspect. Friday nights are busy on the bar, particularly from tea time through to 9 ish so will look at that too.
Look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes.
Jackie, Nick, Mandy & the Team
ps - have you tried our sister Restaurant bar The Horse & Groom at Heath Common? great food and a contemporary feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fox and Hounds also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing