We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best”
Review of Grill! Primal Kitchen - CLOSED

Grill! Primal Kitchen
Price range: US$3 - US$32
Cuisines: Barbecue, Greek, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Olive & Meze Website Olive & Meze is a new restaurant to the Wakefield area. It is independently owned and operated by Zafer Firinci our Head Chef. Zafer has over 20 years experience in the restaurant industry having previously owned and operated 2 restaurants in Turkey and 1 in Wetherby in the UK. Zafer and his team strongly believe in providing excellent quality food at a great price with fast, friendly efficient service. We hope you will join us to sample the Turkish Delights of Olive & Meze.
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I had been looking at this little place for a few weeks and was not sure how to organise a table as it's hard to find on the internet in terms of site etc. Arranged to go in the first week of September and looked forward to trying a new place in Wakefield. Not disappionted with first impressions nice feel and relaxed atmosphere, I do like the idea that at the moment it's a BYO so you can take a wine/beer you know you will like and they will put this in a fridge which is a nice touch. The menu is quite Greek which for me is a nice change and a great selection. I wanted the lamb with garlic but unfortunatly it had sold out so I chose from the specials board and had the mixed meats(not called this), fantastic, Jacobs Ladder(extra fat ribs),Oxtial, pork steak all slow cook to perfection. My wife had swordfish Kebabs both dishes were great for flavour all tasted great and were served with sides ordered as extras which again were of a good standard. We had a great evening not only was the food above par but so was the the service.We eat out every weekend and live in Wakefield so the choice is quite small so eat in Leeds quite a bit too. This place for food can beat nearly all we have visited for quality and sevice, a great find. So much so that I will be visiting again this weekend and plan many more visits if it continues to provide the service I have seen so far.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank FussyFack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafe31, Owner at Grill! Primal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Thank you for your supportive words, glad you enjoyed your evening on what was quite a noisy evening! we will be glad to welcome you again, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 282 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

Visited the restaurant as we noticed it had been taken over, saw the blackboard outside and loved the menu. A small restaurant with wooden tables and chairs but quirky. No licence so took own alcohol - no corkage. Food was amazing, waiter excellent and chatted to the chef/owner who grows some produce in his allotment. Obviously still trying to build up their clientele and i would highly recommend. The presentation of the food was very good, hot and veg cooked to perfection. Food the best in Wakefield and price very reasonable. Equally matches the food at Leeds Kitchen by James Martin, and that is fab. Recommended to so many people so gutted when I couldn't get in for tonight....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kazaWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafe31, Owner at Grill! Primal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

thank you for your recent review, i am so happy you enjoyed your evening and look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We visited 31 for the first time on Saturday, it was excellent, great food and value for money, with a warm and homely feel. Great understanding of gluten free food, providing gluten free bread and pasta with lots of choice on the menu, spoilt for choice really! We will definately be visiting again and if you haven't tried it yet you should! Thank you for a wonderful evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kjhuyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafe31, Owner at Grill! Primal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

many thanks for your kind review of your experience, we understand that having a gluten free evening can pose some difficulty and were glad to help to give a good selection of dishes for the whole family, thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

booked to go with my family for a meal friday evening, the food was fantastic i had whole dressed crab off the specials board which was delicious! we had the 50% off food offer which made it a real bargin. however as the place is not licenced you can take your own bottles of wine (and no corkage charge) so even when paying full price for the food its an affordable evening out! loved it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rhodes1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafe31, Owner at Grill! Primal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Glad you enjoyed your visit, the fresh crab is now a permanant resident on the menu as long as the weather holds to go out to sea on a thursday, thank you for taking the time to write your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

What a find !!the food tastes how food used to taste and either home grown by the owners or locally sourced were possible,everybody was very helpful as I have a tomato allegy they adapted it were possible so i wish you all the best with your new venture,will be back soon !!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mamaspelzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafe31, Owner at Grill! Primal Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Many thanks for your kind words, we always aim to provide adapted dishes where needed and were only glad to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grill! Primal Kitchen also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Stanley, Wakefield
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing