We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Great staff, food and hotel. I have serious food allergies which most hotels and chefs either dont understand or dont have the skill or knowledge to over come this was not the case at the Farthings not only did the staff understand but went out of there way to change and adapt the menu to fit in with my allergies. I will be back and will be telling everyone about this gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, Owner at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you Claire for your review - I am pleased that we were able to accommodate your dietary requirements. It is great that you recognized us with such a glowing review.

Hope to see you again soon

Team at the Farthings. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    147
    34
    22
    19
See reviews for
68
308
34
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

What can I say, simply a great place to relax and have great food and wine... have become rather a fan of The Farthings and such a pleasant change from the normal run of the mill places. The Chef "Shaun" was getting excited about the Autumn season when I spoke with him in the garden, he was explaining how the menu will be changing over the coming weeks to include all the things that are coming into season... such as Venison which I had this weekend, my first of the season delicious. Thanks again everyone.

Room Tip: If you don't need Wi Fi request Garden it is the most beautiful room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJODubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Very many thanks for your kind words. We will look forward to seeing you again soon. We are into "log-fire" season now, so we will have a 'toasty' lounge waiting for you. John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

This is without question one of the finest hotels myself and my my wife have stayed at. The room we stayed in was said to be one of the "guest" rooms but was very large and very well presented with super views I would love to have seen a "master" room next time I will dig a little deeper. The staff were very plesent and helpful without being pestering and the choice of menu and quality of the food was again superb. Wish we had stayed longer. Special thanks to Dan for all his help.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
So pleased you enjoyed, thank you for your kind words. Next time, we shall endeavour to accommodate you for a longer visit. Best wishe, John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stopped off for sunday lunch a few weeks back, only by chance because we saw a sign outside and I must say what a gem this Restaurant is. We had three roast chicken and a fish so nothing you would thing worth writing about but it really was great, homemade stuffing from home reared pigs, fresh figs and home cured fish and home smoked chicken for starters its hard to explain other than to say the place just screams Class. We paid less than £25 per head for two courses so a great price for the quality of food and the fantastic service we had. Will be back to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Very many thanks for your kind words. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Super little hotel, lovely rooms and helpful staff but real gem was the food. Home smoked meats and homemade honeycombe ice cream a massive hit with the girlfriend. Only wish we could have taken a tub home!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Very many thanks for your kind words. Delighted you enjoyed and we hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Cheers! John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

We had hoped for a michael b experience but instead found exactly the same as andrea h.

We were looking for somewhere not far off the M5 and we noticed Farthings signed off the main road. Looked a nice frontage and advertised Taste of the West, and so hoped for a decent lunch. We were told that only sandwiches were available that day, but having looked at the attactive sandwich menu and seen the high price, we assumed we were in for sandwich heaven. However, having waited some considerable time, we were presented with something very insubstantial. Very disappointed and felt fleeced at having paid £6.75 and £7.20 for two very basic rounds of sandwiches. Not only this, but there was no-one around to complain to either, so we paid up and left. A feeble performance.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SometimeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
What a great shame you did not enjoy. I'm terribly sorry that you were disappointed, I wish I had known at the time so that we might have had the opportunity of making amends. Thanks for your comments - Chef is looking at ways to make sure this does not happen again.

Best wishes, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stopped over with my son on route to Exeter University. Looked on line for a quiet spot off the motorway. Found the Farthings and it was perfect! Good wine (English), perfect local crab and pork from their own smallholding. Wow! What a find. Service was friendly and very good. All in all a highly recommended spot.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for your review Chris - I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back when you are next en-route to Exeter. Best wishes, John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.5 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
6.6 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Village Road | Hatch Beauchamp, Taunton TA3 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#4 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Country House Hotel. The building dates from 1762 and carries many of it's original fetures. Delightful, individually decorated rooms, lovely restaurant offering the best of locally sourced & seasonal produce, log fires by winter and lovely gardens by summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farthings Country Hotel
Farthings Country Taunton
Farthings Country House Hotel And Restaurant Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing