We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our return visit was just as good as the first”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Another excellent stay … from the sincere welcome, beautifully decorated spacious room to the sumptuous meal and wholesome breakfast.
Plus a real dog friendly hotel. We cannot praise the Farthings enough.
If you are in the area, or just want to spoil yourself go to the Farthings.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j4ewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2011

Well,

Arrived and went to a pleasing family run room in a lovely old house with pleasant gardens next to the village green.

Was offered to eat in the restaurant but declined whence seeing they charged £14 for a slice of quiche. Would have been nice to stay and can't comment on quality of food but prices seemed very high.

Also breakfast was ridiculously expensive and not included in the room price - though this was told when booking.

THEN... came back tired from a day out in somerset to find the bed made, but the bathroom filthy, the bath had not been cleaned and was dirty, contravening health and safety? I notified the manager who said he would have it cleaned but this was not suitable at 8pm when we were in need of a quick shower and change before going out.

Next morning i came to pay the bill and agreed to pay the first night but asked for a discount on the 2nd night seeing as we in effect had to stay in a dirty, uncleaned room. To which the boy and receptionist did not agree, using excuses such as "it was a discounted room anyway, usually 130 a night"... does this mean they don't need to bother cleaning it? what if that had been my first night? I was told the manager was out and that he did not have a mobile phone and couldnt be contacted but they would speak to him and give me a call back before charging. The acting manager and lady i spoke to said they were not authorised to resolve the matter. I agreed to pay for the full price and await the call from the manager regarding the 2nd nights stay.

Alas i didn't get a call back and then a few days later realised they had debited my card with the full amount, without explanation or reply!

Rang up, spoke to the manager who refused to co-operate, blaming a bad phone line, and saying that he would send an email but refused to discuss the matter over the phone - poor customer service!!!

A good holiday was ruined by the rudeness of the manager and staff, and the fact they considered it acceptable for us to stay in a room that had not been cleaned!


Disgusting and will not be staying or recommending it to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tomjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Stayed five nights in 'Rowan' which is a very large attic room with views across the gardens to the various animal enclosures (hens, pigs, ducks & sheep). Hospitality tray provided, with fresh milk and chilled water available in a residents fridge on the landing. Lovely meal each evening with many daily changes on the menu, efficiently served by the young staff. Breakfast also was excellent with a good selection on the buffet (fresh eggs from the garden). Our only criticism would be the prices on the wine list and the intrusive piped music at both breakfast and dinner. This family run hotel is a very good base for exploring Somerset and is situated in a lovely quiet village. We would happily return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molecatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Warm welcome, both by courteous staff and wood fire! Better still, got an upgrade as hotel quiet. Room was excellent - well appointed and clean. Food also very good, although a tad expensive without the DBB deal.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grajen44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We oranised our Mothers 100th birthday here and were very impressed with all the staff and the hotel itself. We were made to feel extremly welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent value for money and the choice and quality of food was of a high standard. We would go again to this venue.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

WE have stayed here twice now and cannot recommend this splendid hotel more highly. Tucked away in a lovely quiet part of the beautiful Somerset countryside and yet only 10 minutes from Taunton and it's wide range of shops.
If you want peace and quiet, superb food and beautiful countryside you could not choose more wisely than this hotel. We visit Somerset quite a lot and this will be our chosen home from home..without a doubt!
The owners and staff really go that extra mile to make your stay perfect and nothing is too much trouble.
Get down there without delay!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mungo2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 2 November 2010

This is out 2nd stay at the Farthings
And having been impressed the 1st time we visited Farthings we decided to hold our pre wedding evening at the hotel. Taking over all 12 rooms . And they were absolutey great lovely rooms, nice breakfast. What really makes this a great place to stay are the staff John the proprietor was very accommodating, whilst his colleques Daniel, and Emma who look after us in the evening and for breakfast could not have done more.
So if you want a nice relaxing weekend away then this is definitely the place to go.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
697 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
148 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
837 reviews
5.5 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Village Road | Hatch Beauchamp, Taunton TA3 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Taunton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: £44 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Country House Hotel. The building dates from 1762 and carries many of it's original fetures. Delightful, individually decorated rooms, lovely restaurant offering the best of locally sourced & seasonal produce, log fires by winter and lovely gardens by summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farthings Country Hotel
Farthings Country Taunton
Farthings Country House Hotel And Restaurant Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing