We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pub food served in pleasant surroundings.”
Review of The Star Brasserie - CLOSED

The Star Brasserie
Price range: US$6 - US$35
Cuisines: Bar, British, French, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Star Brasserie and Bar is a welcoming and iconic established eatery near to the ruined medieval castle in Sandal Magna Wakefield. Sandal castle is best known for the famous Battle of Wakefield which was fought nearby in 1460 during the Wars of the Roses. Richard, Duke of York was killed in the battle. The Star Brasserie and Bar is a traditional and historical building which has been tastefully refurbished and is both smart and comfortable but which has retained a traditional village hostelry atmosphere and has become a focal point of the community. Our outstanding gastro menu changes regularly to reflect what is in season. We aim to provide you with an outstanding eating experience and pride ourselves with the selection of menu we offer. We take pride in our generous portions, the appearance and in the delivery of the food we serve. All of which is complimented in our cosy and atmospheric restaurant dining area. Most customers come here for the excellent food of which much of it is locally produced from nearby suppliers We have an appealing bar area with comfortable seating, a log burning stove and a changing selection of guest ales. You will receive a warm and friendly welcome, somewhere for the local's old and new to gather around and exchange banter, much the same as customers have done here for generations. The Star Brasserie and Bar is a perfect example of a cosy country pub, we endeavour to make your visit a happy one whether you are dining in our restaurant, eating in the bar area or calling in for a drink. Our reputation now and in the future is founded on providing and maintaining a customer service that exceeds our customers' expectations.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good pub food served in pleasant surroundings.”
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

Family Boxing Day meal for six ,waiter helpful friendly and attentive.Food presented nicely good quality large portions and not over priced not fine dining but overall pleasant place for a relaxed menu to suit most, will visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosanna94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    20
    19
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Another visit, Another great experience”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We visited again in November on a Saturday night. We had starters and a main with a bottle of house white.
The value was very good and the food spot on again.
Well done, keep it up.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattkbirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gem”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Ok, we're not talking Michelin stars, but it isn't as bad as some of the other reviews might have you think. Clearly, they have experimented with trying to change it from a pub to a restaurant (but still retaining a bit of the pub). And as some of the comments suggest, it maybe hasn't quite worked yet - so perhaps the owners will listen to the feedback and think about how to balance the two functions a bit better.

Where it really came good was the food. We have the sizzling tiger prawns to start, just the right amount of garlic and chillies. Sometimes, the prawns get lost in a sea of garlic and these didn't. The bread was crisp, warm and helped soak up the juices from the prawns well (I said it wasn't Michelin starred, and neither am I!).

But the real 'wow' came with the steak. Let's face it, if you live in wakefield, you have to go a long way to beat the steak from Blacker Hall. But this came very close. And the 'gimmick' of choosing just how thick you want it gets you really involved in personalising your own meal. The flavour was wonderful, it was cooked to perfection and the side dishes were great.

Overall then, service was good, the food fantastic, and the venue is probably a 'work in progress'. I really wish the new owners success - they are trying something different and if we get behind and support them, this could become a great addition to the many good restaurants in town. Or another casualty, if we don't.

Give it a try, with an open mind - you shouldn't be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WakefieldTricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We was last Saturday in Star Steak House.Food is so deliciouse,staff
Nice and kind.We will come back soon.Thank you for nice service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rybka2134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Poor service,food just average pub food”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This recent trip was our second since the relaunch.The food was average pub food and the service was poor.In trying to create a restaurant the pub has lost its pub atmosphere and in essence is now a very small pub with a restaurant that appears to have been created on the cheap without much thought.I would not recommend this pub/restaurant for food there are too many other excellent eateries in the locality -dont waste your money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rosesummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Star Brasserie also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing