We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”
Review of Lowdens House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taunton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lowdens House
Ranked #23 of 55 Taunton B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

1 nights stay on business.
Clean, good bed, shower a little weak but I was on the top floor.
No complaints .5 mins walk from the town centre.
Good breakfast. Nice staff.
Would recommend and definitly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ponsaloti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    21
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
13
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Dagenham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Nice little place, bed was comfy & clean, shower needs some attention, I had it on full and it only just dribbled out, any less and it would proberbly suck the water back up.
Excellent breakfast. This is a no thrills clean, warm and friendly place to stay, very nice people and only 2 mins walk to the town center.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DagenhamSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We only stayed here one night to break up an otherwise lengthy journey elsewhere. We were unfamiliar with Taunton but were pleased with our choice of Lowdens' House. The Tesco closeby enabled us to conveniently buy things for our onward journey and we were near to the river by which we had a pleasant walk. A lovely park within easy walking distance with some unexpected sunshine was a bonus.

We were made to feel very welcome even though our stay was a short one. The breakfast was wonderful and cooked to perfection. From this aspect, we were sorry to be moving on.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank brijill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Very convenient location to town (via carpark across from Tesco's) and National Express bus station 5-10 mins walk max and also Musgrove Park Hospital (5 mins walk) and of course - Tesco's across the road for supplies! Great to have microwave available for guests with plates and cutlery for a late Tesco meal. Very handy for a late dinner after the 6-8pm hospital visiting hours! Breakfast was excellent - not only an English cooked breakfast - all or your choice, but cereal, yoghurt, fruit, croissants etc - great start to the day!!
Our room was number 8 - up 32 stairs, located at the front with the window - low roof but spacious with small tv, chair, 2 single comfy beds and low storage with drawers either side and kettle with Tea / coffee supplies - replenished daily with a kit/kat or twitz bar!!
A bit confused about when the room was serviced and when towels / bath mat /hand towel were replaced.... not a daily change....not advised!
Ensuite bathroom was fine - individual hot water service in shower and sink. Very low pressure but hot water for shower was fine. Clean, bright and spacious.
Very convenient to Musgrove Park hospital - 5 mins walk max.
Safe parking at front for 1 or 2 cars - many spaces at rear (around the corner - opposite Tesco)
Excellent to have internet access - wifi - no hassles!!
Stayed nearly 3 weeks while Mother was in hospital - owners not particularly interested in our situation or very friendly - but polite and amiable.
Would certainly recommend - for price, facilities and convenient location!!

Room Tip: Nice view from front rooms but traffic noise if window left open! 32 stairs to top floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank W D S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Very friendly, helpful owners and located a convenient 5 mins walk from town. Comfortable bed, nice breakfast and ample parking. A couple of points...the en suite was a bit tired and some cosmetic changes would make a big difference to the look and feel of the room. Function wise, the bedroom was fine but again the decor didn't overly impress compared to other similar priced b&b's we've stayed in. Overall though, a good budget b&b but with potential to be brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurasaurasrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We had a very positive experience staying at Lowdens House, from start to finish. Booking on line was easy and followed up with a personal email. We rceived a very warm welcome. Our room was pleasant and quiet and newly decorated with a good-sized bathroom. We had an excellent cooked breakfast and were able to walk to the centre of town in less than 10 minutes. Any time we are in Taunton, we shall certainly stay at Lowdens House.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidaymakerX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

My collegues and i are working in the Taunton area for the next few months, After a few disappointing experiences to say the least concerning accommodation, i am pleased to say we have found in the Lowden house hotel. a small family run business which offers nice clean accommodation and good service. although a small hotel with only a few room available it is in a good position for local attractions and the motorway network. it offers b&b accomodation but, the owers do cater for guests like myself who leave early for work by, providing extra facilaties for self service breakfast in the dining room. the rooms are clean and comfortable with en suite facilities. Tv and tea/coffee makeing in all rooms with free wi fi iand internet access also available to all guests

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agoul5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
5.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowdens House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowdens House

Property: Lowdens House
Address: 26 Wellington Road, Taunton TA1 4EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lowdens House offers comfortable accommodation within walking distance of Taunton town centre. All rooms are en suite and have televisions and tea and coffee making facilities, and there is free parking and wifi. Room only or breakfast included rates are available and, for other meals, Taunton's many restaurants are close by and there is a microwave in the dining room if guests prefer to eat in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lowdens House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing