We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for relaxing in comfortable and peaceful surroundings”
Review of Catwell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catwell House
Ranked #4 of 53 Taunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We stayed at this lovely B and B whilst attending a family wedding nearby. After the stress of a working week it was a relief to be warmly welcomed by the friendly owners Becca and Ross and in no time we were able to relax. Our party occupied 4 bedrooms; all different and beautifully appointed. Breakfast was superb and hearty and set us up for the day ahead. We would love to return on another occasion to explore the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annett7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2010

Our hosts could not be more charming, friendly and helpful during our walking holiday. Lovely,comfortably furnished house at the end of a quiet road. Perfect for a weekend or, like us, a week. Some very good pubs and restaurants within a few miles drive. Weather great too!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pemmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

My daughter and I stayed in the twin room which was spacious and the beds were comfortable. It had its own en suite. One problem, very high step to get into the shower.
Crisp white cotton sheets and very soft white towels.
Rebecca and Ross were very welcoming.
Full english breakfast was cooked very fresh. Plenty of toast and fresh fruit.
My son and daughter in law stayed in a double room that was so spacious and comfortable.
Well worth a visit. 5* all the way. They have large log fires which I should imagine would be very cosy in the winter.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragonscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

My friend & I stayed here for one night this past week and really enjoyed our stay. A very warm welcome from our hosts and we were made to feel at home stgraight away. We stayed in a twin room called Monksilver and it was spotlessly clean, nice little touches in the room and our shower room was a great size. Breakfast was stunning, so much choice to eat and we even got to choose the time we wanted breakfast. Ross and his wife were really lovely people and their country house is very peaceful and relaxing plus their cats and dogs were as equally freindly. I would stay here again without hesitation, a great find in a peaceful location with beautiful views.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeca69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We had Catwell House recommended to us as we were attending a near-by wedding and we can't thank them enough!! On arrival, we were greeted by the owners, Ross & Rebecca, who were extremely friendly and always happy to help and they remained this way throughout the entire stay. The rooms were beautifully presented, the grounds made for an excellent walk and the breakfasts were particurlarly special.

A beautiful old farm house, transformed into a truely excellent B&B, Catwell House caters for all tastes and we would highly recommend it to anyone staying in the area (or even as a reason to go to Somerset!!). We had an absolutely perfect weekend and will not hesitate to go back!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

My wife and I have stayed at Catwell almost every month for the last 18 months visiting my dad in a local nursing home and strongly recommend it, even for a lengthy stay. The owners are extremely welcoming and friendly and are a font of local advice and knowledge. All of it sound.
They provide an excellent breakfast combing both a buffet and cooked elements. It is all fresh and delicious. Properly setting you up for the day. Breakfast is at a long table with other guests and we have had many enjoyable discussions with other guests - but you don't have to join in, great fun if you do though!
The sitting room with log fires and comfortable chairs is available throughout the stay with wine glasses for that later eveing drink, chat or a read.
All the rooms - stayed in all over the time - are clean, comfortable, quiet and warm, with facilities such as a tea tray, trouser press, iron, and en suit. The whole house and rooms are full of the most interesting heirlooms.
The house is set at the end of an accessible lane with views across fields and to the Quantocks. The front garden is available with chairs and tables when the weather allows.
Evening meals are not a problem in Williton with a number of places within ten minutes or less walking distance. As ever the places vary as the ownership changes but currently the Indian and the Masons Arms are really excellent both in quality and value. Catwell's owners will keep you informed of any changes and other places to eat.
For us it is a literal home from home and a place that encourages relaxation, enjoyable conversation and the good things of country life and is good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandVWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

From the start the Ross and Becca were amazing, had great directions and found them very easily. Catwell house is a beautiful place set in the rolling hills of Somerset. We stayed here for a long weekend as a friend got married in St Audries, really easy to get to from here...with Ross even offering to take us over and pick up our car the next day. We had Monksilver room which was wonderful and has the biggest bed i have ever seen....slept like a dream over the two nights. The breakfasts were to die for, anything you wanted; fruit / cereal / fry up - one morning i had scrambled eggs with salmon!!!

I would definitely go back and only wish we could have stayed longer...fab fab place i couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMR_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
18.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
13.6 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
677 reviews
12.6 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#8 of 17 in Taunton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
14.5 mi away
Langaller Manor House
Langaller Manor House
#2 of 53 in Taunton
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catwell House

Address: Catwell House Catwell, Taunton TA4 4PF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range: £103 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catwell House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17Th-century Country House, retaining many original features including log-fires. Nestling between the Quantocks and Exmoor with views of open countryside. Sylvan setting in peaceful location on village edge, Catwell House is bordered by stream and open pasture. Secluded, yet all village amenities within 5 minutes walk. West Somerset Railway station in village and immediate access to the Quantock Hills and Beach via footpaths. ALL EN-SUITE ROOMS with Wireless broadband, Freeview Digital TV, DVD, Radio, CD, Hospitality tray.Mini Fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Catwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catwell House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing