We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canonsgrove Farm Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$110
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$139
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$170
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Taunton East(Taunton)(Great Value!)
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
14
5
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
5
0
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 21 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2011

From the moment we arrived, we loved being at Canonsgrove Farm. Lin and Colin are so busy running the farm yet could not have done more to make us feel welcome. The bedroom was ideally set up for a young family, the children's end being separated with a part dividing wall so that they are nicely in the dark while adults can still have the light on, watch television etc at the other end of the room. We felt the perfect mix of being very well looked after, but left to our own independence too. With a lovely woodburning stove and cosy sitting room for B&B guests at the foot of the private staircase to the two rooms available, it was the perfect set up. There are even a few boardgames and children's activities to play with if you want to stay indoors. We very much enjoyed exploring the farm and our daughter (age 4) was thrilled to be invited to collect the eggs from Lin's chickens and to visit the two remaining turkeys (we visited just after Christmas!) and calves. We were visiting relatives near Taunton, hence our midwinter visit, but to see this place in spring or summer would be lovely. I would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable and extremely welcoming west country B&B.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robbieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2009

My husband and I stayed at this farmhouse B&B (dairy farm) for 3 nights in May and I think I enjoyed it more than any other B&B i've ever been to. The owners really make the time enjoyable. They will do all they can to help you and are a real pleasure just to chat to.

We stayed in a room with one double bed and a single which has it's own bathroom. The room was reasonably large and had plenty of cupboards and drawers though no desk (not that we ever wanted one) and also a TV and tea/coffee tray. The bathroom is quite small but well set up that it doesn't really matter. It is one room with the shower just in the room rather than a seperate cubicle and you just pull a shower curtain across the wooden door and toilet roll to stop them getting wet while you shower. Might sound strange but actually it gives you more space than other places where everything is separated.

The breakfast is served around one big table and if there are other guests having breakfast at the same time you may be all seated at the same table. Lin and Colin will check if you are happy with this first though and if you prefer some privacy they will serve your breakfast at a different time to other guests. The breakfast is very hearty, full English and there is thick toast, preserves and cereal provided as well as tea, coffee and juice with milk fresh from the cows or UHT if you prefer.

I really liked the building as it's a lovely original building with lots of delightful quirks like wobbly ceilings and an enormous fireplace in the breakfast room. We were around one afternoon while the cows were being milked and got to watch some of it which was an treat for mostly-city folk. When we arrived there was no answer to the doorbell but a wander around the farm buildings adjacent found Colin at work, but more than happy to see us.

There is a very good selection of brochures provided about things to do if you are at a loose end.

One point to note though is that this is probably a location where you need a car. I'm not sure where the nearest public transport is and I don't know how we would have spent our days without a car (unless you want just go walking in which case I'm sure there would be lots of nice walks from the door). but I think this is the case for much of countryside UK.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LondonDanielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We have stayed with Lin and Colin a couple of times now on our way down to Cornwall. They have so much to do with running the farm and B&B, but nothing is too much trouble for them - the rooms are comfortable and clean, and the breakfast is excellent, but the best thing is the welcome. We'll be back there in June - rather than just a 'stop off' it's now part of our holiday when we go down South.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebarons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2008

This bed and breakfast was amazing! I went with 2 other girl mates for a relaxing weekend just before Christmas and we definitely had that.

Lin and Colin were great, nothing was too much trouble including showing us around the farm, which we asked to see after having fresh milk every morning. The breakfast was a lovely fry up including an egg from their own chickens.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to stay in or around Taunton or as a stop over on the journey further south.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMP_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews