We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday celebration ”
Review of The Jolly Tap

The Jolly Tap
Ranked #83 of 474 Restaurants in Wakefield
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Description: The Jolly Tap Real Ale Cafe is a genuine brewery tap serving quality real ales, artisan gins and wines from across the Yorkshire region. It is a home of warmth, intimacy, banter and trust.
Restaurant details
Description: The Jolly Tap Real Ale Cafe is a genuine brewery tap serving quality real ales, artisan gins and wines from across the Yorkshire region. It is a home of warmth, intimacy, banter and trust.
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Last night family and friends were looked after exceptionally well by Enya and her attentive staff. All three staff were superb. Nothing was too much trouble. They went the extra mile and helped to make our night a jolly one.
Jolly Blonde was as good as ever. The younger ones in our party enjoyed the plethora of gin choices available. The draught Prosecco went down well with my wife! Something for everyone. Big thanks to you all.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank GufferWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hywel R, Owner at The Jolly Tap, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

What a fantastic review and delighted that you are noting our wonderful staff. Thank you! We feel really lucky with our staff. Please come again soon - don't wait for the next birthday!!!!
JBB :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2018

Myself and my boyfriend went to the recent "spoken word" event and it was brilliant. A great range of different styles and some very meaningful and personal performances by a number of talented poets, musicians. motivational speakers and story tellers. And all washed down with quality locally brewed beer and fantastic service. Nice one! I hope there is another one soon.....

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank StephR279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hywel R, Owner at The Jolly Tap, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Hi Steph
We really appreciate the feedback and support this review conveys. Really glad you enjoyed the event and we hope to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Home made beer, extensive drinks list, owners who make you feel welcome, friendly punters, and socially minded; this independent business is a great place to stop and take in some of Wakefield's community.

Top night speaking, sharing and learning <3 A lovely space, even better ethos!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Cullen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hywel R, Owner at The Jolly Tap, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to respond to our evening last week, Cullen M.

We are thrilled you enjoyed what our Tap and indeed Wakefield have to offer.

We really look forward to welcoming you back soon.

:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

If you’re looking for a lovely bar that serves great real ales and a wide choice of other drinks at reasonable prices, look no further. This bar ticks all the boxes. The bar staff are always smiling and helpful and the atmosphere is always friendly and welcoming. Gin drinkers are well served with a wide range of gins, served perfectly. If you’re feeling peckish, the locally-sourced platters are extremely tasty and good value for money. The owners clearly take a lot of trouble to try to attract a range of clientele through regular quiz nights, comedy and spoken word events and drinks offers. They take their music very seriously and the regular jam nights, vinyl nights, live music performances and excellent soundtrack do them great credit. It’s certainly my favourite bar in Wakefield.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank NorthernMonkey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hywel R, Owner at The Jolly Tap, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Wow!! This is a lovely review. Thank you NorthernMonkey! We really appreciate the feedback and support for what we’re doing. I will share this with staff immediately. We are really proud of them!! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Nice place but staff are slow to empty the tables when not busy can get noisy as only a smallish room not cheap

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Stumpy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hywel R, Owner at The Jolly Tap, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Hi Stumpy1968
Thanks very much for taking the time to leave a review. I will mention your feedback to our bar manager as I know she takes a lot of pride (and spends a lot of time) on ensuring the table are clear, toilets are clean and so on. I guess places do get noisy when busy so I’m not sure what to say about that. I’m genuinely surprised you suggest we are ‘not cheap’ - we are a city centre bar selling premium locally sourced produce as well as ale straight from our brewery. We are attempting to do this economically whilst maintaining high standards of quality. Most customers comment on our good value. Thanks again for the comments and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Jolly Tap also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Jolly Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing