We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food - will definitely revisit”
Review of The Mews Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mews Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We stopped here for Sunday lunch at the recommendation of our nephew. What a fantastic place. The venue was well laid out and beautifully presented. They slotted 5 of us in at the beginning of lunch, even though fully booked, and served a fantastic meal. Their slow roast belly pork was not on the menu but was recommended - we asked for it and got it. Everything about our experience here was great, service, food, great portions, value etc. The belly pork was to die for and I would say it is a 'must' for anyone who likes pork. At £8.95 the lunch was one of the best I have ever had (we even had to take a doggie bag home!). We will go back again and try out the hotel as well.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Southofenglandfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for The Mews Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2009

Several years since we ate at The Mews, so when we thought we would try it again,we took advice of website & booked a table for a Sunday evening. The place was VERY quiet when we arrived ( 2 customers and 3 staff in the bar). We were shown to a table in the bar & left without a menu. After 15-20 minutes a waitress asked if we had made our choice. Pointed out we had no menu, only to be told it was bar meals only. This was not pointed out when I booked, nor is it advised on the website, which has a great menu, which was why I booked!!! We were the ONLY people eating there, and really had the feeling we were on display. The food was reasonable, but NOTHING like the website menu, so I really feel the night was spoiled for us. If we ever go again (and it's doubtful) it will be for a lunchtime bar snack only

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandSyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2007

I was lucky enough to arrive at this hotel at lunch time, I duly managed to check in okay and fortunately for me I was up graded to a twin room from a single. Note that the check in area was located in the bar.

If anyone arrives between 3 pm and 5 pm there no one around the bar is closed, and the only means of
contact with is by telephone and a member of staff will turn up.

The room I had was very clean and spacious, but lacked a clock/radio, however normal hotel facilities are available, apart from the use of the restaurant on a Sunday evening .

Fortunately the walk in to town Ossett is only 5 minuets, where there are a few choices. If you like Indian food I would recommend the Star of India lots of choice reasonable priced.

The food in the Mews Hotel is a good standard but a bit on the pricy side Sunday Lunch £13.99 small tables in a small area with in the bar.

Breakfast was good only go for the full English if your really hungry, but you can order whatever you like.
The morning Breakfast cook is also the same person who sorted out my check out, I had to wait for her to a few minuets spare from cooking to pay my bill.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sunroyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mko11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
6.0 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
988 reviews
3.1 mi away
York House Hotel
York House Hotel
#9 of 19 in Wakefield
261 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
918 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,410 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mews Hotel

Address: 77 Dale Street | Ossett, Wakefield WF5 9HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range: £58 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mews Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Mews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing