We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
US$111
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$170
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$158
US$153
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Taunton(Taunton)(Great Value!)
US$57
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Taunton East(Taunton)(Great Value!)
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveller rating
374
180
44
23
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
374
180
44
23
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguinea fowlbay roomspiral staircasemaple cottagehatch beauchampduck egggroupon dealcosy barfresh milkblack puddinglog firerear gardencontinental breakfasthome grownyoung staffupgraded roomsmall hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
435 - 440 of 646 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We booked the hotel at short notice. The receptionist checked us in efficiently into the Oak Room. This was well furnished, apart from the sofa, and reasonably spacious with an ensuite shower room. The room was a bit run down with mould around the window frame and cobwebs on the lamps. The ducks and geese running in the back garden were delightful. Main problem was being woken up at 0700 by a very noisy pump (I assume) that kept running on and off for 20 minutes. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on the food.

Room Tip: Oak Room is away from the road, but the noise from a pump is unacceptable
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, Director of Sales at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Firstly I would like to say how sorry myself and the staff were to hear that you didnt completely enjoy your time with us, I would also like to thank you for giving us your feed back which we feel is how we improve our service for our guests. The problems you highlighted to us have now been corrected. We hope to see you again shortly. Kindest Regards. Shaun Barnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

My partner and I had the 1 night with light lunch on arrival, 5 course meal, tea/coffee and breakfast Groupon deal at Farthings.
We arrived a little after 3pm and we were received with a warm welcome. Staff were attentive, polite and informative and showed us to our room - The Garden, which was an upgrade to a master suite.
The room was outstanding. One of the largest and cleanest rooms we've stayed in with fantastic views of the picturesque gardens, tea/coffee/hot chocolate with cookies and chocolates, plenty of wardrobes and storage space, freeview TV, extra heating and a large bathroom.
Our evening meal was delicious. Started with melon and Parma ham, followed by haddock mornay with a duck egg poached to perfection. The main was turkey and seed/nut stuffing with seasonal vegetables and a flavoursome jus which was so good that we requested more! Pudding for myself was creme brûlée and a chocolate torte for my partner followed by tea and coffee with mince pies. We returned to our room absolutely filled with some of the most delicious food we've ever had.
In the morning we were greeted with a paper at the door and breakfast was plentiful. Continental buffet followed by a cooked breakfast. Forgot to mention that most of their food is locally sourced from their gardens!
Before we departed, we had a look at the turkeys, peacocks and chickens in the gardens and had the lunch we missed the day before wrapped up and given to us to have on our journey home.
All in all, an outstanding hotel with attentive and pleasant staff, delightful grounds and fantastic food. Will definitely be visiting again!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank shellygreenidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. The team will be delighted to hear your kind words. So pleased you enjoyed. Can't wait to welcome you back. Just drop me a line when you are making plans and we will repeat the ame deal.

Best wishes and ofcourse, Happy Christmas!

John & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We recently stayed for two nights at the Farthings with our two little children. We upgraded to the Rowan Suite which was a high quality room with everything we needed including a great view of the hotels animals which the kids just adored watching.

The staff could not do enough for us during our stay which is such a change from the normal run of the mill brand chains.

We only ate in the restaurant for breakfast as the daytime activities tired the small feet out to face dinner but the breakfast was brilliant with all locally sourced produce.

The only complaint we had was we should have booked more nights without the kids!

We will stay here again in the future without doubt.

Thanks guys! you did yourself proud.

J Court

Room Tip: Go for the top floor as very quiet with great views
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Such kind words, you are so kind. The team will be delighted when they see your review, thank you. We hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have just returned from a visit to this Hotel. We booked three double rooms all of which were cosy, clean and comfortable. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The food was excellent and where possible with local produce, what could be better. We had a lovely day looking around the surrounding area which has many childhood memories. Thoroughly recommend this hotel ( regarding the comment below who wants wi fi anyway, look out of the window not at a screen that should satisfy anyone).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizandphilWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Well, we know that you had enjoyed your visit and that was quite clear at the time, but your review was indeed very kind. So many thanks for your kind words and we really do hope that you keep your promise to return. Just drop us a line whenever you are ready and we will repeat the same deal. Until then, have a wonderful festive time and enjoy the New Year

John & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Cannot fault this hotel. We booked via Groupon and as such had not been expecting too much, but Farthings Hotel was absolutely perfect. Customer service was second to none and the room (Sandlewood) was beautifully decorated and so cosy!

Will definitely be making a return visit in January!

Thank you Farthings Hotel for such a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyEHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarthingsHotel, General Manager at Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you Amy for your lovely words. W will look forward to welcoming you cack in the New Year

Best wishes

John & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews