We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon and perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Somerset Country Escape
Ranked #13 of 55 Taunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Honeymoon and perfect!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We got married in Somerset and wanted a local place to escape too after the wedding for some peace and 'Mr and Mrs' time and this was perfect. We booked the smaller cottage and allthough it had 3 bedrooms which was too much for us anywa the space was lovely. It really is a stunning location, on a working farm with beautiful views and we took the dog. Liz the owner is wonderful and had arranged a bottle of fizz on arrival for us.

We had the indoor hot tub for our 2nd day and its stunning, spent the whole day in the amazing hot tub and steam room and was really enjoyable.

The cottage has everything working, comfy beds, plenty of TV channels and on the whole a wonderful mini-moon so thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millz090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    9
    3
    9
    3
See reviews for
17
1
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I have just returned from my best friend's hen weekend at Meare Court. After an extensive search I had booked Meare Court and it turned out to be a brilliant choice! We had a fantastic time and are currently wishing we could do it all over again! All the hens were so taken with Meare Court, it's a beautiful, homely and very charming place. It was perfect for us, we relaxed in the hot tub and on the lawn during the day (we were blessed with good weather!) and spent the evenings eating,drinking and playing party games around the huge table in the kitchen. Before our arrival I had read a few of the recent reviews on here and became a little anxious about 'leaky ceilings', 'a broken dishwasher' and the freezer being too small! I needn't have worried, there were no leaks, the dishwasher worked fine and unless you plan on living on frozen food alone for a whole weekend, the freezer has plenty of space! I did however take an electric 2-ring hob as there are only the two rings on the aga and this proved useful! Meare Court is the perfect venue for groups of people who enjoy the delights of the countryside, from the comfort of our hot tub we were able to see horses, cows, geese and not to mention Tess the loveable border collie who belongs to Liz the friendly owner! I would happily return here with friends or family and would heartily recommend Meare Court to anyone considering booking it for a social gathering.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

14 of us stayed at Meare Court for a Hen Do weekend, we had a fantastic time. The hot tub was a big hit and although obviously not large enough for all of us at once we took it in turns almost all weekend. Because it's covered we even got to enjoy it when it was raining. The house has a really nice familiar feel to it and although in need of some TLC in places we thought it was exactly as we expected. We did a Murder Mystery night on the Saturday at the cottage, which was a great laugh and new experience for most of us. Thanks to Liz for making the whole booking process so easy. The house was equipped with everything that we needed, towels, kitchen things, bedding. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 205ELN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalwood
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We recently stayed here for a hen party, there were 15 of us, and we had a lovely time, but like the review below, this was due to the company. The house is major need of some tlc and work. The house is a very large and spacious farmhouse, and is great for lots of people. The hot tub is brilliant, and we had a lot of fun in this. We stayed at the house during this recent heatwave and spent a lot of time outside, if it had been raining we would not have enjoyed our stay as much.

One of the showers leaked through the kitchen ceiling making a puddle on the floor, which meant we could not use one of the showers. We sat down to watch a film on the Saturday night and found that the TV did not work. There were A LOT of ants in the kitchen and these went all over any food that was left out, we had to throw some food away. Two of the guests in our party went to use their towels and found that they had grass all over them (they were 'clean'). The bottom tray in the dishwasher is broken. The fridge is very small for 15 people and we struggled to keep all of our food and we were only there for a weekend. The oven is missing a shelf and this made cooking for a party of 15 very difficult. The showers were dirty when we arrived and the carpet (especially in one of the bathrooms) had some concerning stains all over.

We paid £1500 for a weekend, which I think is overpriced considering that there were so many flaws. I have contacted the owner, but have not had any response to our complaints which I felt was disappointing.

Pros of the house are: Liz (very friendly), Tess the dog who wanders into the garden and was a source of entertainment, the space in the house - including a very large dining room table, the proper beds were very comfy (though I am informed that the others were not as comfy!), the location is good and it is very quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieDalwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Ten of us stayed here for a family weekend (Meare Court) and the weather and company made our weekend; the property did not.

This is an old farm house, the majority of which is a rental let. One end of the property is lived in by the owners and a number of permanently locked doors separates guests from owners.

It is one of three properties in close proximity to each other that are predominantly let to hen or stag parties. As I found the property through an agglomerator web site, I was unaware of this at the time of booking. This fact would have alerted me to some of the issues.

The property was (seemingly some years ago) a beautiful old farm house but it is currently in need of some TLC. It appears that this is happening, piecemeal, when it is absolutely necessary. For example, some of the bedrooms are nicely decorated with new beds while the sitting room looks like it has been furnished from several different house clearances. Some of the beds are cheap folding beds so bear this in mind if you have a party that will fill the house to capacity (16 I think) - not everyone will have a proper bed.

In addition to the odd furniture, the kitchen equipment left a lot to be desired. There is a lovely aga and a separate oven but no hob, so any cooking will have to be carefully planned as anyone who has used an aga will know. There is one fridge (for 16!) with only one shelf remaining in the door and a shelf missing in the body of the fridge. This made it very difficult to store our food and drink.

There is a dishwasher that is in very poor condition which is missing some wheels on the bottom tray (making it difficult to use). The seal in the door had to be replaced every time it was used as it fell off on opening.

The state of the dishwasher probably explains why almost all of the crockery had dried food remains adhering to it. However, it does not explain why there was still a used tea bag in the tea pot and years of grease on top of the cupboards (where we had to store some food). It also does not explain why the shower head was completely black with mould and why there was thick dust to be seen anywhere an upright vacuum could not reach.

There was a hen party in the next property with obvious consequences. The girls were lovely but the properties are certainly not far enough apart to prevent noise from easily reaching from one to another.

There is a hot tub in a wooden building near the property which has fine views over the surrounding countryside. It is only serviced once a day so must not be used for more than four hours as the risk of bacterial infection is high if you disregard this advice.
.
It is a property with many good points: the location is convenient (near to the motorway), the property has a lovely garden with views over open countryside, the owner Liz is very friendly and not obtrusive, the (real) beds were comfortable and there was plenty of room.

However as this property is aimed at the hen and stag market, it is unlikely that the owners will make any significant changes. For those not in the above category Meare Court is not a budget priced rental so the above issues cannot be explained away by cost. We have stayed in other group rentals for a comparable cost (or cheaper) and they have been luxurious.

I cannot recommend this property for family groups but if your are willing to compromise quality and cleanliness for the sake of being allowed the freedom to party hard, then this may be for you.

Room Tip: One with a proper bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roaming_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Liz warmly received the 18 already drunk gentlemen that hopped off the minibus with good spirits and showed us the place. Not a typical 'stag' group, we thought the place was well stocked, clean and brilliantly furnished. I couldn't have asked for a better property, complete with lots of garden space. Liz was available if needed but she was happy to let us do our own thing.

I have to say, if you are looking for a place to house a group of friends for a long weekend/week, I highly recommend this place. If the weather is great too, bonus. 10/10.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dropthegun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We had a lovely, relaxing weekend, staying at The Granary (sleeps 7)

The cottage was beautiful, clean & homely, with everything we needed. Set in gorgeous countryside, we enjoyed a relaxing weekend. We made the most of the hot tub & sauna and treated ourselves to a facial and massage, which was fabulous. We took at walk around the countryside and visited a local pub; The Canal Inn; (which we also highly recommend, they were very welcoming, wonderful food and great service)

We visited the cottage to celebrate our friends 50th birthday, Liz was very welcoming and helpful and made the weekend very special. I would definitely return and also visit with my family next time, as its such a lovely place to explore.

Highly recommended by all of our party.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstinQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.9 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
644 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#15 of 17 in Taunton
364 reviews
5.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
382 reviews
5.0 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Country Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Country Escape

Property: Somerset Country Escape
Address: Meare Court Farm Meare Green Lane | Wrantage, Taunton TA3 6DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somerset Country Escape 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Mill sleeps 10, The Granary sleeps 7, The Barn sleeps 6, beautiful converted barns, all rated 4 star by VisitBritain. The Granary and The Old Mill booked together sleep max 17. Spa with hot tub and sauna use is complimentary, also WiFi throughout and parking. The spa is located next door to The Old Mill, The Granary and The Barn. Also available on site are spa pampering treatments at the spa room, clay pigeon shooting, dance class and catering. Ideal for hen weekends or a special break in the countryside. Only 5 miles from Taunton, easy access M5 and 1 hr Bristol. There is ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Somerset Country Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Country Escape Taunton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing