We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, interesting house but nothing special”
Review of Blorenge House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blorenge House
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OK, interesting house but nothing special”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Had a night at Blorenge house in a double room, its an interesting old building and a little worn out. Staff and greating was great, the room was a bit shabby and the shower cubicle was in the bedroom (very odd). The water was hot and the TV worked OK and as I was on business it was all acceptable, if I had of booked as part of a trip away with my wife I would have been very dissapointed! Its a good location and a short walk into the town centre, there was a bar but it was empty and closed but I wouldnt have wanted to drink there anyway. There was an OK pub over the road and a pizza express (very nice) just down the road.

To sum up, just about OK for a place to lay your head but not that pleasent and definately overpriced at £70, I would have valued it at £50 max. The breakfast was fine and staff very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    47
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
31
44
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Blorenge is almost a Fawlty Towers. I was greeted by someone who appeared to be just out of bed and quite bored/ irritated by my arrival which was on time and as planned. The room was tiny and unpleasant and the shower room a miracle of engineering with a sink sightly larger than a soup bowl and if I was two stone heavier I would not have been able to sit on the loo, the walls of the so called en suite shower room were so close together!
The furnishings in the room were all cheap and nasty. The TV and controller didnt work and breakfast was average. The room it was served in was very flash though.
This unpleasant experience cost me more than some hotels. I will not be recommending it to anyone except perhaps TVs Hotel inspector as actually the place has potential and the people working there need to be enjoying what they are doing.

Room Tip: I dont recommend this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottishji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We had a family room on the top floor which was reached via a narrow staircase. The room itself was very good. Large with ensuite shower and basin and toilet. The kids had a seperate single bed each as oppossed to a pull out sofa bed and there was comfortably room for all four of us. Our room was decorated in a modern style and was very comfortable.
The rest of the hotel was however like something out of the 1970's. There was a sort of musty smell on the ground floor and the decor needed serious updating. There was a hotel lounge with a TV but nobody appeared to go in there (probably no one has been in for twenty years!) .
The breakfast room was of similar vintage and decor and it did remind me slightly of Fawlty Towers. There is even a moose head hanging on one of the landings and various other heads of dead animals elsewehere on the ground floor. All we needed was the major and a couple of old ladies!
However as mentioned above the family room we had was great and comfortable. So the hotel is ideal as somewhere to base yourselves when visiting the local area.. The breakfast was OK - not spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipey68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

I have stayed at the Blorenge before, choosing this B & B mainly for its location. It is within easy walking distance from the town centre & shops & restaurants. The rooms were absolutely excellent, with seemingly new shower/basin/toilet fittings. Everything was spotless. However, for the price paid, I would look for those little extras: tissues, shampoo, a biscuit on the tea tray.
The lounge is dated & tired looking - could be a lovely room with the right decor. As in many hotels, my room was quite gloomy and ill-lit at night when I wanted to read.
Having said that, I slept well, as did my companion in a separate room - the beds were very comfortable.
Suspect that the high charges are paying for the extensive building work taking place. Might stay there again - will check the prices elsewhere before deciding, though.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, U.k.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

This hotel is in an old house but my room was spotlessly clean, the staff welcoming and there was freeview TV available. My bed was also solid and I had a good nights sleep.
The location is only a couple of minutes walk from the town centre and only about 5 minutes from the train station making it very well placed.

Those wanting newspapers or a massive breakfast selection will have to look elsewhere. There was the standard cereal and juice choices along with tea or coffee and toast. Also offered was a full english breakfast. I had all of the above and throughly enjoyed it!

Although the Blorenge House is in a dated building, I found that as I don't drive, being close to the train station and the town center was a real bonus. I have stayed in places that have offered the same for less, but it was still a fine experience with no real complaints to be made and all the staff (I think it's family run) were all very pleasant and polite.

PROs:

*Very close to the town and train station (if you are visiting the Brewhouse Arts Centre like I was it is under a five minute walk away)

*Polite and curtious staff

*Spotless room

*Nice and quiet at night

CONs:

*Looks dated (But I don't really care about that)

*Not a lot of breakfast choice (but I still enjoyed mine)

*Although everything was ok, I would still consider it to be a little pricey - especially compared to hotel chains

*No bar, room service, fitness centre or anything like that

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dangermousetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2008

No newspapers, No bar, breakfast very ordinary, could probably have got better in a cafe! Over priced.
No hairdryer in room, room basement and dark.
Beautiful building under used . We chose this hotel thinking it would make a very special weekend even more so. Would have been better off in a travel lodge at least we would not have been disapointed.

  • Liked — The outside of the building
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haggiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

Found this B&B via Taunton tourist website - very disappointed. We've stayed at numerous B&Bs in the UK over the past year or so (attending weddings), and Blorenge is most expensive establishment we've stayed in. It was clean, but other than that, very disappointing. Breakfast was very basic - for £82 a night you expect a little more than cornflakes, tired fruit and nasty 'value' sausages! Decor was very outdated with unhygienic 80s style upholstered bedhead and bedside table. Most telling of all, the visitor's book was peppered with large patches of tippex where staff have clearly tried to erase negative comments from visitors...

Verdict: overpriced and extremely underwhelming. Even our taxi driver told us it had a poor reputation locally.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
644 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
798 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
137 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blorenge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blorenge House

Property: Blorenge House
Address: 57-59 Staplegrove Road, Taunton TA1 1DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Taunton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#5 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blorenge House 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blorenge House offers sumptuous four star accommodation in the heart of Taunton. Situated within a five minute walk to the town centre, we are also in close proximity to Somerset County Cricket Ground and Taunton Railway Station. Blorenge House also offers contemporary two bedroom serviced apartments which are ideal for anyone looking for accommodation over an extended period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blorenge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blorenge Hotel Taunton
Blorenge House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing