We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Weekend Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quantock Orchard Caravan Park
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Weekend Away”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

What an enjoyable weekend at Quantock Orchard Caravan Park. We arrived on Friday and was promptly showed our caravan. After a few small niggles were sorted we settled in for our weekend away. It's situated on a busy 'A' road but in the evening the traffic is a lot quieter. There is a train station just up the lane for the West Somerset Railway and I would recommend a trip down to Minehead. We did find that the 'on site' shop wasnt always open but we brought with us most of what was needed for the w/end, so it didnt affect us that much. Didnt notice the dogs barking all hours as some people have said. Found some great pubs close by 'The Carew Arms' & 'The White Horse'. Both served really good food but we preferred The White Horse for the better atmosphere and excellent Chicken Tikka!
The caravan was an ample size for the 3 of us and the facilities on this sight are very good, spotlessly clean and grounds well maintained. The double & single mattresses were the best we have slept in on holiday in a caravan.
We would definitely go back to Quantock Orchard Park in the near future and would like to thank Mike, James and Richard for all their assistance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettsy005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    25
    19
    5
    10
See reviews for
44
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just got back after a short break. Very disappointed with site, it was not a 5 star site. Pitches were too close together. Not much choice in the on site shop. Toilets were clean but nothing special. Showers were not all working properly, some were cold. Games room had a most peculiar smell and was very dated. Caravan was nothing special either, bit dated. The bedrooms had no heating in, so they were freezing, we had to sleep with extra layers on. The heater in the bathroom didn't work so it was cold when you got out of the shower. The pull out bed in the lounge area was not very easy to pull out and was very uncomfortable. The swimming pool was very cold and full of leaves. Just so glad we were only there for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sazza31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quantockorchard, Owner at Quantock Orchard Caravan Park, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
We find this reviewer very difficult to believe, as we just been upgraded from 4 pennants to 5 pennents by a well known organization (subject to two screens added in the gent's toilet by next Winter). the inspector said that he had never seen the park in better condition and awarded the highest percentage marks possible. These inspectors are professional people and do not give these awards lightly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Well, we have literally just got back and can only say what a lovely site, owner and his son were so polite and helpful, showers boiling and clean, sinks and toilet spotless, pitches fab! We didn't want to leave...ps; there is a pub in walking distance, walk to the railway station, carry on and then you will see the sign, lovely food, polite, friendly... What more could you want....all in all brilliant time and as I said earlier,didn't want to leave... Jane, West Sussex x

Room Tip: Not massive walking locations, near a main road but that was absaloutely not a problem, the dog had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janeeyanne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

There is little positive to say about this site.

It is open all year but the shop was virtually empty.
There are only 2 shower cubicles each for men and women which is a totally unsatisfactory ratio for a campsite this size. And one of the mens cubicles was out of action.
The facilities are cold and damp and do not appear to have received any investment for decades.
The washing up area is likewise old, cold and decrepit.
For the fee charged, there are campsites which provide far, far higher standards of provision and there is simply no excuse for such low standards here in the 21st Century.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rivbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quantockorchard, Owner at Quantock Orchard Caravan Park, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
We find this reviiewer very difficult to believe , as we have just been upgraded from 4 pennants to 5 pennants by a well known organization (subject to two screens added in the gent's toilet by next Winter), the inspector said that he had never seen the park in better condition and awarded the highest percentage marks possible. These inspectors are professional people and do not give these awards lightly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

As the weather was so cold we were a bit hesitant to stay in our motor-home on the edge of the Quantocks in February. However, we needn't have worried. Nothing was too much trouble; we even had our newspapers delivered to the motor-home.The facilities on this sight are very good, spotlessly clean and grounds well maintained. The only downside was that the shower rooms were so cold! Lovely hot water but cold surroundings. However, what else can you expect in February! There is a bus stop on the main road outside the campsite providing a service from Taunton to Minehead, via Watchet and Dunster, so plenty to do, and as we have just retired and have bus passes, didn't cost us anything to travel. The site is also only 3/4 mile away from Crowcombe Station on the West Somerset Railway. It's very difficult to find campsites which are open during the winter, but this one is and we shall certainly be visiting it again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suelew51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

First thing to mention is that if you have a withheld number you will go to an answer service. The husband would not leave our ex directory number on the answer machine and we wondered why we could not get through. The campsite said they will always ring you back. We were quoted a price which did not match the on line price but they were happy to match it.The ownwers/Warden are polite and friendly and Richard appears to work from Dawn to Dusk. They were happy to help in way and we found that they would also go out of their way to provide good customer service.. The fish and chip van is on site on saturday about 5pm and again happy and friendly staff. The shop on site is very small and only useful for top ups or forgotten items. There is a small play area for the children. They also have a large microwave for customers to use.They have a small games area with a pool table and table tennis etc and of course the swimming pool which is open in the summer. Also on site are gym facilities which you have to pay for. This campsite is one that does not charge for your dogs but there is no on site exercise area and you have to walk them down the country lane to the station and although not busy there is still traffic and no pavement. There is plenty of areas to walk the dogs in the surrounding area and the nearby pebble beaches at Dunster and Blue Anchor are open to dogs all year round.There is a bus stop near to the entrance of the campsite taking you to either Taunton or Minehead areas but the site is rural. The pitches are not large and are close together but are shaded by a lot of mature trees and hedges. The toilets and showers do need updating but they are clean and the showers worked fine. You can at times hear the main road but it is not intrusive. This is a small family run site they do not have the resources to do everything at once and they obviously work very hard if you want an eco friendly site with grass roofs and solar heating on the washrooms etc dont stay here, this is a friendly, reasonably priced site that are working hard to give the customers what they want in a beautiful area and somewhere we would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saffery33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Our first visit to this campsite in a tent and with our 5 year old daughter. The site itself is nicely kept and the facilities are good and 3 nights for 2 made it very cheap. Very warm and powerful showers, clean and decent loos, etc. We went in early September in the last days of the school holiday and it was very quiet and but I can see that this site could get crowded in the height of the season. Pitches are a bit smaller/closer together than in other places we've camped and you do occasionally notice the nearby road noise but this wasn't a problem for us. Swimming pool on site was great but was quite chilly!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
9.9 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#15 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
9.7 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
13.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
7.7 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quantock Orchard Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quantock Orchard Caravan Park

Property: Quantock Orchard Caravan Park
Address: Browside Flaxpool | Crowcombe, Taunton TA4 4AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quantock Orchard Caravan Park 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning family run touring park offers the idyllic setting for your camping holiday in the beautiful Somerset countryside. Our park is immaculate and we are proud to have won many accolades including "The Best Caravan and Camping Site in West of England." Surrounded by stunning panoramic views of the Quantock Hills and ideally situated next to the West Somerset Railway. We aim to provide you with unforgettable holiday memories and the chance to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Quantock Orchard Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quantock Orchard Caravan Park Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing