We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Campanile score again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campanile Wakefield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Campanile Wakefield
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Campanile score again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is third Campanile I've stayed in and I must say the standards are high across the country. The room great with all mod cons and the food menu also great. Only drawback is the location but what do you expect for £40! Easy to find off the M1. I've stayed in some top hotels around the world and this hotel group is the best value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    54
    72
    34
    69
See reviews for
19
87
24
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
leeds west yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Ridiculous to find as its in the middle of an industrial estate, when we did finally locate it and got out of the car there was a very bad smell in the aiir. Room hadn't been vacuumed properly as i found dirty hair clips on floor, there were cobwebs around the window and wardrobe area. There was 1 plug socket in the room and 1 bath towel. So i had to go to reception to ask for an extension and extra towels, the phone number for reception wasnt on the phone in the room. Although the staff are friendly the room certainly needed a good deep is FREE wi-fi in the room and sky television. Won't stay there again and will choose leeds from now on. Also felt very isolated once the bar closed and ALL the staff had left for the night i was just praying nothing went wrong. My bloke saidit reminded him of hostel. And when it says breakfast inc be warned its a continental breakfast and NOT the sausage bacon and eggs my partner was expecting.

Room Tip: There was NO room service your very much alone once there. We had an end room 27 and although it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wakefield hotels

Yorks
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Third year running I've stayed here with friends. It's cheap, near to the city centre, clean and the staff are very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedfordmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stayed Monday and Tues 9th-11th July 2012, room ok food excellent, staff ok until I mentioned to the Duty Manager that I'd woken up with Bed Bug Bites all over my legs and face. 'sorry about that' was his reply. No offer of room change & sorry isn't good enough, cost me £10 in taxi fares to Asda just so I could get antihistamines to stop the itching. Get the rooms fumigated!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 600EvieB600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_wakefield, General Manager at Campanile Wakefield, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear 600EvieB600,

Firstly, let me apologise that your stay was not an enjoyable one here at the Campanile Wakefield. All our staff are trained to take all customer comments very seriously and act on them accordingly and so am sorry you feel let down in this case.

Secondly, after receiving your comments via Tripadvisor we have conducted a full audit of the hotel, firstly by myself and then by our pest control contractor but have found no evidence of any contamination.

Please contact me at the Hotel as would like further information regarding your stay.


Simon J. Shipway
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night, yes as previously mentioned the hotel rooms appear a tad tired but the bed was comfortable, the water instantly hot and if you choose a room on the canal side as we did it was very quiet and peaceful. The staff were plentiful, polite and very engaging, the breakfast was freshly cooked however the cost of £17.50 for two cooked breakfasts was expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Canal side are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Overall to be fair, I can't really grumble about the hotel itself, it was actually quite nice. Well that maybe going a little far, it served a purpose if that purpose was in fact survival. The rooms, although basic weren't too bad apart from the scattering of pubic hair around the bathroom on arrival. Not ideal. During our stay, we found it super quiet and as mentioned on many reviews, it's in an industrial estate. When we asked one of the staff why it was so quiet, he said that most of the rooms are rented out during the day......mainly for a few hours. I'm no detective but if I were, I'd probably have a few further questions. Mind you, explained the body hair in my room I guess. Finally, the staff. What they lacked in personality, they made up in rudeness, abruptness, generally appalling customer service and overall bad vibes. Enjoy....

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

we stayed here for a family wedding being held in a nearby hotel. the outside was a bit off putting because of the location and the building itself doesn't look great but the room was really quite nice, clean, comfortable and had necessary amenities such as tv, tea and coffee facilities, mini toiletries (mini shampoo and shower gel, and shower cap) as well as a hairdryer. the staff were friendly and helpful. overall great value for money, especially if you just need it for a short break or just as a base to sleep, get ready etc. would recommend

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littleone04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
1.4 mi away
CitiLodge Hotel
CitiLodge Hotel
#18 of 19 in Wakefield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Wakefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Wakefield

Property: Campanile Wakefield
Address: Monckton Road | Off Denby Dale Road, Wakefield WF2 7AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Wakefield 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Louvre hotels and Priceline so you can book your Campanile Wakefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Wakefield Hotel Wakefield
Campanile Hotel Wakefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing