We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lowdens House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taunton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lowdens House
Ranked #21 of 56 Taunton B&B and Inns
York, UK
Level Contributor
479 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Great Owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were attending a wedding in Taunton and enquired to see if they would have three rooms available for mid-day. This would allow to check-in and get changed before the wedding.

The owners obliged and they were actually ready at 11:30.

The rooms were nice - although the en-suites were rather small.

Some of the decor lets it down. In places the paint is so thin that you can see through it. The breakfast room seemed rather basic as well.

However, there were fresh strawberries and raspberries at breakfast - which we thought was a nice touch and the cooked breakfast was tasty.

I was tempted to rate Lowdens House as "Average" but gave it "Very Good" as the proprietors excelled with their friendliness and helpfulness.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    21
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
13
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in Lowdens House recently for one week. I don't think we could have chosen better. Very comfortable, firm beds. Friendly, accommodating host. Thanks, Jane! Room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Lovely extra touch of chocolate biscuits to go with the tea / coffee in room. Plenty of car parking spaces and within walking distance of town. What more could anybody want? We're looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrettsK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This stay was our fourth at this excellent B&B. Nice room, very good breakfasts, friendly and accommodating hosts, terrific locations and reasonably priced. We've stayed here with four people, three people, and this time with two people. Every time it was perfect. There's a Tesco literally across the street that also has cash machines and a coin laundromat about one mile away. Just an ideal place for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KidstoFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed three nights with friends for cricket match. All ensuite rooms clean and comfortable with TV and tea and coffee-making facilities. Plenty of off-road parking, great breakfast and friendly landlady. 5 minutes walk from town centre and ten from cricket. Great value.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear possibly quieter with regard to traffic but no real problem as windows double-glazed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Excellent BandB close to town centre and all of the attractions!, the lady there was really nice and couldn't do enough for you!, nice breakfast, perfect stay, highly recommended!, definitely go back to stay again :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valleylad86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here whilst working away I cannot recommend Lowdens enough. From the minute you book in you're made to feel very welcome. The rooms are very well maintained and are spotlessly clean. The choice and quality of breakfast is very good, and gives you a good start to the day.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

A friend and I stayed here when we came down from Bedfordshire to watch a game at Taunton Rugby Club. The room was spacious, clean and the tea/coffee facilities were most welcome. Went out in the evening and Taunton is a lovely town where everyone was friendly. Would recommennd Taunton and this B&B.
The landlady was weloming, friendly, & genuine, and the breakfast was lovely.
Will definateky stay there again.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room was good (and quiet), didn't see other rooms but can only imagine thay are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CP75CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
5.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowdens House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowdens House

Property: Lowdens House
Address: 26 Wellington Road, Taunton TA1 4EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lowdens House offers comfortable accommodation within walking distance of Taunton town centre. All rooms are en suite and have televisions and tea and coffee making facilities, and there is free parking and wifi. Room only or breakfast included rates are available and, for other meals, Taunton's many restaurants are close by and there is a microwave in the dining room if guests prefer to eat in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lowdens House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing