We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shaun just keeps surpassing himself”

Farthings Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 256 Restaurants in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$41
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We have extensive orchards producing figs, apples, cherries, medlars, grapes, quinces, pears, cobnuts, sweet chestnuts, walnuts, mulberries, raspberries, rhubarb, apricot and plums and of course, our herb beds. Our surplus fruits go into jam and Ice cream production, also jus, gravies and Coulis. For that extra “je ne sais quoi” We rear our own pigs and we are enjoying sausages from the shoulder meat, bacon and delightfully lean pork joints. In particular, we are very proud of the wet and dry curing of our pork which makes the tastiest of traditional ham and Prosciutto.This year, we are rearing a flock of free-range Norfolk Bronze turkeys & have established a breeding flock of guinea fowl which will (eventually) feature year round on our menu.Over the summer months, our Greenhouse supplied the kitchen with terrific quantities of really delicious green peppers, chillies, salad leaf, tomatoes and beans. We have recently planted a range of autumn & winter seeds and we are now growing our own mushrooms year round.Our home cured Gravadlax is excellent. We home smoke on a traditional wood fire our own salmon, chicken, Duck and Pork to add a further dimension of flavour.Our local family butcher carefully matures, cuts and delivers the very finest of produce from local farms, some just a mile from Farthings. Our fishmonger is based at West-Bay Bridport. Just 20-minutes away where they land and deliver fresh fish daily, the very finest of produce our seas have to offer. Our scallops are from Lyme Bay and mussels from the River Fowey in Cornwall.Each dish that we produce for you is carefully & individually prepared to order, so please do allow a little time for this to take place. Our philosophy is to use the very finest of fresh, local and seasonal produce, simply cooked and elegantly presented. I hope you enjoy.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Shaun just keeps surpassing himself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

As most of you know who read my reviews regularly this restaurant and hotel are definate favourites, and this trip was no exception. I had some friends join me and the restaurant set up a private dinning room for us it was like inviting friends round for dinner but with none of the hassle and far better food than I can muster up...
We started with a cold seafood platter, which we shared and it simply was delicious and transported us literally to the seaside,
Various mains but the theme was local game... i could add loads of superlatives but to be honest it was just simply delicious.
We finished with a cheese board as none of us have a particularly sweet tooth but we're tempted by a very good Port!
All in all a top evening with excellent service and a group of friends that went home very happy, cheers!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJODubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thanks for your generous review. Hope to see you again soon.

Team Farthings send their best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    24
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Three great evening meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were lucky enough to have stayed in the hotel for three days last week while we had work done to our house and ate in there restaurant on all of them. We were on a diner bed breakfast rate so really took advantage and had tree courses all the nights. The food is some of the best in the area we have eaten in some years of living in Taunton with the menu changing each day we were spoiled for choice, even being asked if the chef to do something as a special on our third night. Real customer care is taken. The staff are wonderful and the hotel itself charming. Other restaurants in the area should take note, they could all learn something from The Farthings.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilminster
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truely special night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We went to the Farthings after being recommended it by friends and cant say how pleased we were, the hotel itself is lovely and very pretty. Service was top class and food was to die for a lot on the menu reading home reared. Everything was fresh and well presented and the portions were of a good size, its a little on the pricy side but well worth it as a treat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
So many thanks for your lovely words. This time of year, we are getting more and more from the garden with lovely fresh Goose, Saxony ducks and light Sussex cockerels, all fully mature and absolutely superb. We are also getting great pickings of figs for starters, lovely salad veg from the greenhouse, runner beans and delicious fruits from the orchards including Bramley Apples for the Tart Tatin, so do return soon!

Best wishes

John, Chef and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious fresh, local food and wonderful service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our arrangements were very last minute and we were so lucky to be able to book into this 'jewel' hotel that we had stayed at a few years ago, such a beautiful, comfortable, quirky destination, hidden, not far off the beaten track, near M5 in Somerset. The restaurant is a delight in every way and we were so relieved that we were able to book a table to relax after our long journey.

The menu had roughly about 5 choices for each course, which is always good to see as an indicator of freshness and seasonality. I was still spoilt for choice, everything sounded delicious! We decided to have the roasted fig from the garden, wrapped in bacon and topped with blue Vinney cheese- superb. This was followed by a duo of duck - confit of leg and pan-seared breast, with fresh vegetables - stunning. Then we chose the apple tart Tatin with vanilla custard and homemade ice cream - a beautiful finish! The wines that we chose, with help from the courteous waiter, were an excellent accompaniment.

If only we could have stayed longer to experience again the following day......!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Thank you Farthings - a really outstanding meal and a lovely evening. Why do we ever go anywhere else to eat? If you live locally - or even if you have to travel - you really must try the Farthings. Each course was excellent - really difficult to pick out a favourite. Local produce and a great combination of flavours. We`ll come back asap.....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oasthouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at Farthings Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you, see you again soon I hope - John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Farthings Restaurant also viewed

 
Hatch Beauchamp, Somerset
Taunton, Somerset
 
Taunton, Somerset
 

Been to Farthings Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing