We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did the Job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Did the Job”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

very good room rate, the room was clean and everything functioned as it should, the internal dinning room looked clean and well presented but on this occasion we had other plans so didn't get to try the breakfast. I was the hottest evening of the year so we expected to be over warm as the hotel has no air con, But in fact thins wasn't a problem, probably because the bed was comfortable and a stand fan was provided, and the Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sggaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    141
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
157
145
15
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I've stayed in a lot but this one was a great experience. Modern, fresh, efficient staff and decent food choice provided by the Village Inn on site. Breakfast in the hotel which is always nice especially in winter! Will detour to this one when in the area next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aeneas_and_Dido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

OK, so it's a Premier Inn. That means that there's a certain baseline for what you can expect.

Check-in service was extremely efficient and pleasant, with adding an extra night's stay to my booking being a seamless exercise. The rooms are large, comfortable and immaculately clean (as is the entire hotel). The bathroom is modern, practical and spotless.

The lack of air-conditioning, though, meant that my room was an uncomfortable 25 degrees or more the whole time. A small but very loud fan did little to mitigate this.

Breakfast was very good - expertly cooked to order and served in a timely manner.

Get some A/C in, Premier Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

stayed here for the first time on 23rd August 2013 and was greatly impressed,by the cleanliness of the room also rest of hotel,but not enough air from the fan,a larger one might have done the trick?????
The breakfast room was terrific everything you could wish for and more,our server was brilliant she was a good laugh when we started to play around with her,over some hash browns,
The rest of staff were well trained and very helpful.especially the receptionist.
Thank you to everyone for your courtious manner etc;etc;
WE WILL BE BACK AGAIN >

Room Tip: Floor 2 was quiet and with a fair view outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Convenient for the M1 and as per other reviews, next door to a pub/diner which served pretty good pub fare.
Rooms are standard Premier Inn (no aircon) so beware warm rooms, particularly recently. Dining area for breakfast was good and the ladies running it were very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColiniNorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed in August 2013 with two small kids. They've put a wire on the window to stop you opening it, and prevent people falling out. However, it also means air can hardly circulate. The staff know and provide a fan and sheets rather than duvets, but it was so difficult to get to sleep. I'm sure it would be fine in winter! Good hotel otherwise, very clean and modern.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed just one night here on a short visit to Wakefield ... very comfortable room and a good night's sleep ... (just as advertised!) Unlike other Premier Inns we have stayed in, there was a choice of breakfast venues : either the breakfast room at the hotel, or the pub alongside which was associated with the hotel but offered a different menu. The hotel is well placed for any art lovers as it is close to both the new Wakefield Hepworth gallery and the Yorkshire sculpture park. The location is conveniently close to a junction of the M1, and easy to find from that junction.
We arrived from the town direction, and the Sat Nav wanted us to turn into the service road behind the hotel (advice which we fortunately ignored)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back do not face the motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pangalactic_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
3.0 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Wakefield City North Hotel
2.4 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Wakefield Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel
Address: Denby Dale Road | Calder Park, Wakefield WF4 3BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great for watersports at Pugneys Country Park and art-spotting at The Hepworth Wakefield ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing