We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quantock Orchard Caravan Park
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This place is a little gem, very clean, facilities excellent, the staff could not do enough to help. Met some great new friends and will definitely return next year. Very safe for children, dogs welcome (in the tents and own caravans/campers), close to many places of interest. Fantastic three nights, wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank maxine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Following on from my brother in laws review titled ' An absolute shambles' and then the response from Quantock stating that we had no booking, I feel compelled to comment.
I booked 3 pitches for my family, my sisters family and my sister in laws family in November. I paid a deposit and received a confirmation which reads 'thanks for booking with us, we look forward to welcoming you, please produce this confirmation on arrival'.
On arrival I produced the said slip to be told that everything had been sorted he was very sorry, he'd found us alternative accommodation and he then refunded my deposits. If we had no booking, as the response claims, why did he refund my money? Perhaps he was just feeling generous?
We then travelled to the campsite he had apparently 'secured a good rate at' which was 'far superior than this site with an indoor pool'. There was no confusion over the campsite. We had directions and the name of the campsite. I think if I can travel from Kent without getting lost then travelling a few miles down the road is not too much of a challenge, especially with the wonders of modern day technology such as the internet and satellite naviation systems! As my brother in law mentions, the campsite was NOT of a comparitable standard (unless you like sleeping on a slope) and the owners there new NOTHING of a conversation about a special rate (although irrelevant as this site was far cheaper anyway).
I am totally and utterly shocked and outraged by the consistent lies that are being told here. However I am happy that I have something in writing to forward onto my solicitor, so would like to thank Quantock for their hearfelt reply.
We had a booking, money was taken in November and booking WAS confirmed via the post. There really is no excuse for double booking that's just incredibly poor management and administration. Although I guess Quantock have nothing to worry about as it will have been organised by their London booking agency. For some reason though they refuse to give us the agencies name??!!
I think it totally hillarious that Quantock or anyone else would believe that 3 families would drive for 7 hours, in heavy rain, on the off chance that they might find a campsite for the weekend when they arrived. Seriously?!

I look forward to the upcoming response from Quantock, please make it a good one!

To anyone else considering staying here, don't bother there are so many lovely campsites around, it's not worth the miles/stress/children being upset.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
8  Thank EmmaTagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A small site, I would not have called it especially quiet as you are packed in quite tightly so noise from other campers is almost constant. Small enough for children (6&3) to explore independently and enjoy the playground, which had some running repairs, completed by staff whilst we were there. Toilet/shower block very pleasant, constantly cleaned it seemed and never had to wait for either toilet or shower.
Pool was very cold, so the heated aspect of it may not have been evident whilst we were there! But the weather wasn't particularly warm either so that may have been a factor. But it's a good size/depth pool so feel sure it would've been good had the sun shone!
Good distance from Minehead and Taunton and walking distance to Crowcombe Heathfield Steam rail line to Minehead. Weston-super-mare/Cheddar Gorge an hour's drive away.
Altogether a good little campsite.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Yvonne7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We booked to stay here from Saturday until Friday. However, we only stayed one night largely due to the state of the caravan we were allocated. The caravan carpet was heavily stained and featured at least 8 cigarette burns. The cooker hob looked as though it had been cleaned with an oily rag. Of the crockery provided we failed to spot one matching item and the rest sporting a number of chips. Overall, the caravan showed numerous signs of neglect. For example, various edges of furniture damaged, peeling melamine, mouldy window netting, bits of food left under the sink from previous occupiers and most surfaces felt grimy to touch. One great sign of lack of investment was the shower head. It had been repaired at least three times using a cup hook, screwed into the plastic shower head. Due to this, the cup hook had corroded resulting in severe discolouration of the plastic shower head. Let's be honest, how much do these shower heads cost to replace? £6?
We spent a few frustrating hours trying to find alternative accommodation using our mobile phones. This should have been simple given that the site advertises Wi-Fi. We were in caravan number 2, approximately 5 metres from the site office and could not access the service.

We didn't get a chance to access many of the other facilities. The 'gym' was laughable. It resembled a dated lean-to greenhouse.
This was supposed to be the second week of a two week family holiday. We feel very let down and disappointed as our final week was ruined.
My husband and I have travelled and worked internationally for many years. Many countries we have visited have been economically disadvantaged. We therefore are very used to sleeping in less than adequate accommodation. I can only imagine that when the inspector awarded 5* to Quantock, they did not see caravan number 2 in the state we found it.

I have subsequently read a number of proprietor responses to criticisms about Quantock on Tripadvisor. Having read the responses, I would advise anyone considering booking to request a 5* caravan; something we wish we had
done.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Benny56Benny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quantockorchard, Owner at Quantock Orchard Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

We have never had someone leave the Park for these reasons, we did have a lady who left early recently but in that case she said she had to go home for personal reasons, and that it was no reflection on us - no complaint was ever made to us, we would have done something about if a complaint had been made.
The other reviews that show the Park in it's true light was a wonderful, clean and pleasent place to be should be read first if you are making up your mind to book.
These van are cleaned and fully inspected every time a new guest arrives they are always perfect, so this reviews comes as shock as it is totally untrue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Set out to find a place where you could pitch a tent, hire a static caravan, take a dog, had a swimming pool & in close proximity to Exmoor! The Quantock Orchard Caravan Park was the ONLY site that ticked all the boxes, so that's where we went August 8th - 11th 2014, 1 couple (who were camping), 1 family of 3 (who wanted a static) & 1 dog each. Firstly I have to say that Michael (the owner) was extremely friendly & when we arrived much later than planned (hate the M25) left his dinner to check us in. The pitch was perfect for the campers although, as the site is quite small & we arrived in the peak season, there was not too much outside space between tents. The boules & croquet set remained in the car boot as no space to play. The Static (number 4) had seen better days but when you want to accommodate a 4 legged friend it is incredibly difficult to find anyplace that will allow dogs in caravans. To his credit, Michael was most welcoming to both humans & canines alike. The onsite facilities are clean, the pool was lovely, WiFi was free but didn't reach our van, you can barbecue at your own pitch & Michael was always around to answer any questions & sort any problems. I would recommend for a couple of days or a weekend but probably not for longer as our static was just too cramped & the beds too uncomfortable. However, it is in a beautiful spot & a 2 minute drive up into the Quantocks for incredible views & walks.

Room Tip: If you hire static caravan number 4 you can take your dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whitstable1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked a pitch back in November and paid our deposits so assumed that we were in for an enjoyable well earnt long weekend. We drove 200+ miles to be told by the owner that we hadn't booked and there was no pitch for us, even though we paid a deposit. We were told that a deposit is not confirmation of a booking!?!?!? The owner stated that we wouldn't be able to stay there due to health and safety but said he would contact a nearby campsite of a similar standard and get us booked in there. He came out and said that he had spoken to them and they were expecting us. We took a trip to the other campsite and spoke with the reception staff who stated that they knew the owner but they had not received a call from him today at all. We looked at the pitch and this was on the side of a hill and not ideal for camping. Also the facilities were not of a similar standard. The owner continually lied to us and it was clear by his filing system that this was way below the acceptable standard. The children by this time were distraught and we had to wait until the rest of our family arrived to find another location. We finally found a campsite that had spaces for our 3 pitches but this was in Devon which was another hour and a half away. My wife contacted the campsite at a later date with regards to returning our deposit. The person on the phone stated that the number we dialled was an agency company in London who deals with the bookings only. My wife was 100% certain that this was not an agency and was the owner who again was trying to fob us off. We will be writing to the owner and if necessary take legal action over our deposit etc as he has been far than helpful. My advice is to ring this site prior to going on your journey to ensure that you are booked in, that is assuming that you are not talking to an agency in London!!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Leon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quantockorchard, Owner at Quantock Orchard Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

This time of the year we are fully booked during the school holidays, these people arrived without a booking and expected to be given pitches, when asked if they had a paperwork to show they had booked they did not have any - no booking was ever made. Had it been we would have sent out confirmations with a start and end date.
The problem these days is that Government has so restricted the times when children can leave school and shorten the summer holidays that demand for the dates available are far greater than the spaces available, we have to be very careful not to over book so that we give people who actually book space to enjoy their holidays, in August we can't just take people off the street. We moved heaven and earth to find them an alternative site, dispite being very careful to explain the route to the other park they went to the wrong park.
We have reduced the number of pitches since we have owned this park from 70 to 50 to give people more room because tents are getting bigger and bigger, this move reflects in the great number of very good reviews that we get. We would also confirm that we do not hold a deposit from these people. It is always very important that if people think they have a booking and do not have paperwork they should get in touch with us in plently of time so we can look into it, if you want to come please always phone us first most of the year we can find you a place but not at Bank Holidays and between the middle of July and after the August Bank Holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here at the end of july, it was our very first camping trip experience. I have to say it was a fantastic experience. Our pitch was spacious with the faclilites close by. The showers rooms and toilet facilties were spotless and clean. Even though we did not have children and there were families on the site it was very quiet. it was quite nice to hear the children play together striking up a friendship. The owners were lovely very welcoming and very polite helpful. With crowcombe heathstation short walk away or u can drive and park if you had children. You can enjoy a dayout on a steam train to places i would recommend Dunster castle and minehead if you want to visit the beach. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vic9087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
13.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
11.0 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#17 of 17 in Taunton
397 reviews
7.9 mi away
Heathercroft B&B
Heathercroft B&B
#18 of 53 in Taunton
50 reviews
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quantock Orchard Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quantock Orchard Caravan Park

Address: Browside Flaxpool | Crowcombe, Taunton TA4 4AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Taunton
Price Range: £17 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quantock Orchard Caravan Park 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning family run touring park offers the idyllic setting for your camping holiday in the beautiful Somerset countryside. Our park is immaculate and we are proud to have won many accolades including "The Best Caravan and Camping Site in West of England." Surrounded by stunning panoramic views of the Quantock Hills and ideally situated next to the West Somerset Railway. We aim to provide you with unforgettable holiday memories and the chance to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Quantock Orchard Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quantock Orchard Caravan Park Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing