We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value Guest House”
Review of Lowdens House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lowdens House
Ranked #27 of 53 Taunton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed three nights with friends for cricket match. All ensuite rooms clean and comfortable with TV and tea and coffee-making facilities. Plenty of off-road parking, great breakfast and friendly landlady. 5 minutes walk from town centre and ten from cricket. Great value.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear possibly quieter with regard to traffic but no real problem as windows double-glazed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Excellent BandB close to town centre and all of the attractions!, the lady there was really nice and couldn't do enough for you!, nice breakfast, perfect stay, highly recommended!, definitely go back to stay again :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valleylad86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here whilst working away I cannot recommend Lowdens enough. From the minute you book in you're made to feel very welcome. The rooms are very well maintained and are spotlessly clean. The choice and quality of breakfast is very good, and gives you a good start to the day.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A friend and I stayed here when we came down from Bedfordshire to watch a game at Taunton Rugby Club. The room was spacious, clean and the tea/coffee facilities were most welcome. Went out in the evening and Taunton is a lovely town where everyone was friendly. Would recommennd Taunton and this B&B.
The landlady was weloming, friendly, & genuine, and the breakfast was lovely.
Will definateky stay there again.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room was good (and quiet), didn't see other rooms but can only imagine thay are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CP75CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed in Lowdens for two nights with my three children; rooms homely and comfortable, great breakfast, easy to find with good car parking. Hosts welcoming, however traffic noise is a slight negative, hence four stars not five

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loulou933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

While it was only a brief stay, I was made to feel very welcome by the woman who greeted me at Lowdens House. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was lovely, and the price was very reasonable. I was staying for a local wedding and there was plenty of information available about taxis and it was conveniently located to the town centre.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BennCordrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and myself have just spent 3nights in Lowdens. It's in a great location in Taunton about 7mins walk to the centre of town. Our room was on the first floor at the front of the house. Admittedly the traffic outside was very noisy but closing the window blocks out the noise. The room was very cosy with plenty of space. The bed was very comfortable with good cotton sheets and lovely puffy pillows. The bathroom was spotless with an excellent shower although the cubicle was a bit tight. Very clean accomodation. Lovely touches with tissues by the bed chocolate bars along with the tea making tray and soap and shower gel in the bathroom. Breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit (strawberries/ raspberries/bananas) cereals, yogurts, and a good selection of cooked breakfasts also catering well for vegetarians. The sausages were gorgeous. In all its a lovely B&b and the couple who own it are more than helpful and it's great value. Plenty of parking at the back

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
0.6 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#15 of 17 in Taunton
198 reviews
0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
845 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heathercroft B&B
Heathercroft B&B
#17 of 53 in Taunton
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowdens House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowdens House

Address: 26 Wellington Road, Taunton TA1 4EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range: £45 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lowdens House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lowdens House offers comfortable accommodation within walking distance of Taunton town centre. All rooms are en suite and have televisions and tea and coffee making facilities, and there is free parking and wifi. Room only or breakfast included rates are available and, for other meals, Taunton's many restaurants are close by and there is a microwave in the dining room if guests prefer to eat in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lowdens House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowdens House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing