We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and wonderful welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lowdens House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taunton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lowdens House
Ranked #18 of 55 Taunton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value and wonderful welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

While it was only a brief stay, I was made to feel very welcome by the woman who greeted me at Lowdens House. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was lovely, and the price was very reasonable. I was staying for a local wedding and there was plenty of information available about taxis and it was conveniently located to the town centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BennCordrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    20
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
13
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Athlone
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and myself have just spent 3nights in Lowdens. It's in a great location in Taunton about 7mins walk to the centre of town. Our room was on the first floor at the front of the house. Admittedly the traffic outside was very noisy but closing the window blocks out the noise. The room was very cosy with plenty of space. The bed was very comfortable with good cotton sheets and lovely puffy pillows. The bathroom was spotless with an excellent shower although the cubicle was a bit tight. Very clean accomodation. Lovely touches with tissues by the bed chocolate bars along with the tea making tray and soap and shower gel in the bathroom. Breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit (strawberries/ raspberries/bananas) cereals, yogurts, and a good selection of cooked breakfasts also catering well for vegetarians. The sausages were gorgeous. In all its a lovely B&b and the couple who own it are more than helpful and it's great value. Plenty of parking at the back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Spent one night at Lowdens House over the weekend. We were in one of the attic rooms, which was quite small and quite hot - but then so would most places be at the moment! It was also quite noisy as the road is busy and we had to keep the velux window open because of the heat! But the room was very clean and pleasant, great for a short break. The hosts were friendly, and helpfully let us stay on a bit longer in the morning without any trouble, and then let us leave our car in the car park, while we went into town to get some lunch. Very close to town centre.

Room Tip: Attic room we stayed in was small and faced the road, which is busy - Back of house and first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Somerset_Tuckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed 2 nights over the Bank holiday weekend. Jane was very helpful both before we arrived, and during our stay. Everything was clean and. although on the A38, we didnt notice any traffic noise. Plenty of parking and good breakfast. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FourCats_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

This place is run by very nice people .Nice quite location. As for the breakfasts a five star hotel should have a look how's its done. I was staying for 4 days would highly recommend this b&b . and would definately stay again if I was ever in taunton again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frankieboy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Lowdens is located 5-10 mins walk from the town centre. It has a private car park. I found Jane professional and helpful both when booking over the phone and throughout my stay. I arrived at 11.00hrs and had previously asked if we could drop off our bags. Jane had said we would probably even be able to access our room and this was the case. It was so helpful to sort our luggage and take a few minutes rest before heading out. The twin bedroom faced the rear and had good firm beds, two good pillows per bed and clean, crisp bedlinen. There was a good kettle, biscuits and tea/coffee/hot chocolate. The bathroom is in need of a refit and the shower had very low pressure. However, at this price point, it was acceptable. The towels were good quality. I slept very well and had a lovely breakfast. They serve Eggs Benedict, pancakes, full English, fresh fruit, cereals and juices. Tasty coffee, too! Jane kindly lent me a hair dryer and Sellotape while I was there and let me use the room until 11.30hrs, which was very helpful. This is a lovely B&B that delivers above its price point. I paid just £60 for 2 people in a twin room with breakfast. Amazing value,a comfortable stay and a charming host in Jane.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KParkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Stayed here as the second overnight stop on a cycle tour of the West Country Way. Was prompted to book it due to close proximity to the route. Our room was up in the eaves of the loft conversion so I had to be careful sitting up in bed as not much headroom. Apart from this the room was comfortable and clean. The shower was a bit snug even for someone of average height and build. But its only to de-stink after a days riding after all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
5.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowdens House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowdens House

Property: Lowdens House
Address: 26 Wellington Road, Taunton TA1 4EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lowdens House offers comfortable accommodation within walking distance of Taunton town centre. All rooms are en suite and have televisions and tea and coffee making facilities, and there is free parking and wifi. Room only or breakfast included rates are available and, for other meals, Taunton's many restaurants are close by and there is a microwave in the dining room if guests prefer to eat in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lowdens House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing