We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and friendly smile meets you at catwell house!”
Review of Catwell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catwell House
Ranked #4 of 53 Taunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Thank you so much for making us welcome and for all your great advice! Breakfast was smashing just what we needed after a wedding. Hope you see you again soon...

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2011

The directions on the web site were good and we felt very welcome from the first moment. The room was lovely and exactly as it looks on the web site. Breakfasts were superb. We received lots of useful advice on local sites from Becca. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Enjoy - it's a real find!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtokyo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

What a warm welcome you get from both Ross and Becca,

Very knowledgeable about the local area, with the Quantocks and the best places locally to have a meal out.

The bed we slept in was one of the most comfortable beds I think I have ever slept in.

The most wonderfull full english breakfasts, eaten in your time, no rush.

This place is far more personal than the average run of the mill bed and breakfast, very peacefull surroundings and full of character.

Room Tip: Take Ross and Beccas advice on where to eat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

From our arrival Ross and Becca were fantastic hosts, arranging a table the night we arrived and cabs to ferry us to a wedding we were attending.

The room was very clean with ensuite and probably one of the most comfortable beds in the world!

As for breakfast, there is cereal, yogurt and fruit to start with followed by either a full english or smoke salmon and scrambled eggs. We both had the full english and it was excellent and with proper sausages, bacon the works. Plus plenty of toast to go with it!

This is a real hidden gem and very good rates to go with what is fantastic service. We will definitely be staying here again when we travel that way to visit family.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Railroad_Flyer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We received an instantly warm and friendly welcome. The open log fire was already burning half a tree and tea and coffee were offered immediately.
We opted for the four poster room which was very quaint but spacious, and the linens were fresh and clean with massive fluffy towels.
Breakfast in the morning was everything you could hope for - lean locally sourced meat, eggs as you choose and a host of cereals, fruit and yoghurt. They seem to be able to cater to any taste, and do so without qualm.
Lastly Ross and Rebecca were excellent at recommending good local places to eat, places to visit and things to see and do. They were able to book local tables ensuring great service, and it was much appreciated. It definitely took the stress out of everything and made it a very relaxed and enjoyable stay that we hope to repeat soon.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chyvartonkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

A wonderful welcome from the friendly hosts, lovely rooms, excellent breakfast, just the job for our purposes.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianHollander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

My husband and I enjoyed a short break here.It was a fantastic stay.From the moment we arrived the hospitality and service was superb. The accomodation was lovely and so comfortable.We found the location was so central for many places to visit and restaurants to nosh at. We plan to go back in the non too distant future. Ross and Rebecca were perfect hosts.Even the cats and dogs play their roles with excellent manners.Thankyou to all!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahandoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
18.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
14.5 mi away
Langaller Manor House
Langaller Manor House
#2 of 53 in Taunton
165 reviews
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#16 of 17 in Taunton
399 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
697 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catwell House

Address: Catwell House Catwell, Taunton TA4 4PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range: £103 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catwell House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17Th-century Country House, retaining many original features including log-fires. Nestling between the Quantocks and Exmoor with views of open countryside. Sylvan setting in peaceful location on village edge, Catwell House is bordered by stream and open pasture. Secluded, yet all village amenities within 5 minutes walk. West Somerset Railway station in village and immediate access to the Quantock Hills and Beach via footpaths. ALL EN-SUITE ROOMS with Wireless broadband, Freeview Digital TV, DVD, Radio, CD, Hospitality tray.Mini Fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Catwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catwell House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing