We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff very poorly maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Wakefield Central Hotel
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly staff very poorly maintained”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

the staff were great, I stay at premier inn many times in different locations, this one has to be the worst, it was old tired and needed a re fit.
The carpets were not laid correctly, the tiles were falling off plug sockets hanging off, very poorly maintained hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Wakefield Central Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    90
    42
    20
    9
See reviews for
71
59
16
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Well where do I start.....I am writing this review from my hotel room right now and I'm not a happy camper. Firstly the room is so hot even if you could sleep fir the noise you wouldn't be able to. The room comes with a fan but we had to go and buy another as well as ask the girl at reception fir another. I have to say she is the only good thing about this hotel. We booked a family room from booking.com who failed to tell us it was a wedding hotel. Granted I did get a call the next day from Premier to infirm us of this. Unfortunately as it's York races hotels are few and far between my options were limited. I did think how bad could it be. Well let me tell you it's unbearable as the marquee is right outside our family room. Do much fir the promise we would be put in a room at the opposite side. IMHO Premier can't have the best of both worlds by booking weddings and taking bookings from families on short breaks. So a question to Premier.....how does you good night gaurentee work in this situation?

Premier you will no doubt reply with your usual, please contact customer services on blah blah blah. Fir a change how about you oh that extra mile and contact me? I'm in room 5 and it's Saturday the 25th if July.


During wedding season avoid this hotel like the plague. I for one will never be back here, will never recommend it and will continue to review this hotel to help others to make a better choice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Wakefield Central Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We would like the opportunity to investigate further, please email your booking & review details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will be in contact directly. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

City centre hotels are often bland and situated in rather dull surroundings - not this Premier Inn which is set in a wooded area of a stunning park. It is within easy walking distance of the centre of Wakefield but you could easily be in the middle of the countryside when you wake up to the soft cooing of wood pigeons and the sight of rabbits feeding on the lawn outside. As always at Premier Inns the rooms are large, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The bathrooms too offer 'proper' baths and lovely thick towels. My only gripe is that the soap dispenser wasn't refilled when it was empty but this is a tiny criticism.
What really makes this Premier Inn outstanding is its link to the Green King Eating Inn Holmfield Arms next door where you eat breakfast and other meals. As you would expect, the Premier Inn breakfast is phenomenally good. Even better however is the Eating Inn dinner menu. In my view they are unsurpassed for quality, quantity and value especially for vegetarians. We were thrilled to be able to have completely different vegetarian evening meals on each of the three nights we were there. It made such a difference to us because in many hotels vegetarian options are a sort of an 'add-on'. But not here where they are imaginative and totally delicious. In addition, the staff in the restaurant are all very well-trained, friendly yet professional, efficient and observant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

booked 4 rooms for two nights to attend a christening. noise on the saturday night due to a wedding that was 50 feet away from our rooms really spoiled our first night. However the hotel is clean and the restaurant served well cooked value meals, the surroundings were excellent and i would stay here again. just make sure if there is a function on that you are moved to a quiter part of the hotel. music finished at midnight but other guests very noisey outside of room windows.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rochcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently for a friends. Just a little walk outside of Wakefield. Value for rooms were fantastic. Rooms very clean and spacious. Staff very friendly. Bar and restaurant downstairs were also brilliant. Food was fantastic and at a good price also. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Royrace9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a charming hotel you would not know where it is as it is hidden away from the main road covered by the trees. Not far from the center of wakefield. the room where very clean and so was the bathroom. A nice pub next door . When we left on the Saturday a Wedding was being held. IT cost £29 per room for a friday night a bargin.

Room Tip: I was on the bottom floor and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Although Wakefield is only an hour away from home I wanted to visit the Hepworth Gallery and Yorkshire Sculpture park. Also a trip to Ikea at Leeds and shopping in Wakefield Ridings centre. A lot to do in 3 days, plus it was our wedding anniversary. The hotel is set in a park, not very far from the city center. Lots of walks, plenty of wildlife, birds and bunny rabbits! The room was very comfortable, I asked for a disabled room and it was on the ground floor and everything was easily accessible. We ate all our meals at the hotel. The bar/restaurant is in what was obviously a very grand house, lots of interesting areas, plenty of tables outside. The food was delicious, and as the restaurant was busy I felt that it was very popular with the locals. I has a gorgeous fish pie and the best coffee ice cream ever. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order. Sadly the weather didn't allow us to get to the sculpture park but we did everything else. I would recommend this hotel and restaurant to anybody planning a trip to Wakefield.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
2.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Wakefield City North Hotel
0.8 mi away
York House Hotel
York House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Wakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Wakefield Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Wakefield Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Wakefield Central Hotel
Address: Denby Dale Road | Thornes Park, Wakefield WF2 8DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wakefield
#5 Family Hotel in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Wakefield Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal quiet location within easy reach of the M1 and M62. For shops and local amenities Wakefield city centre is only a 10 minute walk away. Conveniently situated for Wakefield Westgate train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Wakefield Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Wakefield Central Hotel Wakefield
Holiday Inn Wakefield
Wakefield Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing