We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday Lunch”
Review of The Mews Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mews Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Very busy Sunday lunch-time good thing we had booked. Good menu and specials. Three of our party had starters - Yorkshire pud with onion gravy, prawns and salmon and garlic mushrooms. Main courses had traditional roast beef chicken breast and pork belly all well recieved. Freshly cooked vegetables were also very good.
We had an enjoyable meal in pleasant surroundings. Would certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dollymix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    48
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
38
38
2
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Went here as a party of 6 to celebrate a birthday. Never visited before but will certainly go again
Food excellent choice and quality. Cooked and presented superbly. Only disappointment was that the starters were so large we were unable to finish all the beautifully cooked vegetables. Most people in the party had different choices and all were delicious. Drinks prices were quite reasonable too. Only a small restaurant area so need to book I would think

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here overnight, when we attended a concert in Leeds. The room was very pleasant and comfortable. The following morning we had breakfast, which was fab. The staff were friendly and the evening menu looked good. Think we'll stay an extra night next time so we can have dinner and a few drinks. Only thing that would make things better would be a king-size bed.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WiccanWondering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My self and friends have used this restaurant for years and have only ever received excellent service and the food is consistently excellent. The staff are friendly it also attracts locals and residents. You must try, but please book!

Room Tip: They do themed nights but remember to book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misshartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We live close to the Mews Hotel and often have a evening meal and sunday lunch. They never fail to deliver delicious tasty food. The braised beef in Guinness is to die for in fact everything I have tried from the pie nights to the fish and chip nights I have never had a bad meal. Real home cooked comfort food exactly as it says !

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank reviews344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I have been to the Mews many times during the week and always had excellent service and a very nice lunch. This week we decide to try Sunday Lunch and was extremely satisfied. The chicken and leek soup was hot and very tasty. The roast lamb was tender and the entire meal both looked and tasted fresh. We were all slightly dissapointed with the desserts, they didnt taste as good as the rest of the food but we were very full after such a good meal. The atmosphere of the dining area is very relaxing and the staff are very friendly and efficient. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

4 of us had a meal here pork escolapes, belly pork, chicken tikka, prawn salad, all of us enjoyed our meals as there was nothing left great service and fine house wine great atmosphere friendly staff the dining area is in the main part of the pub but works well will definately be dining there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamski1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakefield
6.0 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
975 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
237 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Heath Cottage Hotel
Heath Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dewsbury
122 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,380 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mews Hotel

Property: The Mews Hotel
Address: 77 Dale Street | Ossett, Wakefield WF5 9HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mews Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Mews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing