We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view”

Midgley Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Midgley Lodge Hotel
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed one night and arrived very late in the evening. We were greeted with a warm, relaxed welcome despite arriving very late after sightseeing all day. The room was HUGE as was the bathroom. We had an upstairs room which looked out onto the golf course and surrounding countryside - what a fantastic view. The bathroom looked a bit dated and I noted that one of the towels was a little frayed at the edge, but had a four piece bathroom with lots of room to spare, easily enough room for two people to get ready in the morning. The bed was very comfortable and the bedroom very clean. There was an easy to use enormous TV, iron, hairdryer and kettle in the room which is exceptional. The breakfast was very efficient but also relaxed. I actually had a PROPER teapot, not one of those ones that just about holds a very small cupful which was a lovely surprise, given I need at least a bucket load to get me going in the morning! More toast brought on request along with refreshed butter and jam/marmalade supplies. The staff were very friendly but also professional. We had a thoroughly enjoyable and comfortable stay here and would go back if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: An upstairs room will give you a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traipsing__tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Due to family being nearby we have stayed here twice a month for a few months now and, given some of the (in my opinion) rather unfair reviews, I've decided to add my comments.

Midgley Lodge is a small friendly hotel very close to Junction 38 & 39 of the M1. On the doorstep of the Yorkshire Mining Museum and the Yorkshire Sculpture Park. There is a golf course opposite (owned by the hotel) and a lively view from every room. The bar is open all day and will stay open after 9pm if there are a few people having a drink
They also serve great coffee!

Every member of staff we have ever met is friendly and couldn't be more helpful.

The rooms are very large. There's a selection of double and family rooms and, whilst a few have not yet been modernised, they are spotlessly clean, have a large flatscreen TV and coffee/tea making facilities. The linen is very good quality, clean and well pressed.

The breakfast is exceptionally good for the price and I can recommend the kippers!

If you're expecting the Ritz you won't find it here, but Midgley Lodge is great and superb value for money. You'd be hard pressed to find staff this friendly anywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights while visiting YSP and it is a lovely quiet little spot, very laid back and the people who work there are really friendly .Good sized breakfast in the morning. Perfect for a quiet drink outside by the golf course with views over the hills, comfy and chilled. they have free wifi and while it will not win any awards for its decor it doesn't matter, it's not a resort, it does what it needs to and I would definitely go back.
It made for a relaxing couple of days. Cheers!

Room Tip: if the weather is nice have your breakfast outside, it's great and the tv in the dining room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ash-nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

i stayed here for one night whilst visiting friends in the area,it was very easy to find and conveniently situated only a 5 min drive from the m1 motorway,the rooms and golf clubhouse bar look out over the golf course and it is a great view,the room itself was a double and very spacious with a very comfy bed and extremely clean,also a lovely big bathroom with separate bath and shower,also a large flatscreen tv with a good choice of channels and free wifi in the room,the only slight criticism i have is that breakfast is not included in the £64 room cost ,and was a £6 supplement,i would highly recommend staying here as a base for visiting the local area.

Room Tip: there is a bit of noise carry over from other adjoining rooms, so maybe ask for a first floor room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed on a quiet evening, attended a function at Bagden Hall. Comfortable room, big flatscreen on the wall. Decent value full english and a good pint of John Smiths here. Bathroom a little dated, but clean throughout. Friendly staff, competitive pricing - would stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RentonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent place. Would recommend this place highly. Good location. Great snacks available. Golf course on site.
Rooms are nice & clean with beautiful views. Bathroom nice & clean. Mattress very comfortable. Big LCD TV with sky sports. Free Wi-Fi

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Smoking81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have not stayed here ourselves because we live locally but have booked in family from the south and from the US and Ireland and all of them spoke well of this place. The rooms are fine the reception is exceptional and the venue is great . Do not hesitate to book this place

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakefield
2.8 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,440 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
787 reviews
5.8 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
York House Hotel
York House Hotel
#9 of 19 in Wakefield
267 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
937 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midgley Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midgley Lodge Hotel

Address: Bar Lane, Wakefield WF4 4JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Wakefield
Price Range: £62 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Midgley Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Midgley Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing