We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is as far from "Fawlty Towers" as one could imagine. Spacious and stylish rooms and public areas, and attentive service,

The gardens are particularly attractive, with a large variety of bird fowl roaming around.

The menu is inspired, and the portions generous.

Well worth trying.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind words Paul, most thoughtful and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon

Best wishes

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    153
    36
    22
    20
See reviews for
70
320
34
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Firstly, this is a lovely country hotel with spacious rooms that have everything you need - except free wi-fi which I believe should be provided as standard, should you need it.
Our first impression was not the best as there was no-one in reception. After much hanging around (no bell in sight) a guest tracked someone down for us. We were very happy with our room, but the radiators were not on and, indeed, did not come on until early evening, despite us mentioning that our room was cold.
We stayed on a B&B + cream tea Groupon voucher and opted for dinner in the restaurant. We found the prices to be too expensive for the quality of the food, which seemed to be pre-prepped. On asking if the lobster thermidor & scallops could please be served with only a small amount of the cream sauce we were told no - this is how it comes.
The continental breakfast was, to say the least, sparse, with not even a croissant to accompany the usual toast, cereal and tinned fruit. Possibly this was because the hotel was very quiet at the time. Hopefully it is not always like this.
Maybe we caught him on a bad day, but we found the owner to be rather curt and a little condescending. The young staff were lovely and went out of their way to help.
As others have mentioned, the gardens are delightful and it was lovely to watch peacocks out of our window! However, we will not return as the general experience, and in particular the evening meal, was disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teljan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, Director of Sales at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Sir

I would like to take this time to thank you for the very positive parts of you review and would like to say how all our staff go out of there way to ensure that every guest has what we call The Farthings Expeience.

I have however spoken to Chef to say you felt that the meal was not to your likeing, He asures me that all items are made fresh to order and is a little unsure why he was not informed that you wanted less or no cream as this could easily be done on both dishes and I can only put this down to a small lack of communication in this instance between the staff to which they have now been spoken to about to ensure it doesent happen again.

If you do wish to return at any time if you contact myself direct I will ensure you have a positive experience with us.

Shaun Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here midweek on a Groupon voucher break. It was lovely when we arrived as there was a log fire burning away in the lounge. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable. We had a lovely view of the gardens which had lots of chickens, geese and peacocks. Breakfast the following morning was lovely, we upgraded to full english from the set continental menu. Overall we would stay here again if we were visiting Taunton again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Very many thanks, o pleasd ou enjoyed. When you are planning a return visit, please just drop me a line and we will make arrangements for the same deal. Best wishes, John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

On the plus side, welcoming and attentive young staff (owner was away) and lovely log fires to warm up after walking the dog. Spacious room with equally spacious bed and bathroom - easy tread stairs to first floor Garden room. Breakfast had plenty of choice and their home produce was delicious, especially the eggs. The evening meals we opted for were on the whole pretty good - although I felt mine was slightly over-cooked. If we were being "picky" we think that a little more realistic price would have been £90 per person per night for dinner bed and breakfast. Basically, a slightly over-priced but good quality country hotel which we enjoyed.

Room Tip: We took our (well-behaved) dog and she was made very welcome. If you don't like stairs, mention...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mutty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Delighted you enjoyed, so sorry I did not have te pleasure of welcoming you personally but pleaed that the team made you welome and comfortable. I hope you return soon.

Kind regards

John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

This was our third stay at the hotel; I wish we could have stayed longer! We had a quick relaxing get away staying at the hotel for one night. The room we stayed in was absolutely divine and possessed so much character with a beautiful spiral staircase leading to the bathroom. It was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were a pleasure as always; very attentive! The food never fails to impress... I ordered the lamb for dinner which was absolutely delicious. For breakfast there was a large selection of cereal, jam and bread as well as the option of a cooked breakfast. The food came very quickly, there was no waiting around and getting hungry. I really enjoyed my stay at the farthings hotel, it was so relaxing and I will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely words and delighted yo enjoyed. When you are ready for a return trip just drop me a line and we will make our best offer. Kind regards, John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

first impression was great, log fire on the go as we walked in the door,helpful young man at check in, wasnt sure who he was as didnt introduce himself which would have been nice..
Room very pleasant, we stayed in Cedar and the view over the gardens was lovely, lots of chckens and geese..
We decided not to eat in the hotel as looked like 'fine dining' which wasnt our thing but had a few drinks sitting round the log fire which was wonderful , ver relaxing after the journey from Cornwall.
Overall we had a great time,staff were lovely,location was perfect, my only niggle was being charged £2 per day for a newspaper costing 90pence, not quite sure if thats standard practice or an error, if they do make a charge they should let guests know, also as part of our voucher deal we were supposed to have a cream tea on arrival and that was never forthcoming , i didnt bother to say anything as felt they should have been aware of it..
Would definately return though..

Room Tip: we stayed in cedar, right at the end and nice and quiet overlookin gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Pleased to hear you enjoyed. Cream tea is served when you are ready, all you need to do is ask and we pamper! Come and visit again soon and enjoy our restaurant dinner - you will be pleased you did.

Best wishes

John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Arrived early and we were able to check in straight away. Stayed in the Cedar room which was clean and comfortable and gave us views of the chickens ducks and geese in the rear gardens. The staff went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. Had Sunday Lunch on the first day and an evening meal the second day. The food was excellent and very tasty. The cooked breakfast is one the best we have ever had. This break was booked through Groupon. Our only regret was that due to ill health we couldn't stay earlier in the year to enjoy the gardens more. The staff couldn't have done more to make our stay more enjoyable. Overall, great value for money with service levels most hotels would envy. We hope to be able to stay again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 132Will72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
So pleased you enjoyed and we hope you visit again soon, just drop me a line ad I'll repeat the same offer.

Best wishes

Team Farthngs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
5.5 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
6.5 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Village Road | Hatch Beauchamp, Taunton TA3 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#4 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Country House Hotel. The building dates from 1762 and carries many of it's original fetures. Delightful, individually decorated rooms, lovely restaurant offering the best of locally sourced & seasonal produce, log fires by winter and lovely gardens by summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farthings Country Hotel
Farthings Country Taunton
Farthings Country House Hotel And Restaurant Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing