We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mews Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mews Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Glasgow
1 review
“Gorgeous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We had booked Dimple Well Lodge (down the road from The Mews) but had to check out because it was so darn awful. It was 10:30pm and we had no idea where we'd end up so we were delighted to stumble across The Mews. The service was great and room (number 16) was beautiful. It was newly decorated, clean and obviously very well maintained. The room had double doors which opened onto a small garden - gorgeous! We had a great nights sleep & loved our breakfast the following morning which was served in the restaurant next door. We're definitely staying here again.

Room Tip: We had room 16 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    46
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
33
36
2
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

My wife and I have never stayed at the hotel. However, we regularly have lunch with friends and family. I have to say we have never been disappointed with either the standard and quality of the food or with the friendly, welcoming staff. We are always warmly greeted and made to feel very welcome. Our table is always immaculately attended. We are made to feel very comfortable which sets the tone for the whole lunch experience. The menu varies depending upon the day of the week you visit but the food in all its guises is always superb. The sea-food tends not to be served during a Monday lunch but when served during the remainder of the week is unrivalled.
The wine selection is good and the house red is particularly fine at an affordable price. It is obvious that everyone one of the staff is determined to make the dining experience a pleasure. We will certainly continue to visit the place regularly and we would certainly recommend the establishment.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve9873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Just stayed the one night and the room was lovely, very clean and a lovely bathroom (shower only). Towels and toiletries were included and were very good quality. Good quality 'full breakfast' and very friendly staff. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laineysheffiele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed overnight on a business trip and this hotel was recommended to us. Our room had recently been refurbished which was great, the bathroom was very small though with the handbasin in the bedroom which was interesting !! Everything was spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable with a really snuggly duvet and good pillows.
We had dinner in the restuarant and the 12 hour roasted pork was fantastic, served with really good fresh vegetables - lovely, sadly we were both too full to eat dessert.
Breakfast was equally as good with plenty of fresh coffee and nothing too much trouble.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: room 8 has the sink in the bedroom but I was assured this was the only double with this arrangement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Plus points - Evening meal was very nice with relaxing bar area and friendly attentive staff on the whole,
The rooms let this B&B down, paper thin walls, tired decoration and uncomfortable bed. Bathroom needed a facelift.
Our greatest surprise came on Sunday morning when we went down to breakfast at what we thought was a reasonable time 9:15am to be told that breakfast had finished and the chef had already left.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Staying at this hotel as we are looking at universities for my daughter, check in great, room fantastic, food unbelievable. Thank god I did not go for a chain hotel. I don't do reviews normally but this place is so good I just had to give it a review, you will not be disappointed. If I could giver a higher Mark for the food I would, I had the pork belly, I do not normally pick pork but the other reviews I looked at recomended it, they are right, I have NEVER tasted anything like it. If this restaurant was near me I would be taking everybody I know to it, fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We chose this Hotel as it was close to the Yorkshire Sculpture Park. Although a little way off it was a great choice . we where booking a number of rooms and the function room for a family get together. A great choice. The staff where very helpful in organising rooms and meals before we arrived.
the rooms are well decorated with good facilities. we used the pub to gather in where staff where always helpful. our stay here was so welcoming and made that bit better with support and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluesmanphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakefield
6.0 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wakefield Limes Hotel
Wakefield Limes Hotel
#5 of 19 in Wakefield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
York House Hotel
York House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Wakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
1.3 mi away
Heath Cottage Hotel
Heath Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mews Hotel

Property: The Mews Hotel
Address: 77 Dale Street | Ossett, Wakefield WF5 9HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mews Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Mews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing