We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good standard”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed here one night whilst visiting friends. Room was very clean and comfy.

Because of the travel cot that took up a lot of space between bed and sofa so maybe a slightly bigger room if they have any for this would have been good.

I personally found the bed too high. Felt like i needed a stool to get in to it and then when i got up in the night to see to my daughter i'd forgotten how high it was and landed funnily when i got out.

Next time i'll ask if there are any rooms that have a bath as if we were staying more than one night i'd need a bath to bath my daughter.

I thought that because this was quite a new premier inn that they would have had a plug socket either side of the bed but there was only 1 on one side. And what happened to the hot chocolate sachets and biscuits that when it was travel inn (before they became premier inn) they used to have as that's what i always used to enjoy.

But otherwise, staff very friendly, esp the lady at breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lampiekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    142
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
160
147
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Nothing terrible about my experience but a few things that just annoyed me.
1. Having struggled to find the hotel I tried to ring them for directions. I went on hold and eventually a pre recorded message told me they were too busy to take my call, strange I thought it was past 9pm! 10 mins later I find out why, the receptionist was glued to the phone, barely coming off it to check me in.
2. Same receptionist, busy on the phone, clearly didn't register my room key and I needed to come back downstairs to have it registered. Yes, she was still on the phone!
3. There was a chair that was next to the bed and not under the table. So what....well it was just strange as why would they leave it there? The bed also looked as if, just as the cleaner was leaving, she (or he) thought I wonder if its comfy? It just looked like someone had just got off it and not straightened it!
4. Wifi not working ! It happens...maybe the receptionist was trying to get it fixed ;-)

Anyway, breakfast is great. Freshly cooked to order. As much as you like and very present lady serving and cooking - you saved them!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robborobbins69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The room was large& very clean.Double bed comfortable.The rooms in this hotel only have a shower,no bath which is what i prefer anyway.Hotel only serves breakfasts,which are very nice.A pub/ restaurant is located opposite.I would have liked the option of having a drink& evening meal in the hotel.Premier Inn rooms are never warm enough& this was no exemption.The unit on the wall which operates the heating was loose& when i reported it the receptionist did offer me an alternative room but i rejected it because she said it would get repaired the following day- it didn't.The hotel is in a nice quiet location& 13 miles from Leeds city centre.Once again,Pemier Inn allow cars not displaying a blue badge to park in the marked bays supposedly reserved for their disabled guests.There was even a receptionist taking up 1 of these bays which was the closest 1 to the entrance.Absolutely disgraceful& selfish.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms alongside car park aren't ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here over Christmas - Great location, clean rooms. Staff super efficient and friendly. Outside the hotel is a great pub - The Red Kite where food and beer is good.
Will deco return when re visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markallen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

What more can I say? We stayed 2 nights in the run up to Christmas whilst attending a Friend's wedding and although the weather was atrocious the staff at the hotel were bright and cheery, very welcoming and EXTREMELY helpful throughout our stay. The hotel was ideally positioned for out needs but what made it even more appealing was the fact that it's so accessible from the motorway, as we were all travelling from various parts of the country - so somewhere easy to find was a must, and this hotel ticked that box several times.
The rooms we stayed in (3 in total) were all very clean, well prepared and modern with all we could ask for (apart form an iron, we either couldn't see one or there wasn't one there but that wasn't a huge must for us but could be something required for business visits etc). Shower facilities were spacious, powerful and clean, things you can't always achieve in what's supposed to be a budget hotel. Road noise was non-existant and beds were super cosy so a good night's sleep was had by all even a hyper 4 year old.

In short myself and the friends I stayed here with would certainly recommend Premier Inn and more so this one!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0ri22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandrindod Wells
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

If you require a very clean, friendly, and value for money hotel stay, I can happily reccomend a Premier Inn, the Lenny Henry adverts put it just about right. We found very helpfull staff, an excellent breakfast with good times 7.30-11, which is much better than some, if u don't want to rush about.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed the night after a family party nearby. Never stayed at a Premier Inn, but would do so again in this type of situation. Very comfortable bed, very clean, great service. And Jean at breakfast is great!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
877 reviews
3.0 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
2.4 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel
Address: Denby Dale Road | Calder Park, Wakefield WF4 3BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great for watersports at Pugneys Country Park and art-spotting at The Hepworth Wakefield ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing