We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Somerset Country Escape
Ranked #7 of 55 Taunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Stayed the weekend and from start to finish the stay was most enjoyable and very relaxing. There were about 20 of us, all of different ages. The house and surroundings were ideal for all of us.

The house was lovely and well equiped, the hot tub was clean as was the entire house. The spa treatments were enjoyed by everyone.

The rooms were lovely and had such a relaxed feel to them it was easy to feel at ease very quickly.

I must also say the dog was very loving and in no way of any danger to anyone!.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    9
    3
    9
    1
See reviews for
14
1
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at Meare court farm for a hen weekend and were really impressed with the accommodation and spa treatments. The surrounding countryside was beautiful and the owners couldn't do enough for us. We had a lovely time and didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemmorgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2011

16 of us stayed at Meare court, for my sisters Hen weekend. It can ONLY be described as beautiful.
The stunning scenery made it so relaxing. Liz welcomed us as soon as we arrived and showed us around. The house itself it a beautiful old cottage, on a working farm. Non of us had used an aga before but Liz showed us and it was great. Great living area with amazing size kitchen table. Living room great size, we all sat around inside and out with no space issues.
We made use of the facilities, beautiful gardens, the hot tub and the spa. We had a chef come to cook for us on the saturday night and Liz was really helpful allowing us to use the barn.
Liz poped round to see if everything was ok a few times, which made us feel really cared for. The dog Tess is absolutely gorgeous. She is still a puppy, so jumps about, chasing leaves and was so excited to see us in the mornings, she came bounding in and popped all the balloons, so funny
I felt compelled to write, after reading the rude comments about the owner Liz below. She was really helpful and couldn't do enough for us. I can't believe anyone could have had a horrible time there.
They do an amazing job and have a stunning house.
Thanks Liz and family, can't wait to come back again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saraharcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We were disappointed by our stay here. Just be aware that it is not up to the standard in terms of facilities, equipment and cleanliness that we've come to expect from staying in National Trust, Landmark Trust and Rural Retreats properties. You should also be aware that the owners live on-site, which doesn't always make for feeling welcome.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blacketts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed at meare court for a hen weekend, we had a amazing time, the house and grounds were just what we needed, spa treatments were lovely, any problems that happenend were sorted by the owners with a smile. The house was clean and tidy, everything we needed and more.
My family and I would stay here again no question asked, my kids would love it, in fact idea for them.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2011

It was a throughly enjoyable stay from start to finish, there were 21 of us staying in total with a weekend away, sponsored by work.
The owner was very welcoming and very attentive. Unfortunately, there was a bit of a technical hitch with the Clay Pigeon Shooting, however these things do happen and they dealt with us warmly and professionally.
I got back yesterday and we are already planning another visit, I would not think twice about the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrev91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Ticks all the boxes for a great weekend away.
Lots of choice for activities.
Accommodation was clean and tidy.
The outside hot tub was my personal favourite, to be enjoyed with a glass of vino and a stunning view.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Health-on-line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
1.8 mi away
Frog Street Farmhouse
Frog Street Farmhouse
#1 of 55 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Country Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Country Escape

Property: Somerset Country Escape
Address: Meare Court Farm Meare Green Lane | Wrantage, Taunton TA3 6DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somerset Country Escape 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Mill sleeps 10, The Granary sleeps 7, The Barn sleeps 6, beautiful converted barns, all rated 4 star by VisitBritain. The Granary and The Old Mill booked together sleep max 17. Spa with hot tub and sauna use is complimentary, also WiFi throughout and parking. The spa is located next door to The Old Mill, The Granary and The Barn. Also available on site are spa pampering treatments at the spa room, clay pigeon shooting, dance class and catering. Ideal for hen weekends or a special break in the countryside. Only 5 miles from Taunton, easy access M5 and 1 hr Bristol. There is ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Somerset Country Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Country Escape Taunton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing