We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go early for breakfast on a sunday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

stayed here twice now & overall its really good, however if you want breakfast on a sunday make sure you're down early. Last weekend the poor chef was in the kitchen herself & was run off her feet. The breakfast was really good but waiting an hour & a half to eat it was a bit much. I don't blame the chef at all she's only got one pair of hands after all. As for the Red Kite next door their food's great & the staff are friendly. Only complaint is after paying £4.15 for a pint of Peroni, id like a FULL pint!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Extremely handy location, just off M1. Very friendly staff. good breakfast with cheerful staff on hand. lovely choice of cereals and cooked breakfast. nothing too much trouble. Red kite restaurant next door, which is part of the Vintage Inn group. Fabulous food, great atmosphere, friendly staff. Close enough to have a few drinks, with no need to worry about driving.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I was originally given room 307 and went upstairs to find that it was basically a sauna. I suspect around 29-30 degrees.

That is absolutely ridiculous.

I complained and was told nothing could be done but I was "lucky to have one of these types of fans". I certainly didn't feel lucky.

After a further complaint I asked for a different room. It was simply too hot to sleep in. Originally I was told that there might be a difference in cost due to my booking rate being different to today's rate!!!! I strongly suggested that point be reevaluated.

I was transferred to another room which was a few degrees cooler but still way too hot and settled down to a crazy hot night sleep. When I woke in the morning my room was 27.5 degrees while I read the message on the window telling me that it wasn't openable to protect me.

The problem occurs because premier inn don't allow you to open the windows much for "health and safety" reasons. I've suggested to the company that they allow a waiver so windows can be opened without fear of being sued - I've been using windows throughout my life so I feel fairly safe in their operation.

The further problem in this case was that the premier inn staff didn't have the foresight to open the windows during the day, although they did close the curtains.

I would strongly suggest avoiding premier inn during the summer months.

I did receive my money back.. But I would rather have had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mister_phillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Support at Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We just needed a room to break the journey from the South Coast to our daughter's graduation. The room was very clean, bed was comfy, staff were friendly both on reception and at breakfast. A fan was provided, but it was still very very hot in the room so I haven't given it 5 stars for our sleep quality. Air con would have been great!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Really clean and comfortable hotel. Very friendly staff. I checked in slightly early and it was not a problem for the receptionist at the desk. I felt very safe as I was travelling on my own. I have stayed here in the past and have never had a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here for one night. The rooms are big and the beds were the most comfortable I have very had in a hotel. Great nights sleep & good price. Need a car here as it is a little remote. Friendly staff made the stay complete. Room was a little stuffy as the windows do not open fully, and there is no AC in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenathans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very good Premier Inn this one ! The staff friendly - the Red Kite pub onsite is excellent, though pricey, for dinner. Plenty of room in the car park. Extremely helpful if you are disabled. Wet rooms available.









  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
0.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,450 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
267 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
2.4 mi away
CitiLodge Hotel
CitiLodge Hotel
#17 of 19 in Wakefield
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel

Address: Denby Dale Road | Calder Park, Wakefield WF4 3BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range: £44 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great for watersports at Pugneys Country Park and art-spotting at The Hepworth Wakefield ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing