We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vic: Farthings is delightful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
St. Ives, Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vic: Farthings is delightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Farthings on a number of occasions - and we look forward to our next visit soon! It is a lovely small hotel: warm, attractive, very friendly staff and excellent food (much sourced locally and even some fresh from the garden!) Each room is very well appointed and individual; we've stayed in at least four and found them all very comfortable. We find the location really good; set in a very attractive, tranquil village, with interesting places nearby to visit - and, most importantly for us, within easy reach from both the A30 and M5, making it a perfect stop-off when travelling to and from our home in the West Country

Room Tip: All we have stayed in we found really good. We particularly like those with an outlook on the lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    147
    34
    22
    19
See reviews for
68
309
34
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Yesterday was my first visit to the Farthings, my company had booked a days meeting room. What a perfect venue, at arrival we were greeted with fresh coffee, tea and freshly baked pastries, all the facilities we need were provided, projector and screen. the coffee flowed, the lunch was lovely and fresh. When we returned to the meeting room for the afternoon stint we were greeted with more fresh coffee, tea and home made biscuits, they had even made wheat and gluten free biscuits for one of our members that has an allergy. Lovely open fires greeted us on a cold day and it had a very homely feel. Not only would I recommend the hotel for meetings I would recommend it to my friends as a great hotel venue

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

This is over priced and over-rated. The portion size is minimal and the service slow. Breakfast not until 8.30, that's if they bother to show up! The owner/manager is aloof, uncaring and supercillious and is not approachable. I advise anyone who is thinking of going there to avoid it like the plague. Go to a Premier Inn near Taunton instead, at least you get treated with respect there! This hotel is vile, the decor is appalling, the bar is never manned and you end up doing most of the running round yourselves, and the rooms aren't cleaned until the afternoon! We were prepared for a friendly stay but got nothing like it! Staff are unfriendly. Watch out for hidden charges too and don't order beer, it's sold by the bottle and is extortionate!! Do not go there!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Having stayed at the Farthings Country House Hotel over the Christmas long weekend, my wife and I are pleased to provide this review. Our room (Beech) was very comfortable, clean and warm. We had a thoroughly pleasant and relaxing time and we very well looked after by the hotel staff, all of whom conducted themsleves in a most courteous and efficient manner. The food was particularly good and well presented; to be waited upon as we were was a real treat.
The only reason that I have not given an 'excellent' is that I do not believe in such a rating; there will always be some points of detail that could possibly have been better, but that is a personal perspective.
Importantly, I struggle to understand the negative review by Fred W. It is as though we were in totally different hotels. If you are considering a quiet break in the country, we recommend the Farthings Hotel.

Room Tip: As far as we know, all rooms are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPhilpott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Very comfortable and peaceful hotel. Staff friendly and excellent service. Angus and Sasha the hotel dogs were great company. Stayed in Rowan room very nice. Good place for exploring the area, Sheppy's Cider Farm shop and museum was very interesting, also visited Dulverton village good food at pub by bridge on the edge of Exmoor. Hope to return again.

Jennifer
Mature couple
15.12.11.

Room Tip: The Garden room looked lovely and on first floor, I stayed at Rowan room but had to climb another fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

this hotel was the worst hotel ive stayed at
there was no hot water
the heating did not come on until 630pm
the bedding was damp
the bar was closed at 8pm
there was one member of staff and he was the receptionist,barman,and waiter for breakfast
breakfast was not served until 8am thats if the chef turned up on time according to the waiter
I did complain but the guy just smiled

Room Tip: the 2 rooms at the front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank fred w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Despite 2 reviews to the contrary we have stayed here twice now on the way down to a Cornwall holiday and have been delighted with our experience - in fact enjoyed it more second time around. Food was great, atmosphere and comfort even better - despite our visit being 2 years apart we were given the same room-which was extremely comfortable and roomy and needs were more than catered for. To be fair I am not sure I would think that 'dog friendly' meant you would have your dogs looked after by others but that you could bring them to that particular hotel. - but perhaps that is my mistake and that is what usually happens.

We will visit again.

Amanda and Gareth

Room Tip: Garden room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muandgru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.5 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
6.6 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#10 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Village Road | Hatch Beauchamp, Taunton TA3 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Taunton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Country House Hotel. The building dates from 1762 and carries many of it's original fetures. Delightful, individually decorated rooms, lovely restaurant offering the best of locally sourced & seasonal produce, log fires by winter and lovely gardens by summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farthings Country Hotel
Farthings Country Taunton
Farthings Country House Hotel And Restaurant Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing