We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$251
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Taunton East(Taunton)(Great Value!)
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveller rating
376
182
45
23
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
376
182
45
23
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguinea fowlbay roomspiral staircasemaple cottagehatch beauchampduck egggroupon dealcosy barfresh milkblack puddinglog firerear gardencontinental breakfasthome grownupgraded roomsmall hotelthis lovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
533 - 538 of 653 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2012

what a difference to stay in a nice hotel this time after our dreadful experience staying in Exeter
Farthing was clean the bedrooms were nice the beds comfy and the staff actualy cared. wish we had found farhings before our nightmare in Devon.
the staff worked hard and were very polite and helpful
full marks farthing and thank you

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Quite lost for words when we arrived at Farthings Country House Hotel. Tranquil and peaceful, in a stunning village location. When we sneaked a peek into the gardens we were met with the sight of a Peacock and Peahen (curious and friendly) chickens, geese and ducks in a spotless huge garden.
We were lucky enough to be given, probably the best room in the hotel, huge bathroom and bedroom with full length windows and a small perfectly formed sit out balcony.
Our dog was welcomed, the staff were pleasant and extremely helpful.
Yes our evening meal was a little on the expensive side, we shared a starter due to cost, but the food was excellent. I had lamb, large portion, excellent vegetables and my husband had beef, again very good.
Lovely village with pleasant walks, lots of greenery and safe areas for dog walking.
We had continental breakfast which was faultless as was the service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Decided to visit the Farthings on a Saturday evening for a meal with friends as we had not been there for some years. Looked at the website and concluded from the info on their menus that a meal would be around £33 a head and of a good standard. The surroundings were fine but What a disappointment we had. The meal cost over £40 per head, a bowl of icecream at £7.50, wine starting at over £20, although Tea and coffee were good value at £3. The price would have been acceptable had the quality been good but what we received was more akin to food from a pub chain. The vegetables were reminiscient of school meals, the sauces were amateurish and the meat was exteremely fatty. Out of the 4 of us who went, we each had a different main course, 3 were extremely unhappy and 1 thought it was good. The waitress was friendly but not very professional and the owner seemed very unapproachable, having paid the bill we left the dinning room and found no one at the bar to return our coats or to say good night. Not an experience I would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank SPar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

As good as everyone on here says?? well the answer in the short is YES. nothing much I can add other than agree with all the good reviews. Staff are friendly, hotel is beautiful, rooms are huge and well looked after and both our evenings meals and breackfast where without fault. I dont often say this but this hotel must be as good as it gets.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steven h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We only had a fleeting stay in Farthings but had a nice, comfortable stay that we were very happy with. Some initial confusion with the booking (we specifically booked a double room but the hotel had us down for a twin) was swiftly resolved by the polite and professional staff. Our room was in an annexe outside amongst some nice gardens that had a number of chickens and peacocks in it which all added to the country feel (we were slightly concerned we could be woken up by the cockerel but it didn't happen). The room was nice, big and comfortable and we got a good nights sleep - our only minor suggestion is that the TV is very small for the size of the room and could have been a bit bigger. We did not have the breakfast as we had to leave early the next morning. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dung50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews