We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catwell House
Nearby Hotels
US$111
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$140
US$134
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$170
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$158
US$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Taunton East(Taunton)(Great Value!)
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
151
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
151
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmasons armsst audriesbeautiful houseb bdogs and catsgrand pianolovely hostsold housespacious bathroomfeel completely at homewest somersetopen firehome from homeyogurtbreakfast was deliciousa wonderful place to stayall mod cons
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We really enjoyed our stay, the house is just gorgeous and Ross and Becca are lovely. Lots of lovely walks and scenery on their doorstep too. We will definitely stay again if the need arises for us to be in the area. Thank you again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPSauce76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

My partner and I stayed at Catwell House as we had a wedding at St Audries and the location was very good. The room we stayed in (the monksilver) had a lovely, comfortable large bed and an ensuite shower. The setting of Catwell House is lovely, very peaceful and we had an excellent night sleep. There are a lot of animals (cats, dogs, chickens) but they kept themselves to themselves and didn't make much noise. The breakfast was excellent, cooked to order and really tasty. The only downside we found was that the TV reception in our room was very poor, we basically could only get BBC1 and that kept breaking up. Overall, a really lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBipswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Myself, my husband and 5 of our friends spent a lovely weekend here. We'd been invited to a wedding at St. Audries Park, and we wanted to all stay together. Well, Catwell House not only allowed us to all stay together, but also in incredibly comfortable surroundings.

Location wise, it's close to Minehead and Taunton. It's at the end of a country lane, with a decent pub nearby! Stunning scenary, and a real feel that we had escaped the 'rat race' of London!!!

My hubby and me stayed in a HUGE super king bed, with adjoining en-suite shower room. The breakfasts were great too- freshly cooked to order!! The lounge area was perfect for congregating.

We're planning a return trip in October!!

Thanks to Ross and Becca for their outstanding hospitality!

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
1  Thank pennypoptart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We spent a lovely week here walking through the surrounding countryside. We couldn't have asked for a nicer spot or a friendlier couple to be our hosts. The room was cozy and comfortable and the house-with its 400 years of history-truly felt special. Our bedroom window overlooked green fields with flocks of sheep. The large en suite bath included a soaking tub, which was a wonderful way to end the day after a long hike. Breakfast was cooked from fresh local produce and will be sadly missed. We hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Echion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

we had a great time in Catwell House. It's a beautiful place with access to lovely walks right in front of the House. We visited in the lambing season and saw all the baby lambs! The owners are lovely, and really helpful. They advised us on restaurants that would be open as we stayed there Easter weekend, and they booked us a table at a great fish restaurant nearby. Breakfast was delicious also.

The only downside is that we were surprised that the bathrooms are on a timer rather than being a power shower/electric heated. Trying to have a shower late at night proved not to be a good idea and rather cold...

However this is a minor issue and the owners really go out of their way to help you. We left something at the House and didn't even realise- they posted it back to us at their own expense!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muslimah28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews