We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good if you want a pub within walking distance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quantock Orchard Caravan Park
chester,cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not good if you want a pub within walking distance”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Sight itself very pleasant but not good that says the pub is within walking distance as its miles away and after walking all the way there it was closing. the nearest place for a pub was 5 miles away also train station says walking distance but is a good walk uphill back. Also advertise a gym but doesn't say it's £10 a day to use it. Shop doesn't stock enough to be in the middle of nowhere

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank shazpiedidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    26
    20
    6
    10
See reviews for
46
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is a lovely campsite. The owner was helpful and was always around the park chatting to people. The pool was great, the kids had a fantastic time in and around it. The landscaping is good and makes the place look well kept and looked after. The toilets were clean and the fact that there were 2 showers was not a problem. Lots of piping hot water. Big play area on hand and loads of things to do locally. The shop had enough in it to keep you going. I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickyPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The toilets and showers are in poor condition one minute water is freezing the next its burning your skin had to mop shower before it was remotely clean for my daughter to have a shower they were not cleaned the whole weekend pitches were uneven and tents were next to caravans so when they were up at crack of dawn loud enough to get everyone else up as well. were told the nearest pub was 800yds away when in fact it was 1.1 miles . generally this site is a diy site in the middle of nowhere nothing to do and sorry to say but wouldnt stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We visited this site a few weekends ago, having been a few times before. Yet again we cannot fault it. Its final approach is just off the main road with excellent wide access for larger outfits, traffic can be heard in the day but it does get quiet at night. Upon arrival we were personally greeted by the owner and shown to our pitch, which was a super hardstanding pitch, it did require levelling but the owners and warden helped us which was really nice. It was a really hot weekend and the site was very nearly full but it was so peaceful, The pitches are screened with shrubs and bushes and all the pitches seemed very spacious. The site itself is very well maintained and the Owners take alot of pride and care keeping up the high standards. One point I do really like about this site is the showers are proper individually thermostacically controlled, with removable shower heads, (non of this push button and fixed head rubbish) loads of piping hot water too whatever time of the day. (If you require a bath there are private bathrooms all you have to do is put a £1 in the meter to get the water to start). Being a smaller site obviously the shop doesn't hold huge stocks of food, it's really only the very basic essentials in a small range of tinned goods, milk and newspapers need to be ordered the day before,
The pool is lovely too, nice and private and quiet when we were there, even in the searing heat we were the only ones there most of the time! The play area is perfect for the kids and ideally situated on the site. The village of Crowcombe is a short drive away and well worth the visit, very pretty with a post office/shop and a pub which is well worth a visit. Also we can highly reccommend the cream teas at nearby Triscombe, (turn right on main road, then next left and it's on the right!) amazing views and wonderful food. (Sunday lunches also available) Whats really nice about this site is there's usually no hurry to pack up on the departure day, (unless they have another punter booked on your pitch i guess) we were packing up at 9.30 am on the Sunday and the Owner came over and told us there was no hurry and we were welcome to stay for the rest of the day, and only living exactly an hour away from the site we did just that, the kids enjoyed another dip in the pool, and another lovely walk down to Crowcombe train station, which is beautiful, just to watch the steam trains come in and enjoy a cuppa nad peice of home-made cake in the waiting room, I would very highly reccommend this site, super friendly owners and the warden is such a lovely guy, so helpful and friendly. You are made to feel so welcome. Obviously we will definately be back again and again! and looking forward to it! A very relaxing break. The Lane family

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Went with a group of my friends and our young families, we had some camp and some stay in the statics. Everyone was most impressed with the site (and we've all been to a good few through our years). The site was clean, the toilets kept very clean, small games room, park and pool kept kids and us entertained. Within good distance of minehead and other great places to visit. Through me booking this for so many of us, the owners were very very helpful and accomodating, nothing seemed like too much. Will definitely go again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liannesealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Short break in lovely camp site. Very pleasant pitches with shrubs to screen. Quiet and child friendly with park, games room and swimming pool. Agree that shop stock was low and not always open but didn't need much so not a problem. Caravan was nice size although the carpet/curtains very faded. However didn't detract from visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quantockorchard, Owner at Quantock Orchard Caravan Park, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
With regard to the stock level in the shop, I think it would be a good idea to state the reason why this has been done, we travel to the local town every day to buy newspapers and suppalies, we sell to you the customer at exactly the same price as we buy the food product for - we make absolutely nothing on these productss, the same applies to newspapers, these products are sold as a service and good will thing. The food stock is set at two of each item and if one is sold during the day it is replaced in the morning, so you don't need vast stocks this is not a supermarket.
With regard to sundries items in the caravans these are replaced every year in the Autumn and will be again in the coming Autumn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

What an enjoyable weekend at Quantock Orchard Caravan Park. We arrived on Friday and was promptly showed our caravan. After a few small niggles were sorted we settled in for our weekend away. It's situated on a busy 'A' road but in the evening the traffic is a lot quieter. There is a train station just up the lane for the West Somerset Railway and I would recommend a trip down to Minehead. We did find that the 'on site' shop wasnt always open but we brought with us most of what was needed for the w/end, so it didnt affect us that much. Didnt notice the dogs barking all hours as some people have said. Found some great pubs close by 'The Carew Arms' & 'The White Horse'. Both served really good food but we preferred The White Horse for the better atmosphere and excellent Chicken Tikka!
The caravan was an ample size for the 3 of us and the facilities on this sight are very good, spotlessly clean and grounds well maintained. The double & single mattresses were the best we have slept in on holiday in a caravan.
We would definitely go back to Quantock Orchard Park in the near future and would like to thank Mike, James and Richard for all their assistance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettsy005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
9.9 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#15 of 17 in Taunton
364 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
9.4 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#8 of 17 in Taunton
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
137 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
798 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quantock Orchard Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quantock Orchard Caravan Park

Property: Quantock Orchard Caravan Park
Address: Browside Flaxpool | Crowcombe, Taunton TA4 4AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quantock Orchard Caravan Park 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning family run touring park offers the idyllic setting for your camping holiday in the beautiful Somerset countryside. Our park is immaculate and we are proud to have won many accolades including "The Best Caravan and Camping Site in West of England." Surrounded by stunning panoramic views of the Quantock Hills and ideally situated next to the West Somerset Railway. We aim to provide you with unforgettable holiday memories and the chance to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Quantock Orchard Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quantock Orchard Caravan Park Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing