We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food as well next time!”
Review of The Mews Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mews Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Food as well next time!”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Stayed at the mews a few weeks ago with some friends as meeting in Wakefield for a meal. The staff were very friendly and the room nice and clean with plenty tea/coffee/ toiletries. The bar had a great atmosphere and I'd like to try a meal if I stay again as looked lovely. Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. My only grumble would be that none of the bedside lamps worked in either room. Thanks to all the staff for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    48
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
38
38
2
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for a week in November and enjoyed it that much I went back for another whilst I was doing a training course (at the holiday inn). Now I could have stayed anywhere as I was on expenses from work but I chose to stay at the Mews because of the great staff, food and atmosphere. The room was clean and great for what I needed. The food was tremendous - every meal and I ate there every night as no reason to go elsewhere. Staff were always pleasant, attentive and always had a smile.- no matter how busy the place was, which was most of the time. Go there you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spudz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I was in Wakefield on business for one night and checked out. I then had to stay a second night and re-booked. Why? Good comfortable rooms, great uncomplicated English delicious pub food and the best cooked breakfast in years. Excellent value and I will go back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bencarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

What a wonderful lunch! The food was well cooked, hot and really tasty and very good value for money as a special Christmas treat. I was impressed by the fact we didn't have to book our choices weeks in advance (which you do in some other places) and that we could use their little function room, so that we weren't eating in the bar area. The table was set out beautifully and the girls serving us were attentive and helpful - helping to make it a really great experience. The veg portions were generous and the savoury mash really tasty. We weren't rushed and we were able to sit and chat and take our time to enjoy each course - a real treat! Definitely need to eat here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

Went for a meal with friends after passing for years and saying must try it. Had a good home cooked meal in pleasant surroundingsnice wine and would definitely go again.
Judging by the turn around of tables plenty of others think so too, but we were not rushed to finish at all and if there is a fault service be a little more attentive.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gupta65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We had booked Dimple Well Lodge (down the road from The Mews) but had to check out because it was so darn awful. It was 10:30pm and we had no idea where we'd end up so we were delighted to stumble across The Mews. The service was great and room (number 16) was beautiful. It was newly decorated, clean and obviously very well maintained. The room had double doors which opened onto a small garden - gorgeous! We had a great nights sleep & loved our breakfast the following morning which was served in the restaurant next door. We're definitely staying here again.

Room Tip: We had room 16 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My wife and I have never stayed at the hotel. However, we regularly have lunch with friends and family. I have to say we have never been disappointed with either the standard and quality of the food or with the friendly, welcoming staff. We are always warmly greeted and made to feel very welcome. Our table is always immaculately attended. We are made to feel very comfortable which sets the tone for the whole lunch experience. The menu varies depending upon the day of the week you visit but the food in all its guises is always superb. The sea-food tends not to be served during a Monday lunch but when served during the remainder of the week is unrivalled.
The wine selection is good and the house red is particularly fine at an affordable price. It is obvious that everyone one of the staff is determined to make the dining experience a pleasure. We will certainly continue to visit the place regularly and we would certainly recommend the establishment.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve9873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
6.0 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
960 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wakefield Limes Hotel
Wakefield Limes Hotel
#6 of 19 in Wakefield
58 reviews
3.1 mi away
York House Hotel
York House Hotel
#9 of 19 in Wakefield
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
230 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
887 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mews Hotel

Property: The Mews Hotel
Address: 77 Dale Street | Ossett, Wakefield WF5 9HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mews Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your The Mews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing