We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it does what it says on the tin!”
Review of Redbeck Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Redbeck Motel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“it does what it says on the tin!”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Great value for money Motel/transport cafe
Not your typical fine dining establishment, and nor does it claim to be! It's great value for money food, good place to go after a night on the town! Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bochloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    25
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
22
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We have stayed here a few times now it is open 24/7 the rooms are very clean and the breakfast's are very good and plentyful and they do them all day as well as roast dinners well worth a visit even iff you just want to some good wholsome food.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are better as it is on a busy road and iff you have a room looking onto the road y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReturnVisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Overall the room was spotless! However the quality of the rooms are poor, incredibly small and built more in budget rather than comfort and peace, the floor boards squeak the walls are thin and the bed was partly broken. Not recommended for a longer stay, families or a romantic break. Staff were friendly but overworked. The location is good but well worth an investment in ear plugs. Wifi works in selected spots but not throughout.

In detail...
Room:
I opted for a single en-suite room, this feature a slightly broken double bed, small television (good for the hard of hearing), small wardrobe and storage space and tea and coffee making facilities, these were replaced everyday which was nice. It took me awhile to adjust to the paper thin walls, being able to hear when the guests in the neighboring rooms were entering and leaving was most comforting. The curtains and blinds were also quite thin letting plenty of light in.
Bathroom:
Again this was poor quality if you didn't shut your door your room could be easily flooded. Free shampoos and shower gels were provided but any average sized person would struggle to use the bisque shower. Towels were changed and bathroom was cleaned each day.
Breakfast:
Bit of a let down, I was offered a hot drink and juice but no cereals, fruit or healthy alternative. The full breaky includes, small sausage, few bits of bacon, chopped tinned tomatoes, beans, fried bread and burnt toast. The public can have the same privilege for less than £5 in the greasy spoon cafe area. Pop music is also played daily for free from 8am to 9pm-ish.
Location:
Redbeck is situated in between a busy road leading out of Wakefield, a train line and a car park for trucks. There is no sound proofing to the room so even with the windows closed it's still quite noisy.
Bar and Lounge area:
Not used so can't really comment, it looked very clean and was open 24 hours.

In summary, very clean but poor overall and a bit of a disappointment. Won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverSerpent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I was looking for a stop over on my way to Newcastle, was directed into the transport café and surprised to learn it doubled up as reception, was led to my single room and had access to a shared toilet and shower room, the room was functionable , clean and adequate sized, however one gripe is no tea/coffee making facilities as I had chosen a basic room, every room I feel should have this facility, after a pleasant night sleep, I had the '" breakfast"" , which is definitely the high point, large and well prepared, my day was definitely started off on a good note.

Room Tip: don't choose a basic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickyrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I found the motel ideal, the food was very good and the rooms were first class, the staff are very helpful and nothing is to much trouble. I had no transport but with the help of the staff i managed to go everywhere i wanted by suggesting which buses and times to use. I would stay here anytime.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but i would favour upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Needing to book myself some cheap accomdation near Pontefract, I had seen reviews elsewhere for Redbeck Motel, and being late in the day, choices were limited. Arriving in the evening, I found myself pulling onto the car pak of what looked like a slightly scruffy transport cafe. On etering the door labeleld reception, I indeed foundmyself in a transport cafe, busily serving what looke dlike fairly basic but wholesome and generous plates of grub. Asking for reception, the girl behind the counter informed me this was reception as well, and she would see me as soon as she ahd finished handing pout some food. Stnading there I began to feel I had maybe booked the wrong place.....Howevere, once I was booked in, and having been shown along a ratehr dark and narrow corridor, I arrived at my room. Delighhtful little room - very clean, clearly recently decorated, very nice en suite toilet and shower (although the shower cabinet doorway may prove a little tight for the "larger" person). Despite being at the front of the motel facing the main road, I had 4 excellent nights sleep, even with the window open overnight.The room was well cleaned every day. Breakfast was typical transport cafe - not Haute cuisine, but generous and tasty! Not teh sort of palce totake your beloved for a romantic break, but as a base if working in the area, or a cheap palce to overnight, it can't be faulted. Although the location is far from stunning, it's worth noting that Nostell Priory is only just down the road, with lovely grounds to walk around.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryandLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I eat at the Redbeck motel regularly, the last time being Easter sunday 8th april 2012. I particularly enjoy their "All day breakfast" which consists of 3 rashers of back bacon, 2 sausages, 2 fried eggs, beans, tomatoes, mushrooms, fried bread and as much bread and butter as you can eat. If you are extra hungry you can also have chips with your breakfast.

It is a typical but large transport cafe that welcomes anyone. It has a seperate lounge for anyone to use (paying guests only after 6pm) and a seperate bar area and even a small kiddies play area. Plenty of car parking spaces and a huge lorry park.

Going back to the meals. This motel is open 24/7 and food is always available weather to take out or eat in. They do a variety of daily specials with a choice of seasonal vegatables and either mashed potatoes or chips which come with a free sweet.(pudding and custard type lol). Prices are very reasonable and the service is usually very fast. 2 people can eat and get drinks very easily on say a typical spend of £11.00 and no pots to wash. This motel would not be suitable for everyone as it will never get Michelin stars.

End of the day it is very much a good "Greasy spoon" It is accessable with a wheelchair but it has just 1 step to negotiate. When the weather is fine it has tables/benches outside.

I would not recommend it for business meetings or even a romantic meal but for a family day out and to call in for a hot (or cold) meal and relax/read the daily newspaper you will be made very welcome and it wont break the bank.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackojackojacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
2.0 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
945 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
877 reviews
3.7 mi away
CitiLodge Hotel
CitiLodge Hotel
#18 of 19 in Wakefield
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
3.8 mi away
Stanley View Guest House
Stanley View Guest House
#12 of 19 in Wakefield
89 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redbeck Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redbeck Motel

Property: Redbeck Motel
Address: Doncaster Road | Crofton, Wakefield WF4 1RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Redbeck Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing