We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A VERY RELAXING FRIENDLY CAMPSITE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quantock Orchard Caravan Park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A VERY RELAXING FRIENDLY CAMPSITE”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived at quantock orchard campsite in sept 2013,it is a family run site and we was able to chose our own position as not so busy period. We needed to buy some eggs and mike the owner ordered us some for the next morning. He called me to let us know he had them delivered.which was very nice of him. The facilities are very good, hot showers with no push button. Also a microwave and fridge in the washing up room. The pool looks lovely and is in a very secluded spot, we loved the area within surrounding hills. We will be coming again next year to visit. Would highly recommend this site to all ages.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Autotrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    26
    19
    5
    10
See reviews for
45
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed here 2 years in a row now & think it's a fantastic site. Our visit this year (from 30.08.13-01.09.13) was no disappointment.
The site offers beautifully maintained grounds and great facilities. Richard is a really helpful and lovely guy, who couldn't do enough to make your stay a pleasant one.
I find some of the negative reviews on here quite shocking and it makes me wonder what some people expect out of a camp site! The toilet/shower facilities are great - they're the cleanest out of any camp site I've ever been to (and we camp a lot!), the fridge is spotless and there's even a microwave to use.
Other facilities, such as the games room, pool etc. are a huge added bonus and great relief on a rainy night in a tent! We love it here and will definitely be back again next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

From booking to departure, I found the site a pleasure to deal with. Whilst no one was at reception when we arrived, our pitch was clearly marked on a map and we were soon parked up next to the spotlessly clean "facilities" block and children's play park. The West Somerset Railway was under a mile away down a quiet lane for a beach day at Minehead with a ride on a steam train as well. Departure day was very relaxed as it was "leave when you like" as our site was not booked that evening, and so a final swim in the heated swimming pool and rinse off in the piping hot showers ended off a fine and relaxing stay for a Grandpa and his three grandsons. All voted it a fine weekend and "can we go there again please?" Says it all really! I don't know what site the negatie reviews were on, but it wasn't one from my experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JonA297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Greeted by a very pleasant young man- very helpful... Then it all went down hill from there. We were shoe- horned onto a tiny pitch with our friends. ( a large single pitch but we barely fitted with our two average sized tents and small gazebo) health and safety had clearly gone by the way side in favour of profit! Pool was freezing, toilets filthy with faeces over the taps which was reported but not cleared up for 48 hours. Washing up right next to chemical toilet disposable- not a nice aroma! Electric kept tripping out- we were told WE were responsible although apparently it happens all the time. Others were advised to run their hook up across the road as the connections were better. Left a day early- owner refused point blank to refund one night and offered us both a free three night stay- ha ha- no thanks! Also in the middle of nowhere! Caught the steam train to minehead which was okay - wookey hole a fab day out but a long journey! Five stars... Not in my opinion!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sseoajeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quantockorchard, Owner at Quantock Orchard Caravan Park, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Sorry you did not enjoy your holiday, we felt we gave you more than enough space for your needs - we provided two pitches with a combined size of 25 feet by 50 feet, which would have been than adequate for two large tents and a small gazebo , However when you arrived you pitched two 10 berth plus tents; a number of large gazettos and eating areas, you also left an area where you could sit out all together as it was a big party - what are we to do? Spoil your holiday and say some of these structures are not allowed or send you home, or try to allow you to enjoy yourselve? This puts us in a very difficult postition .
We installed a number of new shower control units a few days before at a cost of £ 200 each the reason for the screw was that some idiot broke off the handle the following day, it does not give you the heart to provide people with new equipment as soon as we do someone breaks it.
We did not want to close the showers as this would have impacted on a large number of people as further spare parts are just not available during a bank holiday.
When you left you said that you were going home because it was going to rain the following day and you wanted to pack away the tent in a dry condition, we don't give refunds for bad weather, however we will alway help by giving credit note for use another time, this is something we have always done, this policy has helped many people in the past especially in the case of illness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here in a tent for two nights over the August bank holiday. I was really impressed with the cleanliness and layout of the site. The owners were lovely really relaxed and friendly and nothing was too much bother. I haven't camped for years but a couple of our group who are regulars commented that the pitches were a little tight, but then the site itself is very compact.
Our pitch was great, really secluded and private. Im not sure the pool was really heated as it was freezing but it was nice to have it none the less. I would reccomend the site wholeheartedly

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This campsite is lovely and small. It had plenty of things to do for the children including the play area and swimming pool. The pool was cold but the children loved it. There's not much in the immediate area so the small shop is helpful. It could probably stock more but it has everything you need in the short term. The toilet block has everything you need including 4 toilets, 2 showers and plenty of sinks. We had plenty of hot water but the whole block is quite dated. We had a lovely time and were able to visit some lovely places.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyoffiveonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We have just spent 9 nights at the campsite in our caravan. We really enjoyed our stay. The site is beautiful and very well maintained. We found the showers and loo's ok. Plenty of hot water and if the main showers are busy there is another two showers to the side which are very clean as no one seems to use them. The owners were very pleasant and helpful. We look forward very much to returning. The Groomes

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
9.9 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#15 of 17 in Taunton
359 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
9.4 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#8 of 17 in Taunton
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
792 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
8.5 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quantock Orchard Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quantock Orchard Caravan Park

Property: Quantock Orchard Caravan Park
Address: Browside Flaxpool | Crowcombe, Taunton TA4 4AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quantock Orchard Caravan Park 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning family run touring park offers the idyllic setting for your camping holiday in the beautiful Somerset countryside. Our park is immaculate and we are proud to have won many accolades including "The Best Caravan and Camping Site in West of England." Surrounded by stunning panoramic views of the Quantock Hills and ideally situated next to the West Somerset Railway. We aim to provide you with unforgettable holiday memories and the chance to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Quantock Orchard Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quantock Orchard Caravan Park Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing