We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does what it says on the tin”
Review of CitiLodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
CitiLodge Hotel
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Beverley
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

It's a City, budget hotel. And that's what it does, it's not the Ritz of the Hilton, but if you want a budget option for a city stay over it's as good as any rooms are standard fair, clean, although carpet was well 'used'. Would use again if I was paying another flying visit to Wakefield

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LestatDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Front Office Manager at CitiLodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest


Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    36
    30
    9
    23
See reviews for
20
35
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I came to see family and friends for a few days. I was trying to ask the lady on reception several questions and she didn't even acknowledge me she gave me a card for my room I at to ask what room it was she never stated. I was wanting breakfast but this never got offered so weatherspoons had my business I think this receptionist in question (tall young blonde haired lady) needs to learn that it's us customers that keep her in a job customer training needed in this hotel
Very unhappy customer will not be planning a return visit.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Warrachunky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wakefield hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have just returned from the Citilodge in Wakefield spending 2 nights whilst attending a show at The Snooty Fox (what a great venue), we travel all over the UK and most of the time stay in budget hotels, this one is by far the best we have stayed in for a long time. From the moment we arrived the reception staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us, the room was clean, warm, the bed was comfortable with great pillows (important to me) and a snuggly duvet. Breakfast was basic fare but it is nice to have a cooked meal to start the day and did the job for us (special mention to the nice lady who cooked us more bacon specially, now that is service!).

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody, and will be back in the future for any events I attend in Wakefield.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbighshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Time for some mother and daughter time in the city of Wakefield. Short walk to trinity walk shopping centre, with girly shops and places to dine.

Hotel was clean and well presented, good parking, room clean and presentable

Intend to return

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skipton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

An appalling experience - I was woken many times during the night by (drunk?) businessmen getting in after 1am ... one seemed to have lost his keys so the hotel staff came up to join in the party outside my bedroom door to sort him out. Really appalling. There seems to be no soundproofing at all - the drunk next door might as well have been sharing my room (yuck). Also, it's in a pretty unpleasant area of town. On checking out, I complained about the frequent disturbances and the hotel staff said that these men had turned up at 1 am and the only rooms were next to mine. If you are a business traveller, definitely avoid this place - it might be ok if you are just in town to get drunk and rowdy. As a professional woman on my own, I thought it was utterly dreadful. No refund either! Ugh.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ptskipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, General Manager at CitiLodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear ptskipton

I am sorry to hear that your stay with Citilodge Hotel was not a great experience for yourself.
Myself and the hotel team strive at all times to make every guests stay is as enjoyable as possible.
I am deeply sorry to hear that on this occasion we failed to meet yours and our expectations that we strive to achieve here at Citilodge hotel.
Please can I ask you to contact myself on 01924 200930 so I can help rectify the bad experience that you encountered at our hotel and to personally apologize for the negative experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

After staying here before when it was Travelodge the rooms aren't that much different but they are making changes to the front of house & it's looking very nice.
Greeted at reception & straight away they couldn't do enough to help. Top marks for a no frills stay but the staff did what they could to make it feel like a high end hotel. Will be staying again & I am interested to see breakfast next time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Secondbigtoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Recently visited the hotel and found it a pleasant experience.The staff on reception was very polite and helpful.

There is currently no food being served on site at the moment but that is in hand I was told however there is plenty of places to eat around within walking distance.

It is going through a current refurb but the rooms they have done recently are to a good standard and the price is very good beats everyone else in the area certainly would stay again

Room Tip: ask for the refurb rooms !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1111
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
0.4 mi away
York House Hotel
York House Hotel
#7 of 19 in Wakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stanley View Guest House
Stanley View Guest House
#12 of 19 in Wakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CitiLodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CitiLodge Hotel

Property: CitiLodge Hotel
Address: Lower Warrengate, Wakefield WF1 1SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — CitiLodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citilodge is an exciting new city centre hotel brand that has taken over the Travelodge in the centre of Wakefield. The CitiLodge hotel in Wakefield is aimed at providing a vibrant yet comfortable environment for the city centre traveller whether on business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your CitiLodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing