We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay for central Taunton”
Review of Blorenge House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blorenge House
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here for the Rod Stewart concert, wanted a hotel close to the venue which was the Somerset Cricket Ground. Hotel is clean, well run and even has a swimming pool in the garden to relax with. So if you plan to visit Taunton for the cricket or other events, then this is a great place to stay at a very reasonable cost, especially when breakfast and free wifi are included.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room at the back to avoid any potential traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for the Rod Stewart concert on 18/6/14.
Perfect location, 10 mins walk from the arena, no hassle with shuttles. Easy parking.
Hotel has a lot of character and was clean and fresh - George was the perfect host.
Could perhaps do with a little modernisation, esp the en-suites (a comment, not a criticism)
Would definitely stay again if in the area. Even Rod would appreciate it!
Free wifi a definite plus.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 7 - has a modern four poster bed and en-suite, facing the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennySJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Booked in to this lovely place and the reason was the cost, I booked into a single room that was not on suite and had breakfast and it cost under £60 for the night. The room was clean and smelt fresh with the normal stuff in the bedrooms, plenty of tea and coffee and a free view TV. There was also a free WIFI (always a bargain) and free use of the swimming pool that is on site. The staff were friendly, helpful and very pleasent from the moment i arrived to the moment i left and i would like to thank them for making my stay more pleasant. Breakfast was a chioce of Juices toast preserves and cereals (help your self) you then could choose from the cooked menu either full english or bits of to suit your taste along with a good vegetarian choice as well. This was well cooked and served with a smile. I was offered and took a refill of the teapot. Dining hall was clean tidy and serivice was prompt. In the rooms there is plenty of information of places to eat visit and do when in the area. There was plenty of people there from the reunion i was attending and all these spoke highly of the place. I will be using again and thank you for the service etc that i was given. There are other choices of rooms available at this wonderful place from 4 poster beds and holiday apartments.

Room Tip: Room to the rear may be quieter but all rooms are double glazed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swanseasailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our family of 4 stayed in the new-looking self-catering apartments May 2014. The 2-bed apartment is in a block of 3-4 at the end of the main house, so separate from everyone else. No. 7 on first floor has;
- lovely [well kitted-out] kitchen / diner / lounge with balcony (inc breakfast table / chairs) overlooking rear gardens
- twin bedroom with small single beds & wardrobe
- bathroom with WC, bath & good shower
- utility closet wi boiler, iron & ironing board, vacuum cleaner
- main bedroom with double, large wardrobe, small sofa

You could happily live in this apartment, it's got everything you need and everything is very new & in great condition.

If I was being very picky the only thing I could possibly criticise is that one set of curtains in the lounge don't work properly, but that's just splitting hairs; it's a lovely place to stay and Phill, the proprietor, was very helpful via email. I'd happily take my family there again.

Room Tip: Apartment #7 has the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank dtgorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Nice hotel, clean, simple, great breakfast. Overall great value as went for single room without en-suite. Including breakfast and free wi-fi it was fine. Location is very handy for walking into town, and there's loads of easy access parking.

Room Tip: One tip for room 14 is don't leave the window open when it's raining as the drip drip will k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsealby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Only had a one night stay for my husbands special birthday on the 17th May 2014 at Blorenge House in the Honeymoon Suite, but it was a shame it wasn't longer. I certainly recommend staying here, our room was very clean, tidy, lovely decor and spacious. The staff were very friendly and for breakfast you had a choice of toast and jam, various cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit and full English. Vegetarian option was also available. I had the full English but I did hear someone ask or poached eggs on toast with beans which was done with no problems at all. I will certainly recommend Blorenge House in future :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank murphynjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a lovely hotel with character, my room was large, and very clean, the bed was comfy and the room quiet, essential for a busy days work ahead. Free wifi compliments the stay. Very good breakfast, ample parking and easy walking distance into town. It had everything I needed for a successful trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALT8566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
693 reviews
5.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
0.6 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#15 of 17 in Taunton
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blorenge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blorenge House

Address: 57-59 Staplegrove Road, Taunton TA1 1DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Taunton
#5 Family Hotel in Taunton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: £104 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blorenge House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blorenge House offers delightful 4 star accommodation in the heart of Somerset’s county town: Taunton. Conveniently situated within a five minute walk from Taunton town centre, the early Victorian residence is also in close proximity to the railway station, Somerset County Cricket Club and Taunton School. Set in its own grounds, the property includes an outdoor swimming that guests can use exclusively during the summer months. There is also ample car parking at the front of the building; and complimentary Wi-Fi can be accessed anywhere on the premises. Blorenge House includes 16 beautiful, individually appointed bedrooms and apartments, and is the ideal place to stay on your visit to Taunton, Somerset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Blorenge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blorenge Hotel Taunton
Blorenge House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing