We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Wakefield
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Decent clean and cheap. Motel style. Bed wasn't that comfortable and it was warm during the heatwave. No chef on but I don't think we would have eaten there anyway. Close to town. I would probably stay again due to the great price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wateladze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

Could get anything to eat so decided to come home early wouldn't recommend this place to anybody NO CHEF I was charged for a nights stay only stopped 3 hrs had enough people meeting up was knocking shop

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s64hell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I know other reviewers have been unkind, but I was pleased with my large room, that had a bath and a shower, adequate plug sockets (for my needs) boiling hot water and a very large and extremely comfortable bed.

The service was slow when I arrived, the booking system was not working properly, but it did not put me off...

I enjoyed my breakfast, there was plenty to eat and drink.

Parking was not a problem either.

The only negative was the cleanliness of the stairways, they were a little scruffy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MecAnglais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I went on a night out into Wakefield with a few lads and this hotel was perfect for purpose. We got back at 3:00 to find a Police riot van in the hotel carpark which added to the fun. The hotel was reasonably clean and the beds were excellent. Fantastic place to stay - if your in a singles gang.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed one hour
Couldn't even charge our phone no plug sockets
The over effiicious manageress covering from Bradford was surly and unhelpful I arrived at 130pm and was told I couldn't book in until 2 pm I said you have no customers your hotel is empty, no cars on the car park and all rooms to the chalet style rooms open she ignored me I spoke to the cleaner a lovely young blonde girl who said she would air out a room and sort it.
We decided to stay all I can say this hotel in the middle of a industrial estate is a dump, bar empty , restaurant empty, car park empty everything empty we stayed one hour and left.
This manageress said her hotel in Bradford had air con and I should try that branch next... Never was my reply

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BangkokBill786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I have to agree with the 7 March comment - the staff try hard, but the hotel is shabby and rooms are small. Beware the 'all rooms are non-smoking' as they tried to give me a room which had been used for a cigar smokers' convention. The first night (29/6) we were besieged by a shrieking, hysterically drunk group of women somewhere in the hotel, starting at 0330 and finishing at 0600. With no 'reception' overnight this was not attended to.

The rate is ok, BUT it was annoying to book on line at £41 for 2 (with continental) and receive a confirmation email telling me the rate was £35 for 2 (with continental). The hotel itself could not help with this, and the London telephone number answers in French (it is a French chain). Eventually a French agent answered (in English) but to sort out the confusion I was told I needed to make a call to France which I declined! I asked for an email address, but it took 3 separate calls to get that right. Email has not been answered after 1 week.

Food was ok, but on second night (4/7) there was no chef and thus a limited menu. The continental breakfast (5/7) would make you vote to leave the EU. No coffee machine (broken) and lukewarm urn of 'hot' water.

As I said, the staff try hard but are up against it with what really is/should be a lorry drivers' motel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikep186406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

After two nights in a Travelodge this place is heaven!

Good value for money, clean rooms, good facilities and pleasant friendy staff. Food is good, Breakfast offers a wide choice and dinner, though basic, is nicely presented and tasty.

This place is way above its budget hotel grading and is easily on a par with Premier Inn and Holiday Inn Express for half the price!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timthetrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
1.4 mi away
CitiLodge Hotel
CitiLodge Hotel
#17 of 19 in Wakefield
147 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
933 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,440 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Wakefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Wakefield

Address: Monckton Road | Off Denby Dale Road, Wakefield WF2 7AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range: £26 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Wakefield 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Wakefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Wakefield Hotel Wakefield
Campanile Hotel Wakefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing