We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campanile Wakefield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Campanile Wakefield
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I like the atmosphere of this place. It reminds me of the roadside motels you get in the USA. It is slightly dated but I think that adds to the character. Very good value for money. Nice clean room, comfortable king size bed, hot powerful shower and tasty full English breakfast. What more could you expect for 30 squid these days? The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is that my friend had no towels in her room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesWebb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    54
    72
    34
    69
See reviews for
19
87
24
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Rooms were awful, had damp mould on the ceiling. Bed was very uncomfortable, my back was seriously aching in the morning. Other customers were being loud and rowdy, woke me up several times banging on the doors at 2am and then stayed up talking and laughing until 8am. There was a hole in the bath and one in the wall. We asked to borrow 2 plates and they asked for £10.00 per plate deposit! And glasses were £5.00! The canal isn't viewable from the rooms. Will not be staying here again, very disappointed and worst nights sleep ever!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadelouise55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wakefield hotels

England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Decent clean and cheap. Motel style. Bed wasn't that comfortable and it was warm during the heatwave. No chef on but I don't think we would have eaten there anyway. Close to town. I would probably stay again due to the great price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wateladze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Could get anything to eat so decided to come home early wouldn't recommend this place to anybody NO CHEF I was charged for a nights stay only stopped 3 hrs had enough people meeting up was knocking shop

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s64hell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

I know other reviewers have been unkind, but I was pleased with my large room, that had a bath and a shower, adequate plug sockets (for my needs) boiling hot water and a very large and extremely comfortable bed.

The service was slow when I arrived, the booking system was not working properly, but it did not put me off...

I enjoyed my breakfast, there was plenty to eat and drink.

Parking was not a problem either.

The only negative was the cleanliness of the stairways, they were a little scruffy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MecAnglais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

I went on a night out into Wakefield with a few lads and this hotel was perfect for purpose. We got back at 3:00 to find a Police riot van in the hotel carpark which added to the fun. The hotel was reasonably clean and the beds were excellent. Fantastic place to stay - if your in a singles gang.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed one hour
Couldn't even charge our phone no plug sockets
The over effiicious manageress covering from Bradford was surly and unhelpful I arrived at 130pm and was told I couldn't book in until 2 pm I said you have no customers your hotel is empty, no cars on the car park and all rooms to the chalet style rooms open she ignored me I spoke to the cleaner a lovely young blonde girl who said she would air out a room and sort it.
We decided to stay all I can say this hotel in the middle of a industrial estate is a dump, bar empty , restaurant empty, car park empty everything empty we stayed one hour and left.
This manageress said her hotel in Bradford had air con and I should try that branch next... Never was my reply

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BangkokBill786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
1.4 mi away
CitiLodge Hotel
CitiLodge Hotel
#18 of 19 in Wakefield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Wakefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Wakefield

Property: Campanile Wakefield
Address: Monckton Road | Off Denby Dale Road, Wakefield WF2 7AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Wakefield 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Louvre hotels, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Campanile Wakefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Wakefield Hotel Wakefield
Campanile Hotel Wakefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing